We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.09*
and up
Warwick Castle: Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a totally electrifying day out at Britain’s ultimate castle. Where you can immerse yourself in a thousand years of jaw-dropping history – come rain or shine.Where ancient myths and spell-binding tales set your imagination alight, and your hair on end. Where princesses are pampered and maidens are wooed, as winners become true heroes and losers are confined to dark, dank dungeons to be forgotten for eternity. It could only be Warwick Castle.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent the whole day here. It was fascinating. Well worth the trip.
Staff were very informative and very helpfull. The falconrey display was superb.!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,470
    2,958
    1,438
    683
    512
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Theme Park rather than historical castle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very expensive - £62 for 2 adults and very theme park - hadn't realised its owned by the waxworks family - should have guessed by the number of waxwork figures everywhere! Having visited a number of castles and places of interest this year -Windsor and the Brighton Pavillion of particular note - this one was disappointing as an adult. Perhaps if we had been between 7 - 16 we might have found it more interesting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably better to visit in season.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a nice day together but the hidden charges were disappointing (£6 to park the car, £5 for the children to fire some arrows and the princess tower seems to only operate to take a photo of the children to make more money when they sell it to you) and most of the activities seemed to be seasonal and so not in operation in November.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 8824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a disappointment..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having visited the castle 10 years ago, we were shocked to see how horribly commercialised the site has become. We regret not having read the reviews before getting stuck in the £6 car park. Please don't consider paying to go to the Merlin's Dragon Tower. The Dungeon was average and not scary. The only high points were the castle itself, the lovely views from the ramparts, and the outstanding guide we ran into when in the Great Hall. Sadly at the end of the day were the highlights worth the £130 for our family day out? Absolutely not.

Helpful?
3 Thank Walshharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First time in a castle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our first time in a real castle and it didn't disappoint. Warwick Castle is magnificent, even on a day packed with tourists - it's so vast, you're not queuing or cramped by others.

There are plenty of staff on hand to guide you, lots of reading material as you wander through at your own pace, taking in the many wonderful antiques, wax works, and other displays. The views over the river from the top floor of the castle are magnificent, and even though I didn't go up the tower myself, my husband did and loved it. It's over 500 steep steps, but worth it for the experience, views and photo opportunities.

There are also plenty of great souvenirs to purchase (we bought the bow and arrow) and Harry Potter wand in a box.

We'll definitely be coming back for a second look in the future. A great day out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diepenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwick Castle also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Warwick Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing