We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a few pounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birmingham Central Backpackers
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for a few pounds”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Tis is a good hostel - you shouldn't expect four star hotel, but when you don't mind sharing a room with few other people and sharing a bathroom with even more, you can get a fine, tidy accommodation at a very reasonable price. Even the self/served breakfast was good. There are also some free time facilities - Wii, DVDs and VHSs, board games, free Wi-Fi... I appreciated warm and tidy bathrooms and toilets.
The only flaw was the breakfast time. If you want to start your trip early in the morning, I recommend you to buy the breakfast on the way or in advance as the kitchen opens at 8:00am.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    55
    46
    29
    29
See reviews for
3
17
85
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed here was I was travelling on a budget as a student. The room was very cheap and you get what you pay for. The mattress was a bit uncomfortable but for the price I cannot complain. The staff are great and offered me advice on what to visit in the city, where to eat etc. I'd definitely stay again because of this.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HKG_MFM_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo André, São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Run by a couple of Hungarian guys, the strong points of this place are the staff and their lobby. This is a very good place for making friends, as their lobby is pretty full of people all around the world all the time. They have got a huge quantity of films and games for Xbox 360 and PS3, and you can watch and play in a very big screen. Staff really helped me when I needed. Besides, prices were ok and they have really big and free lockers, something that other hostels just don’t have all the time.
One weak point is location. It is not that far from stations and from main shopping area, but streets around are too dark in the night and there are lots of abandoned places. It just does not seem the safest place in the world. Another bad point was my mattress. It was really hard and I could feel all the wire structure below me during the night.
The overall experience was fine and I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NastjaKranjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Myself and a friend stayed at backpackers friday till sunday in a private room.
It was how i was expecting it to be, just a basic room. We werent planning on staying there very much because we had alot planned in birmingham.
Only downsides would be that the tv didnt have an aerial so couldnt be used and there wasnt a full length mirror anywhere in the building as far as i could see and it would have been very useful!
Saturday night we were woken up at around 1am by people in the hallway talking loudly and walking around which could be heard easily. Someone even tryed to enter our room which didnt half scare me but we think it was someone drunk thinking our room was the bathroom!
I found that my mattress was particularly uncomfortable i.e i could feel the springs. I managed to get to sleep but was woken at half 8 but what sounded like loud vehicles at the back of the building (building 2) which was at our side. needless to say it wasnt the best sleep ive ever had.

All in all it was an ok stay, we had eveything we needed for a short stay and i thought the free breakfast was nice and the lounge area in the main building was cosy and welcoming.
The location was good and down the road is a cafe which sells cheap yet tasty breakfasts and drinks which was a nice find!
I thought the staff at the hostel were pleasant and chilled out which was good. They gave us a good taxi number which was very reliable and fairly cheap.
I think that for the price the room was good value for money because of how close the hostel is to the bull ring.
I would say that the time of year being so close to christmas and the german market made the centre very busy so i would suggest people visit after this time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobylou8424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hostel is amazing. A few friends and I were given a four bed room to ourselves for one night. Just what we wanted for a night out.

We had a sink, shower, TV, DVD player and loads of storage. Three of the bed were a single (as expected). One was almost a double, so a nice surprise.

The first thing that hits you is the colour. Pink, blue, green on the walls. Not even mentioning the glitter too. Orange beds and red bedding. I loved it.

We missed the evening food, but breakfast was good and quick as I had to rush off the catch my train,

Book ahead for cheaper beds. Next time I want to try the pods though.

Room Tip: Book ahead if you want a pod or a room for just you and your friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reena511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

truly a wonderful hostel, friendly and affordable. Looks can be deceiving, because the hostel is located in a suburb infrequent and not recommended, but inside the hostel is quiet and colourfull. The owners are friendly and helpful (and cute ;*). There is a great common room with board games, books, projector and big screen, playstation 3, several sofas and chairs, and Internet for a few pennies. Some nights the owners organize nice events for guests (always young) to socialize and entertain. There's an equipped and spacious kitchen, and breakfast is included. The rooms are upstairs, they aren't wide but beds are clean and comfortable. There are few bathrooms, but always in good condition. There's also a big private garage where parking the car. It's almost perfect!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Like a lot of other reviewers, I was put in the new building, which didn't have wi-fi access yet (there are only 5 rooms in the original building). Seeing as getting wi-fi in the dorms was one of the main reasons I chose to stay here, it would have been nice to know beforehand. The other main reason I chose Central Backpackers over the other similarly priced hostel was the meal in the evening. I missed it a couple of times when I was working late but when I did have it, one time it was an hour later than they said it would be, and it was really, really watered down packet soup. The other time I got sick of waiting, went for a shower and by the time I got back there was none left. Seeing as dinner is a free extra I can't really complain, but just don't rely on having dinner here if you're on a tight budget.
The beds were really comfy, the common room was nice and bright with good wi-fi access and breakfast was fine (tea, toast and fruit). Some of the staff were friendly, some not as much, and as nice as they were they were more like volunteers than professional staff. Not a big problem if you're just mooching around on holiday but I was there for work so could have done with some local knowledge and advice.
Overall, if you're looking to meet people or are traveling with friends, Birmingham Central Backpackers is fantastic and cheap as chips, but if you're alone on business there are definitely better places to stay in Birmingham (even for the same price).

Room Tip: Perform a miracle and get booked in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myearsarealight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
251 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,409 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Central Backpackers

Property: Birmingham Central Backpackers
Address: 58 Coventry Street | Digbeth, Birmingham B5 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Birmingham Central Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers hostel located in the centre of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Birmingham Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Central Backpackers Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing