We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect!”
Review of High Pavement - CLOSED

High Pavement
Cuisines: British, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first visit and we were generally impressed. Friendly staff, good quality food with some unusual twists. I liked the idea of having a number of small plates. Lovely decor and ambience. Downsides were that there was too much red onion in the side salad which was overpowering and as the place filled up on sat night the service went a bit downhill and the staff seemed a bit chaotic. Overall very enjoyable and would definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank Janeymarmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    59
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was really keen to try this restaurant as the menu looked really great and the reviews were fantastic. We were seated immediately but nobody bothered to take a drinks order and we sat without drinks for 15 minutes. It was near impossible to catch any waiting staff. We sat whilst those seated after us were served with drinks and orders taken.However once ordered The starters and mains were really quite good. Although we continued to struggle to attract the attention of the staff. The desserts looked great,my partner ordered bourbon pastilles which arrived a full 20 minutes before any one elses. The desserts were sadly disappointing, a totally tasteless pina colada sorbet, tasteless bourbon pastilles and a white chocolate pud with unpleasant crispy orange peel. The Eton mess was good though. On leaving we asked for our coats twice. I think the poor service really spoilt our meal and we won't be going back. Pity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taylor91968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great bar”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We did not eat but stopped in here for a pre-dinner cocktail on the recommendation of a friend. It had a great atmosphere with people of all ages enjoying a drink. The restaurant appeared to be full and we have decided to try eating there soon. In fact we liked the bar so much we went back for a nightcap after our meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch via Groupon”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We like to use Groupon whenever possible and knowing that this is a fairly new restaurant in Warwick wanted to see what it was like. The deal was 2 starters/one bite each, plus a glass of wine. Well, we both had pigs cheeks which was the first time we have had this, it came with a creamy mash, spinach,very nice gravy/sauce and a lovely small toffee apple. Our second one bite was Moulles and Confit Duck. My wife had a dessert that she said was wonderful, a tasting selection of Turkish Delight, Rhubarb and Custard,Lemon Parfait and she had two more Toffee Apples. We did have extra glasses if wine at £3.40 a glass, an S.B. from Chile. We can thoroughly recommend this restaurant for its quality of food and standard of service. The menu has a good variety and would suit most people and is very reasonably priced. We will definitely be eating there again in the near future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rudidudik9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to the area”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We tried this out in February 2013 for the first time - having seen a Travelzoo voucher offer we decided to give somewhere new a try for our anniversary.
Must say that we had a thoroughly pleasant evening - good food, friendly efficient service, nice decor / ambiance, and a good location on the high street in Warwick.
Disagree with a previous comment regarding the music - I'm 41, so no spring chicken, but I was happily humming away to myself to a catchy eclectic mix including artists as wide ranging as The Happy Mondays and Diana Ross! I thought it ensured the place was not too stuffy - nice to go somewhere that it not pretentious - it makes a change for the area!
Apparently there are plans to expand and open up the hotel rooms upstairs again and possibly the downstairs restaurant/bar.
Looking forward to visiting again - nice to have something new and not part of a chain! I hope it does well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrenvilleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Pavement also viewed

 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Hampton Lucy, Warwick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing