We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Day Out”
Review of Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.71*
and up
Warwick Castle: Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 48 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a totally electrifying day out at Britain’s ultimate castle. Where you can immerse yourself in a thousand years of jaw-dropping history – come rain or shine.Where ancient myths and spell-binding tales set your imagination alight, and your hair on end. Where princesses are pampered and maidens are wooed, as winners become true heroes and losers are confined to dark, dank dungeons to be forgotten for eternity. It could only be Warwick Castle.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Good Day Out”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We visited the Castle twice last year mainly because we ran out of time to see all the attractions, the day we went the birds of prey were on display which was incredible to watch, on our second occasion there was a re-enactment group showing their display of fighting skills.
The visit to the dungeons is one not too miss, however don't be surprised if your children are close to the minimum age for entry that they want to leave before they go past the first level. The actors (as in all the displays) make this a scary and very enjoyable experience.
We booked ours on a 2 for 1 ticket which makes it a cheaper experience.
Well worth a visit and look out for cheap deals

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 186424David_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your great five star review of your two recent days out at Warwick Castle 186424David_M! We’re pleased to hear you were impressed with our actors and their scaring skills within the Castle Dungeon. We’re also happy to hear your two visits allowed you to make the most of our varied entertainment schedule which changes throughout the year. Thank you again for your feedback (and tips for future visitors!) and we hope you’ll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,638
    3,061
    1,471
    700
    520
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great day out, lots to see, silly parking charge!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Warwick Castle is a great day out - even on a wet, chilly January afternoon!

For those on a tight budget, there is lots to see without spending additional money on the Dungeons and the Princess Tower. By the time that you've looked around the King Maker exhibition, the House, the Chapel, the Gaol, the Mound, the various towers and ramparts, the gardens, the conservatory (etc.) there genuinely won't be a lot of time left!

The exhibitions cover historical periods from the fifteenth century until the modern day and all are really interesting.

However.......the high parking charges (£10 / £6 - depending on how far you want to walk) are silly. If anyone in the management team at Warwick Castle is reading this, please reconsider this unnecessarily punitive charge.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Simon O, thank you for reviewing Warwick Castle and for posting some great photos of your day here. We’re thrilled to hear you found our extensive history to be interesting and you were impressed by the quantity of things to see and do here. However, we’re disappointed to read your thoughts on our parking charges and will certainly make sure your comments are passed to the relevant managers for consideration. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“day trip to Warwick Castle”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Brilliant castle. Definitely a must see. Worth spending the day, family friendly - even has a princess tower :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello there Silvia F, thanks for your lovely five star review of Warwick Castle. We’re thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your day and were particularly impressed to find we have a Princess Tower! We hope you will be able to visit again next time you’re in the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“epic!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I visited this castle in January on a exceptionally sunny Sunday and it was perfect. It was not crowded so one could really feel like being back in time. The castle itself is huge and there is plenty of things to see and do. we saw a birds of prey show that was absolutely captivating. the view from the towers is stunning. its a place where you get never bored and I would go there again and again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanuela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful five star review of Warwick Castle Emanuela F, it’s great to hear you felt totally transported back in time during your visit! We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our Flight of the Eagles show so much. The Towers and Ramparts walk certainly do provide stunning views of the surrounding Warwickshire countryside so we’re happy to hear you were able to enjoy this view. We look forward to welcoming you back to Britain’s Ultimate Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Castle, expensive and disappointing in parts though”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We visited the castle on a showery cold January weekday.

To start we couldn't even find the car park due to quite a misleading sign. After eventually locating the car park, we were rather shocked to see it would cost £10.00. We knew there was a second car park further down the road, however a cherry picker was blocking this way, so we decided to suck it up after the long drive.

The admission was expensive (unfortunately our 2-4-1 vouchers had expired in 2013 and we didn't book in advance for savings). Two adults, a 3 year old with Merlin Tower tickets cost just shy of £40.

We started our adventure, with a trip up the towers and ramparts... The tower staircases are very tight, and some without handrails and as the trail is one way you really need to commit yourself to quite a physical trip.

We enjoyed the "King Maker" exhibit which was very detailed and immersive.

Next we caught the end of a birds of prey show, which was ok, though I have been to better shows at historical places/stately homes.

We then awaited our Merlin Tower experience (scoff). Sadly as others have already stated, it was beyond disappointing, and mostly cringeworthy throughout as it focused mainly on audience participation and was just another money spinner with photo opportunity. Definitely one to miss.

We then decided to walk around the grounds, seeing all the peacocks in their garden and the trebuchet across the bridge. We got some lovely photos of the castle from here.

We had a quick walk around the watermill and then headed back up top. We then visited the rose garden and the playground. The playground was well equipped and maintained.

We finished our day looking through the royal section of the castle, and seeing all the stately rooms and chapel followed by a walk up the mound to see the sunset.

Overall it was great to experience the castles history and beautiful grounds, however it was overshadowed by the price and commercialisation of the Merlin Tower.

We didn't visit the dungeons due to having a toddler in the party. It is advised as unsuitable for under 10's.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsRinona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of Warwick Castle MrsRinona. It’s disappointing to hear you struggled to find our car park. Unfortunately there were some road works in Warwick at the time of your visit which did affect the usual route to our car park. We’re happy to hear you generally enjoyed soaking up our history and exploring our beautiful grounds and gardens, including heading right down to River Island for some fantastic views of the Castle’s South Front. It’s disappointing to hear you wouldn't recommend Merlin: The Dragon Tower and I have passed your feedback on to our Attractions and Shows team for consideration. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwick Castle also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Warwick Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing