We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family gathering.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“family gathering.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I booked for eight adults and five small children, aged from two to seven years. The rooms were clean and quite spacious and the staff were all very friendly and helpful- they obviously enjoyed working there.We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was first class and the staff organised a time and a long table so we could all eat together, virtually in private!The location is within easy walking distance of the town and I booked a meal at Merchants, which was also very good and complemented our stay at this lovely little hotel. The Indian restaurant at the end of the road was also a very good place to eat.Be careful driving into the car park since it is quite a narrow entrance.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 3,4, 9 ,10 and 12 and all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryswood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    120
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
138
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed there 2 nights. I found the room clean, correctly appointed with no-thrill, functioning furnitures and bathroom. On the 2nd floor, the room allowed for quiet nights.

The hotel is, more or less, 5 minutes away, on foot, from the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here as we wanted to visit Warwick castle and had a fresh weekends two night voucher for a stay in a historic town.
Location is just a 5 min walk from the town, and about 15 from the castle. The castle is a great day out and we had a lovely meal at a place in town called merchants.
Having read the other reviews it appears that we may have drawn the short straw with the room as ours was a tiny, dark, basic room in the main building above the pub (room 5 I believe), the rooms out the back looked nicer but having said this breakfast was good, staff were friendly and the place was clean.
It is a very narrow entrance to the car park!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights in Room 11 in the courtyard. Service was good and location excellent.

The room was clean but with an overpowering smell of cleaning fluid.

The main problem was the bed. It was the most uncomfortable one I have ever (not very well) slept in.

I notice similar comments on T A which is a shame as the owner is aware of the problem but for whatever reason not resolved it.

Shame because this could be a really good place to stay.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask if the bed is comfortable given the comments posted on Trip Advisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianJones91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Comfortable clean and friendly place to stay, right in the thick of things! Easy walk to castle, shops , restaurants and bars. Would recommend this as good place to stay.Motel style rooms at back were quiet and very convenient for "coming and going",. Car park only small with quiite a tight gated entrance way, but not impossible for a large car. Happy to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scaremkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very friendly and helpful. We had a room out the back which was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we will be going back.for another lovely night`s sleep. It is very handy for walking around Warwick.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My daughter and I were touring the UK together, and had not originally planned to spend the night in Warwick. But we called them at the last minute and they gave us a warm welcome. Sean, the owner, is friendly and helpful, and we got especially good service from Melissa. The rooms are quite small, even by UK standards, but they were impeccably clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and at night the pub is lively with people singing and playing instruments. Best of all, it is a 5 minute walk from Warwick Castle. I consider this one of the top "finds" of our trip and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzNoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
5.5 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Property: The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#4 Family Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities.  Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing