We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Warwick Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Arms Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
West Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed 1 night to attend an event at nearby Warwick Castle. We paid a very competitive rate of £99 including breakfast and I think this represented very good value for money . The car park is small and there were no spaces when we arrived. However, a very helpful member of staff noticed us and immediately offered to move his car so we could have the space. The receptionist was lovely and check in was a speedy process. Our room was at the back so no road noise but beware the squawking of the Warwick Castle peacocks if you have the window open during the night!

No complaints about the room. Spacious, modern and comfortable and had been refurbished (although perhaps on a budget given the quality of the fittings etc and the incredibly low shower head above the old bath). Wardrobe space limited. Not a problem for 1 night, might be for a longer stay.

Really enjoyed breakfast. Good quality and quickly served. There is a buffet of cereals etc but the hot breakfasts together with coffee and toast are served to the table which I like.

I liked this hotel. It is an old building with creaky, uneven floors but it all adds to the character. It is situated on the High Street in the centre of Warwick so easy walking to shops etc and the Castle behind.

Only gripe would be the bar. The hotel should improve it and make more of it. On this occasion and every other time I have visited the bar the service is extremely slow. This is a shame because the refurbished bar/lounge areas are very nicely done and comfortable. Otherwise all staff we encountered were great and an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    146
    109
    28
    23
See reviews for
102
169
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We would probably not have discovered this hotel by ourselves, but the friends we were with had stayed here before and booked in again on the basis of that first experience. The rambling old hotel has a lot of character, and I admire the skill in fitting horizontal beds and vertical showers when pretty well every floor upstairs slopes. Our bedroom was not large but it had been given a quite stylish re-fit including a neat en-suite which might, however, challenge the over-large: the shower was a tight fit (but I've been in smaller) and the loo space narrow. We'd decided to eat out in the evening and the hotel even approved our choice - they themselves seemed to have a pretty full house anyway. Breakfast was very good. Some of the staff obviously remembered our friends from their previous visit, and were friendly and welcoming - which was true of the whole team. If we were back in Warwick, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms with numbers in the low 20s all seem to be on a long quiet corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Overall a good hotel and facilities. Staff were pleasant and efficient. However for the price I think you could go better.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albymorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed for one night for a wedding, as booked by the bride. Great hotel, easy to find. Staff very helpful and polite, Jon? and the a lady whom came across as a manager were very helpful, when we had to go out in the car for a last minute change of plan, Jon? moved his car into our parking space so we didn't loose it while we out (limited parking but we managed to get a space). Building date make to 1700's so as you would expect creaky floorboards, but this all adds to the stay. Our room was overlooking the main road, a lttle noisy, but not that bad with it being a weekend. Beds very nice, room very clean, shower was a little on the small side, suited myslef just fine, but the other half being over 6ft was a little cramped! Good size towels. Breakfast was a good selection, choices of buffett and hot. Bar reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back if you don't want road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

The original building dates from 1717 and this was the part we stayed in. The public areas are full of character, comfortable and charming with a modern twist The staff were enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, nicely decorated and had a wonderfully comfortable bed. The bathroom was large with a nice shower. We enjoyed a undisturbed night's sleep. A choice of hot breakfast was offered, together with fresh fruit salad, cereal and toast. There was limited parking but we were helped you find an alternative.
This hotel is right in the centre of Warwick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed here for a 1 night business trip hoping to be fresh for my meeting the next day. No curtains in the tiny room, only a blind that let a lot of light into the room which woke me at 4am along with the delivery trucks revving their engines and listening to the reverse beeping. The floors were very creaky and you can hear people walking up and down the corridors all night. The shower ran hot and cold and the extractor fan was deafening. A glass of red wine was £5 but the breakfast was good. I would rather pay another £20-£30 and stay at the Hilton down the road.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avbinthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was our third choice of hotel for our stay in Warwick, the first two being full. The Warwick Arms offered a prompt email and telephone booking service. We arrived at the hotel early, although unable to check in (understandably) we were welcome to leave our car in the (very small) car park while we visited Warwick Castle. The castle is a short walk from the hotel.. Perfect doorstep location.
Check in was quick and efficient, however no luggage service is available. Our room (a double) was clean and nicely decorated, if a little small. The view was disappointing.. An old sofa could be seen in a service area below. I rang reception for an iron and was told due to a wedding in the hotel there might be a delay in receiving it, but it arrived in less than 10 minutes.
The wedding reception was in full swing when we left to attend an evening concert at the castle.. Very busy in the hotel. I would have thought that if you were a guest wanting a meal or a drink in the bar it would have proved difficult. We arrived back at the hotel at 11pm, the Wedding had taken over the hotel, however this didn't disturb our sleep and the noise was minimal. Bed was comfy.
Breakfast was disappointing.. Service was extremely slow (8.40am). No tables available and we were seated at a dirty table which had to be cleared and cleaned. Our order was taken 20mins after and then lost. Staff looked fraught. Breakfast finally arrived at 9.30am. It was delicious though, good quality produce, lovely coffee.
Overall a pleasant experience and value for money. A perfect location for visiting Warwick Castle. Not top notch, but a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaBritanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Arms Hotel

Property: Warwick Arms Hotel
Address: 17 High Street, Warwick CV34 4AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Warwick Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing