We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

i was passed to this hotel as the one I had booked was flooded out . it was comfortable and clean but on these rally hot nights I think a fan would have been a good idea. But it was clean well priced and the breakfast beautiful have re booked for my next trip to warwick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxer7199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    117
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
136
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hi. My friend and I stayed at the Fourpenny Shop Hotel last Sat (13th July) while attending the Warwick Proms. We had a lovely spacious twin room with ensuite, with all mod cons, set in an attractive courtyard, with tables and chairs where we could sit outside and enjoy the sunshine. Plenty of off road parking, a lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. Thanks very much, see you next year :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed with 2 other couples for a trip to the races. Sean and all his staff were excellent hosts and made us feel really welcome. They were always helpful and pleasant. The rooms were spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable with a plentiful supply of tea and coffee. The full English breakfast was cooked to each individual taste. The lady serving breakfast could not do enough to ensure your taste was met. Car parking was free and the racecourse was on the doorstep. Very close to the town centre and all amenities. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesF_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Beautiful North
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

A stone’s throw from the racecourse, 15 mins walk through the historic town centre to Warwick Castle. The hotel kindly let us leave our car in the carpark whilst at the castle, which saved us the exorbitant £6 parking fee for the castle.

Unlike several other Warwick hotels close to the castle, the old Fourpenny Shop is not on the main road. It’s on a residential street near the racecourse, which makes it much quieter, though I imagine it gets busy on race days.

The narrow archway to the car park is indeed a tight squeeze – breathe in if you have a wide vehicle!

We were in room 4, which is a large family room facing the street on the first floor. One word of caution – the stairs to bedrooms in the main building are steep and narrow. If you have limited mobility, you’d be better off in one of the ground floor rooms next to the car park.

Room 4 has one double bed, one single, and plenty of space. You don’t have to be a family to stay here, we only needed the double bed, but there was no extra charge. There’s an extra area through an archway containing the TV, tea-making facilities, a couple of armchairs and some full sized wardrobes – plenty of storage space to tidy away your clothes and bags.

Along with the abundant windows, we were grateful for the large airy room as it was a very hot weekend, and like most small independent hotels, there’s no air conditioning.

The room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean and tidy. The bed was comfy and a decent size, and we had a surprisingly good sleep considering how warm the weather was. We were staying here on a quiet evening so it was peaceful – I wouldn’t want the windows open onto the street on a busy night after a race. In this scenario, you’d probably get less noise in rooms overlooking the carpark.

The ensuite bathroom was large, with plenty of shelving and space and a shower over the big corner bath. We used both the shower and bath - both equally welcome after a long hot day.

The quality and quantity of the breakfast was good. I was pleased to note we were offered a choice of fresh tomatoes or tinned – the hotel obviously took notice of previous reviews on this subject !

Service from all staff was excellent, with just the right balance of friendliness and professionalism- they all seem to enjoy working here and they’re a credit to the hotel.
My only regret here was not sampling any of the 6 real ales on offer in the bar! We enjoyed our stay here, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the carpark probably quieter on busy nights when the bar is full. Stairs are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NightOwl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice hotel with appropriate bar. Peaceful. Reasonable price. Good breakfast. Pleasant helpful staff. Tight parking. Room 5: rattling fan outside turns off late at night, bathroom and bedroom windows meant a through airflow on a hot night.
Warwick again? definitely this hotel.
No restaurant but 4 min walk only to The Vine - seemed to wait a long time for meal to arrive but good with friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We decided to book this hotel as it was close to the castle which was the main reason for our visit. We booked for 2 nights and were shown to our room which was at the front of the main building.
First the good bits.....great location, we could easily walk to the castle and other attractions in town. The room was neat and clean and well furnished. There was a large bathroom with a bath which had a mixer tap for the shower. The staff were friendly and there was a good selection of leaflets by reception. The breakfast was very basic but ok.
The bad bits........My first impressing of the bed was that it looked uncomfortable and I was not wrong. It was really odd as it felt comfortable to sit on but was really hard and lumpy when you were trying to sleep on it. The shower was disappointing as it had very little pressure and although I filled the sink twice using the hot tap one morning the water was still cold so I gave up. Although we were the only guests in for breakfast when we were served the waitress still got things wrong.
Overall it was not a bad place but then I am not the fussiest person on the planet. I could forgive live most of the bad bits was too awful to ignore. SORT THESE NIGGLEY BITS OUT AND DITCH THE BED IN ROOM 6 AND IT WOULD BE A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!

Room Tip: Steer clear of room 6 it needs a new bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here (room 9) on 29th June 2013. Checkin was straight forward. Good location and although car park was small i was able to find a space. The room itself seemed nice and everything worked fine. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very nice. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trollking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Property: The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#4 Family Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities.  Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing