We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than Typical” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Less than Typical”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice location if you are going to see the sights in the area, an issue i would have with not just this location but all the Express sites we stayed in England is the lack of necessities provided in the rooms, ie soap, shampoo etc. If you are a travelling Canadian to these locations remember to bring your personal items, you can expect a dispensing unit on the shower wall that is your shampoo and body wash combined, room amenities are more consistent with a room at the ymca and are not comparable to what you would expect at a Canadian HIE, so go prepared. Having said that i would add that the mattresses are old and sagging and hard to get a nights rest on. I had 2 rooms booked for our stay one for 2 and one for 3 persons. The latter was unprepared on arrival for the 3rd guest. My daughter called the front desk to request bedding for the sofa bed (willing to make it herself) just needed the materials and was advised by the lady she spoke with that her lack of proper booking was the cause of the problem. The room was booked appropriately. Lesson in customer service "don't blame the customer " for your shortcomings. Even if they were in error. I will say i went down to the front desk to express my concerns where i encountered a young on duty manager who behaved professionally and considerately to resolve the issue. I am sure he made the bed up himself, Wish i could recall your name now as i would say thank you. Do not expect acknowledgement or consideration of your priority club status here. Breakfast mediocre bar service great(managed by the same young man earlier mentioned) beautiful grounds at the site. As a Canadian and experienced traveler it would be impossible for anything to ruin my vacation. Would i stay again? To be fair if the operation were tightened up a bit (find your strengths and promote them) yes. Otherwise no we would not stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mussell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Warwick. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed the grounds the hotel has to offer and our location.

It is disappointing we did not deliver in all areas on this occasion we will be sharing your feedback with our team to ensure we make the necessary improvements to make sure we achieve the high standards of service which our valued guests expect from us.

We appreciate such candid comments we know you have many choices when it comes to lodgings and we do hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the future to restore your faith in our hotel and our brand as a whole.

Kind regards

Claire Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    418
    159
    43
    19
See reviews for
281
328
31
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a 'Priority Club Member I prefer, wherever possible, to book HIE as they are a known quantity and quality. The old sore goes; "Once you've seen one ..." And this hotel was no different, except subtly. The room was good and comfortable, the beds well appointed, the bathroom did what it says on the tin, but there are one or two niggles;

Hotels never put sufficient tea/coffee and why no biscuits?
The breakfast was a tad on the desultory side with sausage and scrambled egg plus a fair spread of cold stuff.

You get what you pay for and this hotel certainly lived up to that epithet. The staff were very good, its just those tiny niggles that would make it perfect.

Room Tip: I had ground floor rear (room 113) - away from the M40 so it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed only for one night but found it more than adequate for our needs. Check in staff were very friendly and helpful allowing all our party to be together :) Rooms were air conditioned and spacious. Bed was a little on the soft side but everything was spotless and there was plenty of hot water in the morning. The reason I did not give a 5 rating was the breakfast which was disappointing. There were so many empty sections where it had not been filled up and a very limited choice especially the hot section where it was sausage, beans and scrambled egg only. .Would I stay here again ? Yes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Check in was fine, service was fine.
Room was good and clean. Bed was comfortable. Air conditioning in the room, great for the hot weather.
However, some tw@t bang on our door in the middle of the night and ran off. I couldnt sleep after that. Though, not the hotel fault.
Breakfast selection was poor though, with only sausage, baked beans and scrambled eggs for the hot selection.
Still, it was good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CK242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My partner and I spent two days at this hotel on 6th and 7th June. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel and rooms are very modern and comfortable and the hotel is minutes away from Warwick Town Centre and located very close to the Motorway network for exploring. Breakfast is a buffet style which was good and served for a long period so easy to avoid the morning rush. Parking is cheap at £3.00 per day payable direct to the Hotel who validate your card so you can come and go as you please. Plenty of Parking too. Well worth a stay

Room Tip: Disabled Rooms are easy to use, as I am in a wheelchair and found the bathroom easy to use and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had booked and paid for the hotel online. When we arrived, we were told the only available room left (even though we had already paid for the room) did not have working lights in the toilet! We were asked whether we would be ok with that? Why would anyone be ok with that? The staff at reception was completely unapologetic and even said 'well you never know, some people may take the room.' - and shower in darkness??

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grunt8999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. Allow me to begin by expressing my sincere apologies at our inability to accommodate you on Saturday 6th July.

Due to an inopportune electrical failure in the ensuite, we thereby unwittingly created a situation where there were no further rooms free to accommodate you and your guests. I have personally spoken with the Reception Team and have shared your comments with them to assist in the understanding of the importance of delivering our usual high standards of service at all times, we have taken the necessary steps to make sure that similar incidents will not be repeated in the future.

I am pleased to note that the Duty Manager did source alternative accommodation for you and your guests complimentary as our customers are of extreme importance to us, and we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

With renewed apologies, I remain

Yours sincerely

Claire Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights. It was very quiet and we slept really soundly which is great considering the is a main road very close by. Room was all fine and well worth the price. Slight downside (though not hotels fault) is that we didn't book the pub next door for our first night and they were full, apparently it gets very busy so definitely book if you want to eat there. So we drove to another a mile or so down the road which was fine.
The staff were ok, would maybe say more 'professional' than friendly which is fine. The breakfast was a bit manic, we couldn't get a table for a while on both mornings and even had to wipe up ourselves using a cloth and spray that I found at the bar. Basic breakfast but good quality for adequate for this type of 'express' hotel. Like the fact it's just a hotel with no noisy bar, venue etc as have had nightmare stays in such hotel so well done Holiday Inn, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MummyStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
0.1 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
2.1 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#10 of 13 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Address: Stratford Road | M40 Jct.15, Warwick CV34 6TW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Warwick Stratford-upon-Avon is 1.5 Miles from central Warwick. Holiday Inn Express is a mile from Warwick Castle and 6 from Stratford-upon-Avon. We're a 45-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the Birmingham N.E.C. A buffet breakfast with hot and cold options is included in the price of your room. It's just 1.5 Miles to Warwick-based companies including IBM and Ford, and a 10-minute walk to Tournament Fields business park. Warwick Parkway train station is 2 miles away. Highlights of Warwick town centre include Warwick Racecourse and shops and restaurants. Nearby Stratford is Shakespeare's birthplace and home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and many historic attractions. Holiday Inn Express Warwick's bar is a relaxed spot to mingle over drinks, watch live sport on the large TV screens and enjoy free WiFi. Our comfortable Guest rooms are non-smoking and have a 32-inch flat screen TV, free WiFi and double or triple-glazed windows and a choice of pillows. Car parking is available for £3.50 Per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon Hotel Warwick
Holiday Inn Warwick
Warwick Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing