We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent canal side pub”

The Cape of Good Hope
Ranked #9 of 131 Restaurants in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Warwick's Best Kept Secret. A true canal side real ale pub. The water is a few feet from the front door, adjacent to Cape top lock on the Grand Union Canal. Open & Serving Food All Day Every day from 11am. We have 3 permanent real ales & 3 ever changing guest ales. We served Fresh Ingredients Real Food. Great food, Great beer, Great location.
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent canal side pub”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent Sunday afternoon with family at The Cape of Good Hope watching England beat Wales in the Six Nations.
Ordered a light bite lunch with drinks while watching rugby, food was very good value for money along with a very good selection of ales
Sat on the lock gates drinking in the sunshine after the win.
Thoroughly recommend this lovely located pub with very friendly staff

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank igwana48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    105
    23
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice little pub”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Good reputation in area, eat here last summer with my family ,good home cooked pub grub, canal side location ,great chips, one to visit!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nerjalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Yesterday had a few drinks and food with my mates !!! Great and very positive place. For sure will back again :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Przemek1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Canal side delight”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Fantastic public house nestled beside the Grand Union Canal, reached from the canal by crossing the lock gates. Unsure of road side approach but worth the research.
Well kept ales guest ales predominate and are constantly changing, each being discribed available as sample before choice.
We arrived for late lunch after many a mile canal walk, pleasantly welcomed and helped on arrival. 1st drink refreshed we studied the simple but generously varied menu picking lite bites to share the barman gave further (turning out to be excellent) advice to our choice.

This is a place to whole heartily recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely little pub this is! Doesn't look much from outside, and unfortunately now surrounded by new houses and an industrial estate, but once inside the welcome is warm, the staff are really friendly and the food is great. Almost don't want to give it such a good review as I don't want too many people finding it as it's only small! We had a burger, the pie of the day, and fish and chips. All piping hot, delicious and large portions. Excellent value too

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank claireemma70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing