We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for functions!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great for functions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We used the hotel this week-end for a function (a craft workshop for a hen party) and the staff were incredibly friendly, welcoming and hospitable. They served us tea and coffee and a large plate of chocolate biscuits which went down very well! The pub was busy and seems to prove popular with tourists and locals alike. Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossiAndShellyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    113
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
56
132
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent just one night at the hotel and were very pleased with the chalet room we were in, very comfortable, extremely clean with tea, coffee and a good TV.
The breakfast was superb, a full english including black pudding, fruit juice and cereal was also available along with toast and marmalade as well.
Quiet area just off the town centre but away from the usual weekend noises.
No hesitation in recommendation for this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igwana48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a Saturday evening with a group of friends. We were all booked into the local Lebanese restaurant (very good!) and needed somewhere 'simple' to stay within walking distance.

The hotel is in a side street and it has a small carpark at the rear accessed via a narrow archway (watch your wing mirrors!). The location is central without being noisy and is about a 5-10 minute walk up to the heart of Warwick town.

This place is actually a cross between a small hotel (just 12 rooms) and a pub. The pub aspect has a great atmosphere and serves numerous real ales. There appeared to be a lot of regulars in the bar but it was very friendly and welcomming.

The rooms are in two categories: those in the main building and those in a coutyard (shared with the carpark) at the rear. Our room was in the courtyard and was perfectly clean and a decent place to lay ones head. Very good value for money when the full english breakfast was factored in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBlack-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Took extended family to the races (7 adults + 4 children) and we popped into a vey busy fourpenny for lunch. Manager went out of his way to get us sorted and fed before the races started despite being run off his feet and having the back room booked for a private party. Great beers and very good pub grub. At the end they even refused to take the tip we had left as they said 'were a pub not a restaurant lad'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just back from a very enjoyable weekend with some golfing friends. No golf this weekend but a good day spent at Warwick races. Great time had by all. Made feel very welcome by Sean and all the staff. Music excellent. Befriended the locals who made us feel like we were part of the furniture. Hearty breakfasts for hearty appetites. Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here after delivering items to London. Friendly welcome and room was to back of traditional pub, away from noise. Room was clean and tidy, bathroom well equipped if showing age slightly. Bed not as comfy as I like - bit of a dip in middle! Breakfast good, full cooked and cereals etc. Bit pricey for what you get but safe and comfy enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleknock, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay over Christmas and were thoroughly satisfied with our accomodation at this small friendy hotel, especially as it came highly recommended by our friend who is involved in the local hockey club.
We felt it was more like a B&B in respect that the staff are wonderfully friendly, providing a very personal level of service - they cannot do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay and are well fed too - with breakfast cooked fresh to order every morning.
We were in room 12, which is the last of the "own door" rooms at the rear of the hotel, and we were delighted with the spaciousness of both the room & the bathroom, both of which were spotlessly clean and although located close to one of the main roads into Warwick town centre we found it to be very quiet.
Having stayed in Warwick regularly over the last 8 years visiting family, and knowing it to be a busy tourist town, there are surprisingly few great places to stay - The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel is easily one of the better options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#10 of 13 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#9 of 13 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Property: The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#4 Family Hotel in Warwick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities.  Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street.  We are dog friendly! (Please refer to our Pet Policy) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing