We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house but disappointing experience”
Review of Charlecote Park

Charlecote Park
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charlecote Park has been home to the Lucy family since the 12th century. Their stories are told throughout the house by their portraits, the objects they collected from around the world and the design influence they had on the house and parkland. See how Mary Elizabeth Lucy remodeled the house in Victorian times. The gardens include a formal parterre, woodland walk and the wider parkland (inspired by 'Capability' Brown), which offer walks with picturesque views across the River Avon. A herd of fallow deer has been in the park since Tudor times.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house but disappointing experience”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I visited Charlecote Park today with a friend. We drove 50 mintues to get here and I must say we were both very disappointed. It doesn't make it clear on the National Trust website that the house is currently being put back to normal after some rewiring work. When we arrived, we found that the prices had been reduced to £6.50 (without gift aid). When we visited the house, there were only a handful of rooms to see (all of the items in a few of the smaller rooms were covered with dust sheets). There is a small garden area, cafe, brewery, carriage store, kitchen and gift shop to see apart from the house. A more appropriate admission fee for this would have been £5 maximum as it took us only about 45 minutes to slowly make our way around the property.

I have noticed from a comment below that all the rooms in the house were open to us today - I would not have been happy if I had visited after the rewiring and had to pay full price! There are no information cards in each room of the house to give you a history of the place, although their are a few bits of info on the paintings there.

Coughton Court national trust property is nearby and in my opinion a much better experience (for the same price). National trust - please make it clear when there is work being done to a property via your website.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank iloveholidays64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlecotePark, Front Office Manager at Charlecote Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We're really sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit to Charlecote. Your feedback is very valuable to us so we can continue to improve on what we offer and also look at our pricing structures in the future. At the moment we are charging our 'winter' prices to reflect the disruption in the house which can be viewed on our website.

If you would like any further information or would like to discuss anything further please do get in touch with us direct - you'll find our contact details on our tripadvisor page and website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    365
    73
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel
Level Contributor
305 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“An enjoyable few hours”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As we are NT members this was a free visit but very well worth it. The house and gardens are lovely and there is a very pleasant coffee shop in the old Orangery
An excellent place to visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hardwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What you would expect from the National Trust”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'd say this is one of their highlight properties. Lots to see inside and out. Pleasant tea rooms and lovely garden centre by the car park.

Helpful?
Thank Dragmykidsround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience and so unexpected.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had never heard of this place until this visit was arranged and, as we arrived we were amazed at the number of parked vehicles. The Tudor/Victorian house is wonderful and beautiful, is easy to visit - one feels a lack of restriction - and is attended by easy going but enthusiastic volunteers. The grounds are lovely, too and the outlook is - wow. A lovely day out.
We visited on the day after their attendance record had been broken and the guides "felt" that the record was again going to be broken on that day but, as a visitor, one did not feel part of a crowd. Spacious but compact describes this attraction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlecotePark, Front Office Manager at Charlecote Park, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of Charlecote - we're glad you enjoyed the visit. Easter was an incredibly busy time for us but we always have such great fun and there is a great atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

As NT members we decided to call in on our way to Banbury and were quite disappointed with what there was to see. There was only a handful of rooms to view and the ones that were open were all full of furniture which was still covered in sheets. If we had been paying visitors we would have had to complain as we were only there for about 30 minutes, we would not recommend this property at all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlecotePark, Front Office Manager at Charlecote Park, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We're sorry to read you were disappointed with your visit to Charlecote.

Our house is deceptively compact inside as out donor family still live here and some of the rooms are occupied by them. We do currently have all of our show rooms open to visitors. Many are still in a stage of change due to the rewiring project that has taken place over the past year. It was a major project and essential to ensure that our electrical wiring met European regulations.

In order to compensate for any disappointment we have reduced our admission prices for the house whilst the works are still being carried out but we also hope that our visitors enjoy the opportunity to see how we care for our collections and get a sneaky peek behind the layers of a grand county house such as ours.

Where possible our conservation team are working in-front of visitors and are happy to talk about the work that is being carried out.

We hope that our house will be back to its 'normal' state in the next few months.

With kind regards,

Ruth Webb
Property Administrator - Charlecote Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlecote Park also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Charlecote Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing