We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, but took up the whole day”
Review of Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.29*
and up
Warwick Castle: Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a totally electrifying day out at Britain’s ultimate castle. Where you can immerse yourself in a thousand years of jaw-dropping history – come rain or shine.Where ancient myths and spell-binding tales set your imagination alight, and your hair on end. Where princesses are pampered and maidens are wooed, as winners become true heroes and losers are confined to dark, dank dungeons to be forgotten for eternity. It could only be Warwick Castle.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing, but took up the whole day”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have a Merlin annual pass so this was on our hit list. Thankfully parking is included with the pass so that wasn't an issue. I'd really been looking forward to going and read all the hype so was expecting quite a lot, we managed to get there on the last day of the Christmas decorations, it was cold and rainy but that didn't overly bother us. I thought that it would appear more festive but it didn't. All the staff in costume were friendly enough playing their parts. The Merlin Tower was alright but I don't think it's worth paying the extra.
The princess tower was advertised for younger children upto 8 years (my son is 5) and I wondered why they were asking if we were sure we wanted to go in, I thought this seemed quite sexist as they only asked us and not others with young girls. As it happens it was a very 'girly' experience of not very bright princess looking for prince in shining armour story, and that's all it was a story. As it happens he really enjoyed it and his 18 month old sister did too, I think it would be one to take the little ones to while the older ones go in the dungeon!
The highlight of the day was the duelling gentleman show, this was done with a good sense of humour for both children and adults and there was the added drama with booing and cheering as well. Well done to them.
If you walk across the walls allow plenty of time and take a drink, it's one way and an awful lot of steps, it's worth it for the amazing views though.
We took our buggy and quite quickly realised we weren't going to use it for most of the day as most places were inaccessible (castle gives it away really) and there weren't many places to leave it, especially in the rain. As it wasn't busy we parked it in the one undercover buggy park and left it there for the day and just used a carrier, thankfully we'd taken it with us.
I'd visit again in better weather to give it another chance as the weather did get colder and windier as the day went on, we gave up on the bird show as it was really windy and they only had one bird out, again I don't know whether this was because of the weather.
Overall it left an impression on us and we want to go back as we're sure we've missed loads but not entirely sure what. If you're going to go don't pay full price as there are always offers and I think I'd possibly look at the two day special offers (I think it was 2nd day for £1) so you're not rushing as there wasn't much on when we went and we were still there until closing. Overall a very mixed feeling.

Needs better signposting for accessible routes and lifts were difficult to figure out in the watermill (couldn't get the doors open for ages)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hugjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of your Christmas visit to Warwick Castle hugjen, we’re pleased to hear you generally enjoyed your day and are hoping to return in the future. We’re pleased to hear about how friendly you found all of our costume characters and that the Duelling Gents fighting show was the highlight of your day. We’re happy to hear your children enjoyed the Princess Tower although it’s disappointing to hear of your experience entering this area and so I have passed your comments onto the relevant attraction manager. It’s good to hear you found a convenient undercover buggy parking area here; we are currently looking to add more buggy parking areas around site. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps your little ones would enjoy our Mike the Knight or Horrible Histories events?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,519
    2,984
    1,451
    688
    515
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spoilt by prejudice.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We visited warwick castle last summer. My 12 year old who is severely autistic was laughed at by to kiosk attendants. When speaking with the management I was informed that this could not possibly have happened and they refused to take any further. Somewhat medieval attitude. Also, whereas a number of attractions within the castle used to be free now there is a fee charged for everything and the old dungeons have been turned in to some sort of cinema ( for which there is an additional fee!) Prejudice and expensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 92AnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear 92AnnB, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had during your visit and would like to discuss this with you in more detail. Please refer to the ‘Contact Us’ page of our website to get in touch. We hope to hear from you soon so we can investigate further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Good Day Out”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We visited the Castle twice last year mainly because we ran out of time to see all the attractions, the day we went the birds of prey were on display which was incredible to watch, on our second occasion there was a re-enactment group showing their display of fighting skills.
The visit to the dungeons is one not too miss, however don't be surprised if your children are close to the minimum age for entry that they want to leave before they go past the first level. The actors (as in all the displays) make this a scary and very enjoyable experience.
We booked ours on a 2 for 1 ticket which makes it a cheaper experience.
Well worth a visit and look out for cheap deals

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 186424David_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your great five star review of your two recent days out at Warwick Castle 186424David_M! We’re pleased to hear you were impressed with our actors and their scaring skills within the Castle Dungeon. We’re also happy to hear your two visits allowed you to make the most of our varied entertainment schedule which changes throughout the year. Thank you again for your feedback (and tips for future visitors!) and we hope you’ll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great day out, lots to see, silly parking charge!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Warwick Castle is a great day out - even on a wet, chilly January afternoon!

For those on a tight budget, there is lots to see without spending additional money on the Dungeons and the Princess Tower. By the time that you've looked around the King Maker exhibition, the House, the Chapel, the Gaol, the Mound, the various towers and ramparts, the gardens, the conservatory (etc.) there genuinely won't be a lot of time left!

The exhibitions cover historical periods from the fifteenth century until the modern day and all are really interesting.

However.......the high parking charges (£10 / £6 - depending on how far you want to walk) are silly. If anyone in the management team at Warwick Castle is reading this, please reconsider this unnecessarily punitive charge.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Simon O, thank you for reviewing Warwick Castle and for posting some great photos of your day here. We’re thrilled to hear you found our extensive history to be interesting and you were impressed by the quantity of things to see and do here. However, we’re disappointed to read your thoughts on our parking charges and will certainly make sure your comments are passed to the relevant managers for consideration. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“day trip to Warwick Castle”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Brilliant castle. Definitely a must see. Worth spending the day, family friendly - even has a princess tower :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello there Silvia F, thanks for your lovely five star review of Warwick Castle. We’re thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your day and were particularly impressed to find we have a Princess Tower! We hope you will be able to visit again next time you’re in the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwick Castle also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Warwick Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing