We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double charged for room”
Review of Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose and Crown
Ranked #2 of 24 Warwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visited in July for 1 night, making our reservation through Booking.com. Upon arrival, we were shown the wrong room, a very small room on the first floor with one bed. Since I had booked a room for 3,(and all 3 of us were standing there) it was obviously incorrect, and then we were shown a large room on the top floor with a queen bed and a single bed which was quite nice, except there was a mystery water stain (still wet, quite big, about 1' x 2 1/2') outside the bathroom door. The man who showed us the room told us that he had 2 bookings for the same name for the night (really?) and that is why we were shown the smaller room. My main complaint is that when we went to check out, I paid the bill as Booking .com says that you pay the hotel direct, even though Booking.com does require your credit card number. I was assured that the credit card had not been charged, so I paid the bill (fortunately on the same credit card) and when I accessed my account upon arriving home, found that I had indeed been double charged, one the charge I authorized listed as The Rose and Crown and one from www.roseandcrownwarwic, for exactly the same amount (down to the pennyas this was with a conversion from pounds to $!). I sent an e-mail when the mistake was discovered, and 2 weeks later I have heard nothing, so I contacted the credit card company.

I also would like to point out that there is no parking available except on the street with meters, and that the car must be moved by 9 am to avoid charge, and parking is only permitted in 1/2 hour intervals, no repeats, so it is hard to enjoy breakfast when dealing with this time frame. Parking is free after 6pm so no problem at night, if you are lucky enough to get a convenient space.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It’s a great help for us to see and hear what our guests experience, so we can make sure we improve and ensure everyone has a great time, and in turn come back.
We are sorry that you were double charged for your room we have since refunded for the over charge. We are upset to hear that you did not receive a response from us when you emailed as we strive to respond to every email, unfortunately yours was somehow missed. We are in the process of re-energising our rooms and we started with the carpet area outside the bathroom in the room where you stayed.
Once again I do hope you accept our apologies, as we do endeavour to make everybody have a great experience with us. If you do come back over to Warwick please email or call and we will make sure that you have the experience that we always try to deliver.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 506 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Situated in the middle of Warwick it has five ensuite rooms. Ours was big enough to accommodate a third bed. Contemporary decor to a high standard. Clean and very comfortable with the full range of amenities. The rooms are above a very popular bar/restaurant open from breakfast until the early hours. The bar had a great atmosphere. The restaurant and food were excellent in both quality and value for money. The staff deserve a special mention, helpful, efficient and served you with a smile. Once you've found the place and worked out the car parking arrangements (NO CAR PARK), you'll have a great stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We ate here mid week for a family get together. The Restaurant has always been fairly consistant and the Bar is always busy with a great atmosphere.

No change really in the Bar but the restaurant has definitely taken a bit of a nose dive!

We were there on a Tuesday evening and even though it was early in the week, it was still quite busy. We were shown to our table and brought menus. The table itself, apart from being a tad small for 4, was sticky and quite unpleasant to sit at. When we tried to move it a bit nearer to the static seats, it was actually stuck to the floor. The whole place looks like it needs a really good clean.

We decided not to have a starter but ordered a "Favourites" board to nibble on whilst we waited for our main courses. It was a little odd to say the least with mini sausages mixing with prawn cocktail and a slice of soft cheese. I know it was all stated on the menu but in reality it just didnt go together.

We all ordered Steaks to Share and these were all cooked how we asked them to be but were placed on top of the chips - this is fine for the well done steak but for the medium rare with all its juices running just made the once crispy chips soggy. Bloody Mary butter was OK but the Bearnnaise Sauce that we asked the chef today was not great.

No puddings required so just had coffee - these were fine as well.

A few bottles of good red and full tummies later we paid the bill and left.

Generally, it was OK but maybe a revamp would be in order here and a really good deep clean - nothing worse than sitting at a sticky table!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richandjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

The crown has a great location in the centre of Warwick. We stayed in room 4 this was a great size with a queen and a single bed. The rooms are really well equipped with tv Ipod dock and tea facilities. Great range of ales in the bar and really nice to see some sea food on the menu and not just the normal stuff. Food very good maybe a bit expensive but nice none the less.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathanhill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice room right above the pub, good size, nice bathroom and well priced. Breakfast was excellent and the pub is located centrally in the town just a short walk from Warwick castle. Definitely recommend as a B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieNiagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We got a warm welcome from the bar staff, a lovely lunch on arrival, but the accomodation left a lot to be desired, which is a real shame given the quality of the rest of our stay. True, for the price you wouldn't expect luxury but it would only take a few pounds and a bit of effort to bring the room standard up to a more acceptable level. If the managent are reading these reviews could I suggest the following:-

1. Go into each room (especially room 1) and make a 'to do' list - work out how to ensure that mirrors have an electricity socket or extension leads nearby to facilitate blow drying hair/putting on makeup and that there is enough lighting to see what you're doing. Move furniture around if need be.

2. Mend bathroom blinds so that they actually work, hang bedroom curtains properly so they have more than four rings on one side when there are eleven on the other and replace blown lightbulbs.

3. Congratulate your cleaning staff for doing a good job and get a decent maintenance guy in!

This pub could be an absolute gem of a place to stay, but lack of attention to detail and botched up bedrooms make it a bit too random for us to recommend to friends which is a pity because other than the above, it was great value!

One more thing, chuck away those cracked and stained breakfast teapots! Not nice!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwanttogotoitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great place to stay in Warwick center. Comfortable, spacious, and clean rooms with character. Pub on ground floor provides great breakfast including a vegetarian Full English breakfast with homemade vegetarian sausage and grilled portobello instead of black pudding. No elevator, so you have to manage stairs with your luggage, and location is a bit of a walk from train station but lots of places to shop and eat nearby. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
0.1 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#10 of 12 in Warwick
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#7 of 12 in Warwick
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
0.0 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#3 of 24 in Warwick
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Address: 30 Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose and Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rose & crown is a 17th century inn with rooms tucked into the corner of warwick's market square. We serve the good stuff: fresh seasonal food, a quality pint, great wine, well-made coffee, all with a genuine welcome for old guests and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Warwick
Rose And Crown Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing