We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning - recommend Rotunda. Views awesome, service very friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 4, 2012

You will be hard pushed to find somewhere better. Central to station, Bullring, market, shops, etc. Views are excellent. Clean room, everything you could want - even Sky TV. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drosos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hello Drosos D

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We were all delighted that you had such a good time and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Staying Cool at the Rotunda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 942 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Looked for a hotel for a weekend shopping trip but couldn't find one that was central suitable for three people so booked a two bedroomed apartment - what a super decision. We all had a wonderful weekend - the reception staff couldn't have been any more friendly, the apartment was wonderfully well equipped and so confortable. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenC115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hello JenC115

We were delighted to host your shopping trip - you couldn't be more centrally located with Zara on the ground floor and Selfridges just a hop, skip and a jump away. The German markets are in full swing so if you get the chance to return this side of Christmas there are even more places to visit. Many thanks for posting your review.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I don't put reviews on very often, however i need to give credit where credit is due...
We stopped at the Rotunda at the weekend, i have to say i have stopped in lots of apartments, this one without doubt was one of the best. The apartment it's self was well equipped, not only coffee makers, but also facilities to have freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast, and they supply the oranges. They also have full cooking facilities, although i have to be honest, we got a takeaway and returned to the apartment so that we could appreciate the stunning views of Birmingham.

Being right in the middle of Birmingham meant that we were at the heart of everything, the German food market was just outside our door, Selfridges just over the road seeing this was an experience in itself, not to mention the pubs and restaurants that are around.

If i was asked to recommend this i certainly would, and i think it would tick all the boxes. I have a young family, on this occasion i did not take them with us, however, next time i will as i am sure they would love it.

The staff couldn't do enough for you, they were very friendly, polite and professional.

It may not be the cheapest accommodation in Birmingham, however, for what they offer you it is certainly one of the best.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the experience, preferably get the view overlooking New Street
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hello warrenoffer

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Rotunda. We were all really pleased that you had a great weekend and indeed stayed in to eat to enjoy the views. I have passed on your kind words to the team and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe with your family in tow?

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stay date - 30/11/2012

Firstly after reading a couple of comments below about litter in the lift/funny smells in the corridor... I think these people need to remember that hundreds of people actually live in the Rotunda so Staying Cool cannot possibly be responsible for what the residents get up too. Anyway, the review!

On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and actually took the time to ask us how our day was and what are we doing tonight (also recommending things that we could do) Me and my partner stayed in the Roadster Penthouse and well as soon as we walked through the door and looked in front of us we both said "wow" at the view! I don't think you can get anything like it in Birmingham especially with a wrap around balcony! The general upkeep and maintenance of the room is very good, you can tell Staying Cool have an excellent team working with them.

The room itself has low sofas and lots of mod cons (iMac, mood lighting, wall mounted TV) which really give it a great modern and contemporary feel! The bathrooms are also extremely nice, with a choice of a bath or in bathroom two a shower, we used both which wasn't a problem as after the bath we just flicked the button on the boiler which replenished the hot water within 30mins!

In the morning we woke up to the amazing view from the balcony after a wonderful nights sleep (the beds are REALLY comfy!) then we played with all the gizmo's in the kitchen (the coffee was especially nice!!) my partner went for fresh orange juice from the oranges in the fridge (which are complimentary)

Upon checkout the receptionist was great again taking the time to ask us what we are doing that day rather than just the normal "Thanks for staying, bye" you get in most hotels!

So to sum all the above up... we DEFIANTLY recommend it!! and we will certainly be stopping there again! 10/10!

Room Tip: If you want the wow factor definitely go for the penthouse!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hello Ryan S

We were all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Roadster Penthouse. The views really are fantastic aren't they? We very much hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Context - We work hard and pay for good accomodation if we stay away from home. We pay for peace of mind and to make sure there are not issues and gliches and if there are they get sorted quickly and efficiently. Overall we paid more than £800 for two nights in the penthouse suite. We expected it to be spot on.

First trip to Birmingham. Partner heading to the Good Food Show and I was staying in city centre with 18 month toddler. Stayed Friday and Saturday night. Booked and paid for parking under the building.

First problem - no guidance on location of car park other than street name. Really difficult to find and no advance warning that you have to go through a "No Entry" sign to the right of New Street station to get to the entrance. Therefore went around in big circle twice to try and find way in. Birmningham was gridlocked (Friday night rush hour)and this added an hour to our journey.

Second problem - No advance warning that there is a serious height ristriction on the Rotunda car park. They did not advise when we booked and paid for the space. Partner checked of her own volition the day before travelling and was told there was an issue.

We have a Nissan with a top box. First chap we spoke to said he could not say exactly what the restriction was but they had had problems with a landrover. We then had a debate about removing our top box, but very little time to do it the day before and I had to work in the morning so called back. Asked for the specific height retriction but again they could not tell me. I was then asked what the car was. informed them it was Qashqai + top box, was told that would be "no problem at all". Therefore did not remove it.

Arrived at 9pm, drive to entrance of car park. Clearly written on roof barrier 1.9m max. Could not get under! Told to leave car outside in their yard - no security - city centre. Expressed concern. Persuaded them to let me leave car in their delivery area overnight. Still had the prospect of having to find new parking in the morning (with an 18m yr old in tow). Fortunately they did not raise the issue in the morning and left car there all weekend, which was a relief but still a pain in the butt to deal with intially.

This is not a hotel. Don't expect the same level of service. You have to wait for the concierge to come down to you to let you into the car park. There is one person on duty and he was dealing with booking other people in so that took a while. He was a nice chap and very calm but by this point we were upest and tired. You get the impression that they have too much to deal with and are not really there to assist you. We had lost of luggage (18m yr olds dont travel light) and had some help getting to the lift but from there on we were on our own - you dont get seen to your room..

Third problem - The suite was not quite up to stratch. Nasty big red lipstick/blood stain on the carpet in the bedroom. They already knew about it and couldn't get it out! At £400 per night they should have replaced the strip of carpet if they could not get the stain out! The tv is on the wall - the sky box/apple tv etc are on a shelf below and all the wires are exposed and tied in a knot. Sounds pedantic but it looked really messy and should have been hidden away. The espresso coffee machine did not seem to work. I love/need coffee and this was a pain. The manual said the instructions would be on a sheet near the machine we couldnt find any and no power lights would come on when you plugged it in. These are irritating details that you don't have the time or inclination to sort out when you are only there for 48 hours so you end up not using the facilities to the full.

There was too much stuff in the kitchen area. It looked like to had been accumulated over time rather than planned. You had to put the toaster on the microwave to get to the microwave door etc. In a small flat you should have the right quipment and nothing thats not necessary.

The penthouse was okay but not swanky. Most of its charm was based on its location and views rather than decor and good planning. Sorry but not good enough for the money.

Oh and the lifts broke on the Sunday and I had to walk down 20 flights of stairs with all the baby stuff and back up 12 flights before they were fixed.. The concierge did not offer to help despite our calls for help/assistance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hello EmmaPat

I am really sorry that your stay with us was not as it should have been. Your review made for quite dismal reading.

On car parking, we offer two types of car parks. The first is at the Bullring which is a five minute walk away and you just switch your entry ticket for one of ours when you check-in (for a reduced rate of £9.50 over £16.00). The second car park is beneath the building where we have limited spaces and your space needs to be pre-booked. Obviously the latter is very handy but the downside is that you need to park up and collect a fob first to get into the car park.

On review, we definitely hadn't got the information that we send across to guests quite right for the car park beneath the building. We have now rewritten the instructions that we send out and also included the height restriction (which was really daft of us to omit in the first place given the increasing numbers of large/tall cars). We should have had that information to hand and advised you correctly and I am really sorry that we didn't.

The four weekends before Christmas are our busiest and we have listened to everyone's comments and increased the number of people working on busy nights so we can help future guests who need a hand with luggage etc. I'm sorry that you had to struggle with luggage both on arrival and check out. We ask Guest Relations not to leave the desk unless it is absolutely necessary and on the Sunday when both lifts were out in the morning it was even more important that someone stayed there to deal with calls etc.

We don't routinely replace one strip of carpet at a time as on past experience the new carpet colour rarely matches up and it can look just as poor as the original stain. Instead, we are completely replacing the carpet in that apartment and others in the new year with a better quality/more stain resistant version. I'm also very sorry about the coffee machine issues. We would have been more than happy to have come up and shown you how to use it or dropped in some more instructions.

I'm really sorry that we fell so short of your expectations. We have taken some immediate actions to resolve the issues you detailed for the benefit of other guests.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

From our enthusiastic greeting upon arrival, we had a great stay at the Rotunda. We found parking simple, and parked in the Bullring car park - a five minute walk from the hotel.

Excellent location, (particularly in December, step out of the hotel and you are greeted by Birmingham's Frankfurt Christmas Market) great views across the city from floor 19 and lovely apartment with lots of little added touches - we liked the fresh oranges to make our own juice! The kitchen had plenty of nice equipment for us to use. The apartment was small, but more than adequate for a two night stay. The sofa and TV, as a previous review mentioned, were both very small but again, no major issue for us as we did not intend to spend our weekend sitting watching TV. The shower was hot and powerful but the shower enclosure poor, meaning the floor got absolutely soaked!

The lift however was not working on our last day which meant dragging all our luggage down 19 flights of stairs - far from convenient, and potentially a major issue for guests who are not so able-bodied as we are.

Would recommend to friends and family as a treat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennlittlethoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hello Jennlittlethoughts

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend in one of our Mini (studio) apartments and relished the extra little touches. The city can be quite magical at night with the German market and all the Christmas lights.

I am really sorry that the lifts weren't working on Sunday morning (from 7.15am to 10.15am - four sets of guests were affected). This is such a rare occurrence (the last time I can remember was in 2009) but very untimely. We have already started upgrading the TVs, as we all agree that they are too small for today's audience and this will be completed by March next year.

Many thanks once again for taking the time to write a review and hopefully we will see you again very soon. Don't forget your returning guest discount!

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for one night in December and we ended up taking cold showers in winter as the hot water had run out!! And there is no internal phone to call down for help. Absolute nightmare. Only one of the two lifts serving 20 floors was operational and there was litter in it.

The room looked exactly as cool as the website photos but on closer inspection, you see the property has not been well maintained. The room and the bed did not feel clean. The tv in one bedroom kept flickering.

We booked a two bedroom apartment and the view of the city was fantastic. The location was superb. These were the only positives. We did not appreciate having hot water run out mid-shower in both bathrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetotravelalot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear LovetoTravelAlot7

I was so sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with your stay. We have had many reviews and we aim for excellent ratings so it is especially disturbing when we receive negative ones.

Each apartment has its own boiler which provides enough water for the number of guests. If guests have long showers in quick succession in the evening, and then again first thing in the morning, the water may run out unless the boost function is deployed. There are instructions about this in the apartment manuals, but we will try to come up with a way to make this more obvious for the benefit of future guests in this predicament. I can't apologise enough that you had to endure a cold shower.

We made the decision in 2008 not to put land lines in the apartments as everyone uses mobile phones these days. We keep courtesy UK mobiles on hand for the use of overseas guests during their stay. You are, however, the second guest in the last few weeks to mention it so we will keep the decision under review.

I have referred your comments regarding cleaning as a matter of urgency to our housekeeping supervisor and we have today brought forward a second wave of maintenance work to this month from January.

A lift going out is highly unusual and we apologise for any delays that may have caused you. Once again, we are very sorry for the issues you experienced.

Best wishes
Tracey
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
883 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $115 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing