We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem - do not miss it out.”

Lord Leycester Hospital
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.70*
and up
2-Hour Small-Group Walking Tour of Warwick
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - do not miss it out.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We did not visit this until some friends visited us and asked to go - we did not see the attraction. We could not have been more wrong. I prefer this place to Warwick Castle!

The staff are fantastic - friendly, informative in an interesting way and good rapport with children. Great sense of humour, and really knowledgeable - think David Attenborough. There is a really interesting church - I wish I had found it before we got married, we would have considered it as a venue. The Victorian gardens are gorgeous and the cafe is good too.

Just go. You wont regret it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyGirl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    69
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

What an amazing place to go and defiantly one to visit if you come to Warwick, ideal for looking around the gardens, the cafe, learning about the history of the hospital and warwick itself, also a lovely venue for weddings and special occasions as one of my friends had a wedding there and the day was so special it seemed like a fairytale!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank annie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Definitely Warwick's Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Never really knew what lay behind the beautiful facade of the Lord Leycester Hospital and I have to say I did think for many years that it was a Museum to Medicine! In fact, it houses a wonderful home for elderly soldiers not unlike The Royal Hospital Chelsea but obviously on a much smaller scale. The history and tradition and peace and tranquility to be found in this small corner of Warwick is unmatched. If you've not visited yet, make sure you do! It's well worth it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ploughman's delight”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Best ploughman's lunch I have ever had along with hearty soup and the most amazing cakes. Lovely staff and really relaxing cuppa.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch in the Brethren's Kitchen”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I visited on a rare sunny day and had the ploughman's lunch - what a treat to see a small place that is willing to try the unusual, on this occasion it was a goat's cheese cheddar - lovely.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1KenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Leycester Hospital also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Lord Leycester Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing