We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun evening”
Review of Catalan

Catalan
Ranked #32 of 129 Restaurants in Warwick
Price range: $9 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun evening”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I guess we had a bit if luck as we hadn't booked a restaurant and Catalan had just had a cancellation a few minutes before we arrived......lucky for us! We had a drink at the bar and the four us were seated in around 30 mins which was good for a Saturday evening. The seafood starter sharing plate was excellent and the various main courses, especially the moules were 'spot on' in terms of quality and portion size,busy place,great atmosphere and attentive host/staff. Great location in heart of Warwick.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ikb1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    135
    36
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Night”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just had a great night here. Very pleasant and attentive staff, lovely food and great variety too.
It was nice that each dish was clearly explained and served well spread out over the evening.
We went as a large group and were catered for very well,lovely atmosphere, recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Divided opinion”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went to Catalan in a group of 4, and whilst I really enjoyed my meal, 2 of the group weren't as impressed.
It was a little quiet, but it was earlier in the evening and close to Christmas too, and it did get a bit busier later on.
The decor is plesant, and lighting was a good level too.
The staff instantly offered to take our coats, were attentinve throughout the meal, and knowledable about the dishes.
We had 2 sharing platers to start, and 2 people thought this was a bit "samey" - especially the meat selections.
I think we got just what we ordered, and that they were being overly critical - what do you expect frrom a sharing platter of meats?
a selection of meats perhaps...
I had the sea bass fillets and then figs for dessert, all delicious and although not massive portions I thought there was just enough to leave me feeling pleasantly full and not at all bloated (quality over quantity - it's not all about size!).
This is also one of the small number of restaurants that are able to serve pork pink - and this is what I will definitely be trying the next time we visit.
I'll go with different people next time though, as my fellow diners commented that they wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Some of the best Tapas food we have ever eaten, in a warm and buzzing atmosphere. The service is very good and the overall meal is excellent value for money

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WhytehouseWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had a lovely meal here on 12 January. Slightly pricey but the staff are good and attentive. Just think for a small bowl of veg - that this should come as part of the meal price, not as an expensive optional extra, but would recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalan also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Catalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing