We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit Dubious initially.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honiley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honiley Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
flintshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit Dubious initially.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went to the Honily Court Hotel this weekend on a groupon voucher offer. After reading the hotel reviews on here last week i was slightly panic stricken about going and actually contemplated not bothering. I am now glad that i went on a 'sink or swim' basis. The hotel is in need of a little tlc, granted, with some of the window frames as you walk across the car park needing repair or painting, but when you get inside its nowhere near what some people are saying about it, the reception area is light and airy and spotlessly clean, the reception staff were very pleasant and offered us and another couple complimentary tea/coffee as our rooms weren't ready. After a short wait of around 15 minutes we were issued our key and given directions to get to our room. On walking into the room i was pleasantly surprised to find its decor very nice, again light and airy and also quite spacious. It was immaculately clean as was the bathroom, there was a full complimentary set of tea/coffee and biscuits etc, the only downfall was a slight staining on the ceiling by the entrance due to what could possibly have been a leak from the roof due to being on the top floor. As i see it, this cannot possibly be painted straight away as it needs to dry out, i certainly didn't have an issue with it, i am sure they will get around to painting it at some point. We ate out locally Saturday night so i don't know what the restaurant was like but we did come back to the bar quite late on in the evening to find it shut, but the gentleman on reception kindly came and opened up to serve us drinks and was very pleasant. We had the buffet breakfast this morning which was perfect, we were asked immediately upon walking into the breakfast room if we wanted tea or coffee and it was promptly delivered piping hot and enough of it to keep us going all day, the food trays were regularly filled up and piping hot and considering it was a fry up there wasn't an ounce of grease to be seen.....i actually went up twice as it was so nice. On checking out the receptionist was very pleasant. The staff are constantly on the go and i do feel a bit thin on the ground but they work like trojans from what we saw to try to make your stay enjoyable, i feel some of these reviews were slightly misleading as i had a completely different experience to the one i expected....i thought we might end up at the nearest travel lodge after reading the reviews on here. Im glad i gave them a chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa70Flintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    184
    167
    104
    121
See reviews for
141
333
10
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on the 16th April for just one night and to be honest I'm glad it was just the one night. From the outside the hotel looks tired and in need of face lift. This opinion didn't change as we entered the hotel and approached the reception desk. The carpet was dirty and the ambiance not what would be expected of a 4* hotel.
We were informed our room wasn't ready and to be fair, we were a little early, but it would have been nice to have offered for us to leave our bags or perhaps a drink while we waited. However, as neither were on offered, we opted to visit Warwick for some lunch and to come back later.
On our return, the receptionist had changed. The new receptionist hadn't been told of our earlier arrival and she had to check if our room was ready. On having this confirmed, we were given our key and an explanation where our room was. As this was up two flights of stairs and neither my husband or I are in the first flush of youth, I was surprised we were not directed to a lift. Nevertheless, on finding our room, unlike some comments made on this site, we did find it very clean and comfortable, although it was clear they had previously had flood problems and the ceiling just inside the room door had the wall paper hanging down. The bed was huge and we had good nights sleep.
Unfortunately, the restaurant and bar food and drinks left a lot to be desired. After freshening up we went down to the bar, planning to have a couple of drinks before getting something to eat. Two of the four 'beer' pumps were having problems and the lager my husband had wasn't chilled, as a lager should be. I asked for a gin and pump tonic, but could only have bottled. Not the end of the world, but again not 4* service. We asked if we could see the menu for both the restaurant and the bar. The restaurant offered only a set 3 course meal with no other choices. As for the bar menu, it was more like a snack cafe choice. The sandwich and portion of chips we decided on, whilst not being over charged, lacked the expectations quality of a 4* hotel.
Breakfast next morning was adequate, a good choice of cooked food bacon, sausage, eggs etc but for those who preferred a more continental style such as myself, it was totally lacking.
No crusty bread, ham, cheeses, :(
On a more positive note the staff were very friendly and tried their best to be helpful, but I feel they're flogging a dead horse if the owners of this hotel don't stop the rot it is sliding into.
We stayed with a discount voucher, but we certainly wouldn't have been willing to pay the usual going rate for this hotel. It competes at best with a Travel Lodge or similar, but it is definitely not 4*

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freyasgran2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warwick hotels

Coventry, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked afternoon tea to celebrate my daughter's birthday. We wanted to try somewhere different but really should have gone to Coombe Abbey or Ettington Park. There was nothing special about our experience and my daughter was very upset. No table cloths, or nice crockery, just formica type tables and chairs with rocky legs. The cardinal sin in our minds was whipped cream and not clotted cream with the scones. There were five of us in our party and the plate of sandwiches really looked like it was for 4 so we asked for extras which took an age to arrive, they had the nerve to try and charge us for them! Really at £13.95 per head they need to take a look at how some of the other establishments operate because it really was over the top.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Well, I certainly don't agree with all the negative comments on this hotel! I must have stayed in a different hotel!

Myself and my wife visited here for a night on April 26th. We arrived around 5pm and everything was in order. Room ready, keys handed over, Good information about services and the beakfast which was included for £33!!!!!!!! (What a deal)!

We went to the room and the room it exactly the same as advertised in their pictures. It was spotlessly clean, fresh linen, new towels and all the facilities as advertised.

3 course meal was excellent and an added touch of madness from an Italian waiter!!.

Bar facilities were also good.
Breakfast was continental which also included a nice cooked English Breakfast..

Please book there as I'm sure you wont be disappointed, I wasnt and we will definately be booking again. 15 minute drive to Stratford Upon Avon which was a lovely day out!

Room Tip: Room 63 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Originally came here 3 years ago and was fairly please with the standard of accommodation, returned again for a ladies weekend in mid-April and couldn't believe how far their standard had fallen!

Arrived at 4pm in the afternoon and checked into our room only to find that the bed hasn't been made, drink stain on the bedside cabinet, bathroom towels were damp, room looked like it had a water leak through the ceiling at some point recently - paint crumbling off etc.... Room smelt damp, tiles on bathroom floor were coming off, awful!

Went back down to reception and asked for them to change the room, manager took us to the last room they had available which was a twin, walked in, same crap - bed not made, tea still in the mugs etc... Told cleaner had to rush off. Got placed back in the original room but they didn't offer anything else until I asked if they could at least change the bed, 15 mins later went back to the room and found that they had made the bed and not changed the bed, drink stain still present, towels still damp - shocking!!!

After our dinner and dance finished at 12pm we escaped into the night and drove 2 hours home to our own bed!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickster2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Me and my husband went to stay there a week ago and I have to say it was the worst hotel I have ever stay.The room was badly decorated and very run down,the bathroom floor was unstable ,bed was undone looked like someone just got up from it on the table dirty coffee cups where left etc.Me and my husband seeing the room in such a state went back to the reception asking for different room unfortunately the room they offered was even more dirty and undone than the first one.We end up leaving the hotel in the middle of the night.My advice to other people don't stay in this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilalula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on 14th April to spend a couple of days in Warwick. The reception staff were extremely friendly and checked us in quickly.
When we got to our room, we found that there was an awful smell which had come from the bathroom. When looking into this further we found that the drains were blocked causing the awful sewage smell. After letting reception know, a member of staff came and poured some bleach down the drain - however there was no offer to move us to a different room!
The room was shabby, the windows were not secure and there were cracks in the walls. The bathroom was not very clean - rust around the bath tub and hairs in the bath.
The bed was huge, and we had a very good nights sleep.
We went out that evening for dinner - and after seeing the breakfast I am glad that we did choose to eat out!
We arrived at breakfast 20 minutes before it was meant to end. Every table was dirty and none of them had been cleared. We were sat at a dirty table - which the waitress did not even wipe clean and were told that we were late to breakfast - even though we arrive 20 minutes before it finished.
Nothing was left for breakfast - except for some dried up beans and mushrooms. There was no juice. After complaining we did receive a new breakfast cooked fresh from the kitchen, but I must admit it was not very nice and we found ourselves eating as soon as we left in a nearby cafe.
Overall, the hotel is okay if you are looking for a quick stop or just a bed for the night however we will not be going back. It is not a 4* hotel, more like a low 3*.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linky1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
1.5 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
6.0 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#15 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
5.6 mi away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#9 of 13 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honiley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honiley Court Hotel

Property: Honiley Court Hotel
Address: Meer End Rd | Honiley, Warwick CV8 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Honiley Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rural location, just 15 minutes from the M40, Warwick and Coventry, this charming 16th Century Hotel offers scenic views, modern dining and free Wi-Fi and parking.With an emphasis on comfort and relaxation, each of these 62 spacious en-suite rooms have been individually decorated and furnished in a warm, inviting style. Ideal for business and pleasure, every room features Wi-Fi access, TV, hairdryer, room service and tea & coffee making facilities. Guests can choose from Double, Twin and Executive options, with many offering scenic views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Honiley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing