We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch for hidden costs”
Review of Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.32*
and up
Warwick Castle: Admission Ticket
More Info
$34.06*
and up
Warwick Castle: Admission and Cream Tea Package
More Info
$119.04*
and up
Stratford, The Cotswolds, Oxford and Warwick Castle Tour from London
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a totally electrifying day out at Britain’s ultimate castle. Where you can immerse yourself in a thousand years of jaw-dropping history – come rain or shine.Where ancient myths and spell-binding tales set your imagination alight, and your hair on end. Where princesses are pampered and maidens are wooed, as winners become true heroes and losers are confined to dark, dank dungeons to be forgotten for eternity. It could only be Warwick Castle.
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“watch for hidden costs”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

WE went with my two elderley sisters, who are not able to walk far so we were quite supprised to see it was a long hilly walk to the castle, I say surprised because nowhere on the ads or at the car park did it say anything about this, in fact we saw a poor man struggling with 2 crutches to get there.
When we did arrive, we found the price as senior citizens not too bad at £16.50 each although that was just to the main rooms, dungeons extra £7.50 each and then the mount extra £3.50.
The stairs were quite easy to get up so we saw most of the main parts and the bits we did see were good and we would not have missed them for the world but please beware if you have kids take a picnic to save some money and bank on about £25 for each child even with concessions

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,744
    3,109
    1,490
    706
    530
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very expensive.”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had an ok day but very expensive, even if you have a buy one get one free coupon.
Merlin the dragon tower was poor, however the Castle Dungeon was good, lovely grounds and views.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Knocker874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not sure it is worth the staggeringly expensive entrance fee”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

As an adult the basic price is £21 - it is not a cheap day out, yet the attraction feels cheap. If you want to go to the Dungeon that will be extra and then Merlins Tower is extra too, oh yes and don't forget £5 for the car parking. They have well and truly sold Warwicks soul - its a theme park and perhaps part of my disappointment was that I wasn't expecting that, saying that I did enjoy the exhibitions that came as part of my ticket - The kingmaker is very good, so are the state rooms and banquet hall. I went mid week, off season and it wasn't too busy, I dread to think what it must be like at a weekend or in the holidays.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank TourismProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day out! Improved from 10 years ago :)”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I last went to Warwick castle 10 years ago. Was a good and interesting day. Visited with family (girlfriend and 10 year old girl) a couple of weeks ago and had a great day. The main improvement are the shows and displays running about every half hour - hour throughout the day. Falconry, Trebouchet (sp? :)) , sword fighting, jousting, etc. with the actors being on site and chatty all day (swords are heavy! :) ).

The new dungeon experience was been london dungeoned up, so if you've been to edinburgh, london dungeons, pretty much exactly the same thing. Was very claustraphobic though, so was a bit of a trial for a 10 year girl (and her mum), I was in trouble when we got through. :)

Merlin was a big let down, queue for 15 mins (even though you have a time slot), small chemist shop sketch and rather dodgy CA dragon with interactive voice over (nothing like john hurt). Was funny and rather naff rather than a proper 'experience'.

Overall though , fantastic venue as ever, great shows throughout the day, they've improved the gardens so you can have a quiet sit dow, food is ok, and the main house is fantastic as ever.

This is not a cheap attraction but book on line to avoid queues and get cheaper price, and we happily spent 11am-5pm here.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mebeandog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fun way to spend 3 hours or more...”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Warwick Castle is definitely worth visiting. There are many picture-taking oportunities both outside and inside the Castle (including knights in armour and weapons of all kinds to see inside). Activities include Jousting (depending on the time of year), Merlin: the Dragon Tower, and the Flight of the Eagles show. The Castle Dungeon was my favorite - it is a must see and a genuinely creepy experience. Good for visitors of all ages.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank UKmatthew14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwick Castle also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Warwick Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing