We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Castle Keep Kitchen - CLOSED

Castle Keep Kitchen
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have eaten several times at the Castle Keep. A very friendly but professional staff make you feel so welcome..Young,well trained staff,produce excellent food at great value prices.Good selection of wines.Give it a go you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duncan090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra M, Owner at Castle Keep Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Team Castle Keep are always encouraged by our reviews and yours was no exception, as we move forward into the autumn season we are excited for a little business as it grows slowly and organically, thank you
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Those who are persuaded by its appearance from the outside that the Castle Keep Kitchen will be a simple, nondescript cafe will be quite pleasantly surprised. Thankfully for my group, which was milling around outside the door trying to decide where to eat, the owner (I assume) stepped out to assure us that the Sunday roast was on. Once inside, we were charmed by the light and elegant interior and even more by the friendly, attentive service. Then the food came, and we were hooked. From the Sunday roast, to the excellent chicken leek pie, to the fresh pea soup, all dishes were good-to-great. The desserts were even better, with one of our party declaring the sticky toffee pudding "the best ever". The 'cake of the day' is a very nice touch (a delicious lemon the day we were there), and we just wish we lived closer to be able to sample more versions, while having another nice chat with the wonderful staff. What a wonderful thing to find such quality near a major tourist attraction.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MariaK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra M, Owner at Castle Keep Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

My husband Hugh spoke about your visit on the evening of the day you came, we were all so encouraged by your visit, and thanking you for taking time out to review our restaurant much appreciated , please come back soon
Debbie McNeill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stopped for a coffee at the Castle Kitchen, little realising that what looked like a tea shop from the outside was actually a very exceptional restaurant. After browsing the breakfast menu, my husband and myself both plumped for smoked salmon scrambled egg which was delicious. The service was excellent and delivered with a smile and a chat. After a full day exploring the area, we found ourselves back there in the evening. Although we were the only ones in the restaurant, we were made to feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble and the food was superb. I tasted the best fish cakes ever!
( As we were the only guests there when we ate, it's not possible for me to give a fair rating for atmosphere and romance, but I would definitely urge everyone to give this establishment a try!) Well done Debbie and Hugh

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pat k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra M, Owner at Castle Keep Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Bless you for taking the time to write a comment on here, we are always so encouraged by our good reviews and use them as a guide as to how we are doing and being a new business we do need to know as much as we can how we are doing...thank you

Debbie and Hugh McNeill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I just wanted to say my experience from start to finish was wonderful, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely Sunday lunch great value for money, and the desserts are out of this world. Go see for yourself what this new place has to offer and they definitely don't punch above their weight!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ljb1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra M, Owner at Castle Keep Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

I really like the description of being a little Gem. In the evening we have storm candle lamps outside which hopefully attracts potential guest and creates a lovely scene. Thank you for taking the time to write your review we are so encouraged by it.
Hugh and Debbie and all the team at Castle Keep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a great evening eating fine food, presented excellently in a great atmosphere. If your looking for a quiet relaxing evening next to the finest castle in England, this must be your choice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra M, Owner at Castle Keep Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review which says it all and allows us to feel encouraged.

Much appreciated Hugh and Debbie McNeill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Keep Kitchen also viewed

 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing