We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and top class staff”

The Cape of Good Hope
Ranked #9 of 134 Restaurants in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Warwick's Best Kept Secret. A true canal side real ale pub. The water is a few feet from the front door, adjacent to Cape top lock on the Grand Union Canal. Open & Serving Food All Day Every day from 11am. We have 3 permanent real ales & 3 ever changing guest ales. We served Fresh Ingredients Real Food. Great food, Great beer, Great location.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and top class staff”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Five of us popped in for an evening meal after reading lots of good reviews and we weren't disappointed!
Fantastic food, friendly staff in a nice setting, totally recommended!

Helpful?
Thank mattybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    107
    25
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very happy we can call it our local”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have spent here a afternoon with my husband and a friend as we live just across the canal. We always liked the atmosphere and had a few drinks but this was the first time we have eaten here. I must say it was very pleasant surprise when we tasted our selection of starters to nibble on. We had baked camembert, white bate and a special take on scotch egg. All was great for reasonable price and made our afternoon. Definitely will be back on lazy afternoons.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great little find ”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

A nice friendly little pub with a great canal side location. My partner and I dined here on a sunny Monday night and were surprised how busy the place was. The food was plentiful and tasty with a good selection of ales to choose from. The beer battered fish and chips was delicious as was the whitebait.

Made to feel quite welcome and will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank dajlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely atmos”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Eat here regularly as family live nearby.
Lovely views by canal and good food and service, the smoked haddock with poached egg Is fab. Staff very friendly and lots of canal boats sit by the entrance, very country friendly feel about the place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice break in a long journey”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Much better than motorway services. Nice canal side setting. Service a bit slow but the hot baguettes with very generous filling were well worth waiting for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz_at_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing