We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Castleknock, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay over Christmas and were thoroughly satisfied with our accomodation at this small friendy hotel, especially as it came highly recommended by our friend who is involved in the local hockey club.
We felt it was more like a B&B in respect that the staff are wonderfully friendly, providing a very personal level of service - they cannot do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay and are well fed too - with breakfast cooked fresh to order every morning.
We were in room 12, which is the last of the "own door" rooms at the rear of the hotel, and we were delighted with the spaciousness of both the room & the bathroom, both of which were spotlessly clean and although located close to one of the main roads into Warwick town centre we found it to be very quiet.
Having stayed in Warwick regularly over the last 8 years visiting family, and knowing it to be a busy tourist town, there are surprisingly few great places to stay - The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel is easily one of the better options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    117
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
136
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by work colleagues and crikey have I landed on my feet. Sean (think that's how you spell it) and his staff are warm and welcoming. The rooms are cosy and very clean and the food (breakfast) fresh, deliciously cooked and hot. As a lone female traveller I was a little concerned that there's no evening menu. Sorted. Sean's team are cooking evening meals for me so I don't have to wander into Warwick alone at night. This is only my second night here this week, but will definately be using this hotel a couple of nights a week from now on. Close to Warwick centre for those here on sight seeing trips. Reasonably priced for Warwick and knocks the Lord Leycester (see my other reviews) into a cocked hat. The pictures are of Room No. 3.

Room Tip: The car park is accessed through a narrow archway (think horse and carriage) and can be difficult to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in room 8. It has got a filthy carpet and the bathroom is very dirty too. The bath has thick brown sticky sealant around it. I didn't want to have a bath, in fact, the two days we stayed there, I just had a very quick wash. The people are friendly. But I would not recommend. I do hope the owner does something about this as It was most unpleasant. The beds were also very hard.

Room Tip: I can't give a tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel the food was excellent the music which included every type imaginable including bluegrass was wonderful and within a close proximity of Warrick Castle can't beat the price or the management and staff. I strongly recommend this to the romantic at heart. John the owner was pleasant and very easy to get along with no matter what your request was. He will even park your car in the courtyard if you cannot manage the entrance to the parking lot.

A five star experience if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mworthyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Spent a few days in Warwaick to relax and unwind and pretty much chose this hotel at random. Rooms was comfortable and very clean and exactly what you would want for somewhere you'll only need for sleeping. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Good selection of beers in the bar. Only regret was missing the leaving do the night after I checked out!!! Have throughly recommended this place to everyone. Will definately stay again if I'm in that neck of the woods in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crewe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

A very nice hotel,location very good, free parking at the hotel away from the road,our room was very comfortable with a huge bathroom, with bath and shower and old fashioned fireplace in the bedroom, very nice feature and very clean.The bar itself was very nice with entertainment in the night,Meals are available at lunchtime, however they dont serve meals in the evenings. The breakfast was very nice, which was included in the price,£80 for the two of us for bed and breakfast.We would recommend this hotel, good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Two adults and two growing boys of 10 and 13 stayed in one of the family rooms. Plenty of space. Beds were clean and comfortable and people friendly. Rooms are a bit dark and bathrooms, while large and generally clean, were a bit damp and dated. Best of our stay was the breakfast. Lots of choice and plenty of good food. Filled our boys which was quite a feat. Hotel is well located to walk around town and to castle. There's good off-street parking and a beer on hand at night. Very good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tomandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel

Property: The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Address: 27-29 Crompton Street, Warwick CV34 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
#3 Business Hotel in Warwick
#4 Family Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fourpenny Shop is a small owner operated hotel just minutes from the heart of Warwick and all its attractions; Warwick Races, Warwick Castle and Saint Mary’s Church to name a few. All of our rooms are en-suite, with Freeview, Wi-Fi, Real Coffee and Tea making facilities.  Below the Hotel you will find our newly refurbished and newly named pub, The Silver Groat. Here you will be able to choose from a wide selection of real ales, craft lagers, ciders and fine wines, whilst feasting upon dishes from our ever-changing menu of dishes created using locally sourced and seasonal ingredients. We are five minutes from J15 of the M40 making Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham, The NEC and Warwick University all easily accessible.. We have a small residents’ car park to the rear of the Hotel. If this is full, there is a reasonably priced public car park a few minutes away on Linen Street.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Old Fourpenny Shop Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing