We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So ridiculously bad that we had a hilarious weekend.”
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King's Head Inn
Ranked #18 of 23 Warwick B&B and Inns
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So ridiculously bad that we had a hilarious weekend.”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Having been very excited about a weekend away after a stressful month we were dissapointed when we arrived to see that the pub had little atmosphere what so ever however the greeting we got and service from the staff was excellent I have to say. What really lets the pub down is the rooms that they offer. On arrival I was dubious as they walked us upstairs to the room for us to see that all the ceilings and walls were wonky not a problem until you close your room door and and the gap underneath the door starts off as a centimetre and ends as two inches, we had to use the throw from the bed to cover the gap to stop the draft and light getting in and to stop people putting their hand under it, we had asked for a four poster and they had overbooked and put us in a (not so luxury) four poster room. The four poster bed was what could only be described as bunk beds with the top slats removed. The mattress was rock hard and during the night you got a lovely surprise when you rolled over and a lovely spring stuck in the side of you. my boyfriend was to big to sleep in it and had to sleep curled up all night.

On arrival inspection of the room I went to see what the bathroom was like, as you sat down on the toilet you noticed a door used to be infront of you and was just filled in so half the time you expected some one to walk in on you while you were in the bathroom. The hot tap was coming away from the sink and once you turned it on you could not turn it off plus the toilet would not flush properly. The central heating was absolutely boilng so had to try and keep the window open however you are only given a wooden block to do this as the windows are so old. The icing on the cake was the vase underneath the fireplace which was full of soot and fag packets - nice!

On the Friday night I had convinced myself that if I did not enjoy the day in Warwick tomorrow we would leave early as it was horrible, fortunately we did have a great day out in warwick and if one thing is to be said about this pub it is that if you want to make sure you see the whole town - stay here as nothing makes you want to go out more.

On the Satruday night we got in a bit earlier and decided to watch a bit of telly and had a great laugh when we realised that the bloke staying in the room next to us was watching the same programme as we could hear him laughing in time with us, we had an even bigger laugh the next morning while I was brushing my teeth and could hear a guy farting and going to the toilet next door.

So ridiculous that we left feeling like we had never laughed so much. I must add finally that breakfast was lovely and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - the rooms and building judt need some TLC and you would have a brilliant hotel. Unfortunately at the moment I would not return or recommend however we did have a weekend that we will always laugh about and never forget.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osvaldo V, Owner at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We are a small family run Pub/Inn and on occasions the pub is quiet but equally on other occasions it can be quite busy with a vibrant atmosphere.

The building is over 400 years old so the walls, ceilings and floors are slightly "wonky" and this is a fact that we actually advertise as it adds to the character of the Inn.

We apologise that the Four-poster room that you booked was over booked so we offered you an alternate room at a heavily discounted rate.

As the building is over 400 years old a lot of redesigning had to be done to create the rooms upstairs so you will find old doors filled in with its original oak beams to ensure that the buildings character is not lost. There is no danger of anyone walking through one of these "filled in door ways" as it is clear that they are no longer in use, with no hinges, handles or gaps, and even have shelves and handrails on them.

Once again we apologise that your stay did not live up to your expectations but if we had been made aware of any of your concerns we would have endeavoured to rectify any problems.

The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    45
    21
    17
    14
See reviews for
14
61
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had two rooms booked here for business, after a 3 hour drive and a long day at work we arrived. After looking at the hotel website the rooms looked lovely and cosy and decorated nicely. What we were greeted with tired, shabby rooms. The carpets were filthy, the windows needed replacing, mine rattled in the wind constantly and the breeze was so strong it blew the voile curtains inside the room. The light switch in my room had what I can only describe as years of dirt on it and was black apart from switch itself, I guess this part was cleaned by other peoples fingers when turning on the light. The worst part came when we looked at our bedding, filthy black marks on the pillow case, the facing part of the pillow case. The whole place smelt like a deep fat fryer and things were sticky. I stay away a lot on business and am happy for basic accommodation, such as a Travelodge, they are basic, sometimes tired but the sheets and rooms are always clean. In the end my colleague and I spent 30 minutes in our rooms, the whole time spent finding an alternative hotel to escape to. We were lucky and found one, the Holiday Inn which was only £10 more per room This hotel is NOT at all what it appears on the website, overpriced and disgusting, avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lottiehpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warwick hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We recently stayed at the kings head and had a lovely time! I'm not sure what others are on about. The staff were super friendly, couldn't do enough to help. Told us about all the local attractions etc. Food was fab, home cooked by the italian family, we had some with a special diet with us and they just rustled something up for them and it was fantastic! And so so good value for money! Room was lovely, we had the four poster room eight and loved it! Having a car park in warwick town centre that was free was a bonus as a lot of hotels in the area don't have them and you have to pay. Locals in pub we're lovely and also very helpful. Our stay was great and we'd def go back...intact we've already booked in for our next stay! :-)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We went there for our anniversery, disappointed as no atmosphere. the rooms were tied and shabby (our room had damp and we couldn't turn off the hot tap. lots of noise from the road. Four post bed was a joke and the whole building smells of cooking oil. on the plus side the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Chose the King's Head because of on-site parking and ease of access to Warwick Castle.
There is guest-only parking, but a very tight squeeze; however, parking is at a premium in old towns like Warwick. Staff were friendly, breakfast was okay and the bed room adequate.
The hotel is in need of an intense make-over; everything is rather tired and worn.
The shower stall in our room was tiny and, the water being incredibly hot, rather dangerous since one could bump against the control and be subjected to a sudden cascade of scalding hot water. I realize that the building is old, but the improvements that are needed could be achieved at very little cost --- such as replacing the caulking in the shower stall and cleaning out the extracter fan in the bathroom. The beds felt as though they had been subjected to many years of use and abuse, and are over due for replacement. The furniture in the bedroom could well have been home made, and presented a challenge should one actually dare to attempt to both open and then close a drawer.
Although the owners are trying their best to make a go of this business, I find it a shame that their lack of attention to some of the finer points would preclude me from recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truereviewer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We went here to meet up and spend time with friends from a previous holiday . I feel I write honest and straight forward reviews and tell it how it is so here go's.
First Impression
walked through the door from the car park and the first thing that hit me was the smell of grease....not just cooking but greasy cooking and the passageway was tiled and felt slippy....nothing a good steam clean could not sort out. We entered the bar and were greeted by friendly staff. We were shown to our room which was no 3 on the first floor.
Room
Very clean if not on the small side....the web site gives an overall impression that the place is bigger. We had a shower, no bath again small but this is an old building so you are limited how you can adapt space. One set of friends had a room on the 3rd floor...no 8 that was big with a large bathroom and four poster. Our room was facing the main road so there was traffic noise but the bed was very comfortable.
Food
we ate there the first night it was adequate but nothing exciting. Breakfast was ok but tasted processed.
The Bar
Drinks reasonable price, but with no warning they stop serving at 11pm???????????????? We manged to talk the guy into another but we had to take it to our room!!
Overall
Friendly staff, knowledgeble of the local area. We had a lovely time with friends Maggi, dave, Elaine and Damien, Warwick is a beautiful area.
Tip
Visit some of the many open gardens....free or donation and in a good cause. If you want to stay up past 11pm take your own drink and retire to your room to carry the party on Ha Ha

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uptowngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

A bit rough around the edges (as pub accommodation should be!) but a nice gastro pub run by a very friendly, helpful family. Happy to recommend and would stay there again. Great location for Warwick (walked to the castle) and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanPMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.3 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#3 of 23 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Property: King's Head Inn
Address: 39 Saltisford, Warwick CV34 4TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing