We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice baked potato, nice people”
Review of The Gateway Cafe

The Gateway Cafe
Ranked #84 of 132 Restaurants in Warwick
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Description: The Gateway cafe is a very important part of the life of Castle Hill Baptist Church. Apart from selling a wide range of fabulous, fairly traded coffee, tea and hot chocolate, we also provide a whole range of homemade cakes and soups along with other lunchtime treats. Primarily the cafe exists to provide a Gateway to peace in the often frantic world we live in.
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice baked potato, nice people”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The ham and cheese baked potato I had here was very good. My husband also enjoyed his ham and cheese panini. We we in a hurry to get to our next destination and had to make a quick stop. The ladies who waited on us were very nice and served us quickly. I liked this place because it is run by a church and their aim is to minister to the community via their cafe. Very cool. Relaxing place to be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HollisterDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“By far the nicest cafe in Warwick!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Modern, friendly, sparkling clean and with wonderful home made cakes, this little cafe easily is so much nicer than the grotty corporate American chains that are your alternative. All the food is prepared on the premises each day and there's always someone to stop and chat if you wish to. A stone's throw from the entrance to the castle, it's great value for a quick lunch or a lingering coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EleanorViolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Kept Barista Secret in Warwick - for now!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Gateway Cafe is Warwick's best kept secrets in the cafe sector. Great welcoming staff and the coffee tea and hot chocolate are top notch Barista quality and superb value for money. It is a wonderful place for a soup or lunch - very tasty. Comfy spot near town and I love that it is a church cafe that is as good as any high street coffee shop. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern, good value and quality”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Worth a visit. Just outside of the Castle walls. Modern warm friendly and a lot of choice for snacks sweet and savory. Forget the big name brands come here for a change.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eunlim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, fairtrade, fantastic food!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This small cafe opposite Warwick Castle is associated with Castle Hill Baptist Church. The staff are welcoming and friendly, the excellent coffee is all fairtrade. The food is very good value for money; the home-made soup is tasty and the paninis and daily specials are always delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Korkykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Cafe also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Gateway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing