We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Garden Centre”
Review of Charlecote Park

Charlecote Park
Ranked #3 of 48 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charlecote Park has been home to the Lucy family since the 12th century. Their stories are told throughout the house by their portraits, the objects they collected from around the world and the design influence they had on the house and parkland. See how Mary Elizabeth Lucy remodeled the house in Victorian times. The gardens include a formal parterre, woodland walk and the wider parkland (inspired by 'Capability' Brown), which offer walks with picturesque views across the River Avon. A herd of fallow deer has been in the park since Tudor times.
Herts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing Garden Centre”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Enjoyed our trip round the house, as NT members like to visit different houses when we're in the area, but most impressive at Charlecote Park was the HUGE garden centre selling am amazing array of plants of all types and sizes. Unfortunately we were on the first day of a 4 day trip so couldn't take advantage, but will definitely be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HertsJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    374
    73
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Home of the Lucys”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Having visited Charlecote in the past, we decided a return visit was in order. Not much of the house is on view, but the kitchens were excellent and we were able to watch costumed volunteers making what I think were Welsh cakes. There is quite a lot of parkland, but the walks are not very interesting, although we were able to spot some deer. In the orangery the food on offer was all very tempting. I chose a stilton, apple and walnut flan, but unfortunately when it arrived it appeared to be cheese and tomato but because it was so busy I did not bother returning it. It was god but disappointing as it was not what I was expecting. Charlecote was not as I remembered it and if I was not a NT member and had to pay £10 I would have been disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Day Out with The Grandchildren”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Coughton Court was well worth a visit, lovely house nice gardens plenty of interest in the house and also outside in the gardens. It catered very well for all ages,especially children where in the house there were various things for them to look for which kept their interest alive. The Guides in the house were very well informed and extremely helpful. Outside along the River Avon you could see the Deer roaming freely,and if you did not wish to walk through the grounds you could take a Tractor Ride, which may appeal to younger children. Well worth a visit especially if you are National Trust members.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EddieHunt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HPeaceful walk into the past”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Interesting house , well run by NT. Always something ndifferent to see in the kitchens. Gardens on the banks of the river., wildflower meadow in summer. Walk throught he deer park , deer and sheep abound. Gatehouse shop sells charlecote venison. Tearooms good

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good but could've had more on show”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First day of my road trip and from reading the Guides this seemed ideal. Massive site abs lots of space. Parking good but you need to cross a busy road to enter the site. Majestic Elizabethan exterior on first Viewing. Some stuff to see but only ground floor and part of first floor in view. Guide sheets were too vague and room booklets needed updating. Staff friendly. Needed more toilets. Garden centre was excellent. Amenities were generally good. Beautiful view of River Avon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballymena1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlecote Park also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Charlecote Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing