We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our best accommodation in the UK”
East Gate from Smith Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East Gate from Smith Street
East Gate from Castle Street East Gate from Jury Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
East Gate from Smith Street
East Gate from Castle Street
East Gate from Jury Street
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Area in Living Room
Twin Bedded Room
Twin Bedded Room
Dressing Table in Twin Bedded Room
En Suite Shower/Bathroom to Twin Bedded Room
En Suite to Twin Bedded Room
En Suite to Twin Bedded Room
Kitchen
View of Double Bedroom from Lobby
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
En Suite to Double Bedroom
Seating Area on Battlements
View of Castle Street from Battlements
View of Smith Street from Battlements
View of Jury Street from Battlements
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Warwick, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cate W
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Our best accommodation in the UK”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Our family of 5 were welcomed into this wonderfully restored historical building by the owners. All of us enjoyed the luxurious and warm bedrooms and the stylish and convenient bathrooms. The kitchen was well supplied and appointed. But better than all of this was the sense of history and care to detail of the restoration. The owners have struck a great balance between atmosphere and luxury. In the middle of the town we had both privacy and easy access to parking, restaurants local attractions. We used this as our base to explore Stratford upon Avon, Oxford and Warwick. All our family voted this our best accommodation on our 6 week holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: having to leave at the end of our time
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dluvstotr...
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Hospitality at its finest”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The owners were so hospitable. Everything was prepared in advance for us to come with our two young children - toys out for them to play with, nappy sacks for the baby, colorful towels for bath time, even blue bed sheets for our son. The home has everything one could possibly need on a vacation... laundry soap, dishwasher soap, toiletries, etc - the owners even placed a few groceries in the kitchen for us (milk, bread, juice, etc) to get us through the first evening/morning. The beds are incredibly comfortable. The whole place was so clean and tidy, we felt right at home. The decorations and furniture in the apartment are so tastefully done. I enjoyed just sitting in each room and taking in all the beauty around me. The location of the place is fantastic. There are restaurants in every direction with a variety of cuisine options: pizza/Italian, Spanish tapas, Indian, Mediterranean, Fish & Chips (recommended by Rick Steves), etc. Warwick Castle is just around the corner. We also enjoyed attending the Baptist Church just across the street on Sunday morning - a warm welcome awaiting us there. We are well-seasoned travelers and have stayed in many different types of accommodations - hotels, B&B's, vacation homes - all over the world and this was indeed the best place we have ever stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decorations, hospitality
Liked least: With the stone walls and floors, it got a bit chilly and hard to warm up - but you must expect that when staying in a historic building!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOVEMYPON...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thrill of a lifetime!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Eastgate is a one of a kind place to stay. We felt like we were actually staying in a little castle. It is beautifully restored with the original floors, antique furniture, gorgeous old fireplace, yet with beautiful modern bathrooms and kitchen. We traveled with another couple. The upstairs bedroom is so spacious and quaint - each bedroom with an en suite
bathroom. The owner was delightful, giving us history of the restoration and the town of Warwick. Lovely welcome package which we used all week long. I would recommend this apartment to anyone wanting to experience a part of history. Loved everything about this accommodation! It is exactly as pictured - which is unbelievable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just everything.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMomDad
Harrisburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best vacation property we ever stayed in! Perfect location to visit England.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This was truely a wonderful experience! I travelled there with my husband and our four children (ages 1 yr to 17 yrs.) The property was spotless and we felt like honored guests. The owners provided many unexpected extras (such as bath toys for our infant; brochures, coupons for local attractions and a 3D TV with DVDs) which made our stay extra special. The rental is even more beautiful than the pictures can show. The beds were incrediably comfortable (loved sinking into the soft mattress with the down comforter) and large enough for two kids per bed in the upstairs bed room. The showers were amazing (the large "rainshower" head...). The bath tub upstairs was perfect for washing our baby (lots of room for me to sit beside the tub). The kitchen provided everything we could possibly need (even a convection oven with disappearing knobs to keep kids safe). The rental had an incrediable amount of space. The location was unbeatable...a block away from the castle (a must see attraction); five miles from Stratford Upon Avon (Shakespear attractions) and the Lord Lychester Hospital. Plenty of quality pubs within walking distance. The history of (and inside) the rental is fascinating, providing a one of a kind experience. How many places have battlements and do you have to close the latch upon entering to keep out tourists? Our kids kept asking "Do we really need to leave?" and continue to ask about returning next year. I cannot recommend this property stongly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotless, Beautiful, Perfect Location, Historic, Wonderful hosts!
Liked least: Nothing to complain about. We LOVED everything!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simontw58
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“An amazing experience.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We needed a base to access the Coventry City Stadium following the NZ womens football team. Warwick turned out to be a wonderful city to stay in and the East Gate & St Peters Chapel the unexpectedly unbelievable icing on the cake.

It gave our teenage sons an unprecedented experience of their european cultural heritage. The standards within the building combined the feeling of living in an ancient dwelling with the most comfortable and luxurious setting. The hosts greeted us on arrival with wine chilled and food available for breakfast. They were most helpful and obviously have put a lot of heart into the painstaking refurbishment.

I wholeheartedly recommend Eastgate & St Peters Chapel and it will be on top of my list to visit again on our next UK trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the history
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn F
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We spent 3 excellent nights at the East Gate and St Peter's Chapel. The owners were very helpful right through the booking process to greeting us on our arrival and helping us unload the luggage. They also left food and wine for us in the very well equipped kitchen. The chapel has been beautifully restored retaining many original characterful features while including all the mod cons making it an extremely comfortable and easy place to stay. Our children range in age from 5 - 10 and it was very suitable for them with toys and books available and a 3D TV which they particularly enjoyed. The location is fantastic - 10 minutes walk to Warwick Castle and the town literally on your doorstep with it's many restaurants and cafes. Although very central it nevertheless was a quiet retreat to spend a few days and we definitely plan to stay again, there is a great deal to see in the area including Stratford, Kenilworth Castle and other NT properties and various local museums.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable while retaining all the period features
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob190730
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“a stunning building, with history, comfort, things to do and time to do nothing.”
Reviewed February 6, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

This place compares compares favourably to the Landmark Trust, whose buildings we have previously stayed in. The building is fantastic, it just makes you grin from the minute you approach it until to the hours after you leave and i expect for some days and weeks to come. It has the benefit of being privately owned and being met by the owner on arrival provides a personal and welcoming touch. The interior has been thoughtfully decorated and equiped to a high standard, comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and the little touches like umbrellas by the front door are the icing to the cake.
A great place to spend a weekend, at a very reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: an amazing building to stay in comfortably
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing