We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and Chips,value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pot & Fin

The Pot & Fin
Ranked #46 of 129 Restaurants in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Cruising the British Waterways
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips,value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We timed it right the night Warwick turned on the Christmas lights,with no prior table booking,we walked in to a full restaurant, fortunately customers had finished and the table had to be cleared which the staff did promptly for us, we were warned the meal would take 10/15 mins,we ordered and waited, 5 new customers did walk out,which was unfortunate as the fish and chips plus mushy peas were very,very nice and good value,the service was friendly and efficient the restaurant clean,2 meals(one small,one medium)2 pots of tea,£17

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank watergypsy504395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    43
    16
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Superior chippy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good quality fish and chips, to eat in or take away.
Good range of pies.

Friendly and enthusiastic owner, who is striving for quality.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TillerSlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely fish & chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

What a change to get decent fish, chips & mushy peas! Reasonable price & you can take your own alcohol, very enjoyable & well worth a visit

Decent deserts if you have room & at a bargain price

Will definately visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPKS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgraceful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I bought a groupon voucher for The Pot and Fin which unfortunately expired long before I realised. I called and explained and asked if they would be so good as to still allow me to use it which they very kindly advised they would, so I happily booked my table. On the day of the booking I called to confirm my time and ask whether we could bring drinks, everything was confirmed as ok. We made our 50 minute journey with excitement as we had never visited a fish and chip shop restaurant only to be advised upon arrival that they would not honour the voucher per the managers decision, who though on the premises did not even have the courtesy to come down and speak to us! This was highly disspointing and ruined our family meal, never mind the wasted cost on travel. It is understandable to call and ask the question whether an expired voucher could possibly still be used and to be advised unfortunatley not, but to be advised it would be honoured, call and confirm everything is still ok on the day just to then be advised on arrival that minds had been changed, coupled with the lack of courtesy of the manager coming to talk to us in person about the error, is just disgraceful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Pot_and_Fin, Manager at The Pot & Fin, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. In summary:

-The Groupon voucher expired 31st August
-Front of House made a mistake when you booked and reconfirmed, in saying the voucher was valid in November, this was our mistake and has been rectified.
-It was explained the Groupon voucher you purchased could be fully refunded by Groupon.
-An alternative meal was offered with free drinks and free desserts with a total value that was cheaper than the value of the Groupon Voucher.
-The alternative meal was not accepted.

We again apologise for our mistake at booking and are sorry that you decided to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great food, the owner opened the restaurant at 2PM for us. He was on the way out and stayed to serve us. It is my second visit and the food was great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Yosi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pot & Fin also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Pot & Fin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing