We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close, yet so far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So close, yet so far”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent stopping off place. So close to the motorway, but so quiet, it could be far away. Staff friendly and helpful and a good eatery just yards from the entrance. Have been so many times and never disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrighteyesWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    433
    162
    44
    20
See reviews for
294
344
33
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stevenage
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

stayed here with my husband and friends for two nights.. very comfortable with friendly staff, close to the castle which was excellent. the dungeons is a must..very good!!.stratford upon avon is just a few miles up the road, which is a lovely town. the porridge pot pub is next door, it was extremely disappointing. we opted for carvery.at 8pm the meat was running out and vegetables under cooked and potatoes hard and dry, we were offered a curtesey taxi to a lovely indian restuarant called saffron gold, the next evening, the food was excellent and staff very friendly, worth the visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMWARWICK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am extremely pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found our staff to be friendly as we always aim to provide a high level of customer service.

I am sorry to read that you did not receive a good standard of service at the Porridge Pot Restaurant. I would like to point out that this is a separate organisation from ourselves, however I know the management are always eager to gain feedback from their customers and I will certainly pass your comments on to them.

I hope that should you come back to the Warwick area you do not hesitate in staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I have stayed before at the hotel. This time we were in an Executive room which was in good order although the bathroom was rather tired and the old CRT television would be better replaced by a flat screen. The bed was very comfortable and the staff helpful. We have previously taken breakfast in the hotel which was average but this time decided to look elsewhere. We discovered the Marina Bistro Cafe which is just across the hotel car park and overlooks the river. A nice friendly little place which served a very good and reasonably priced breakfast. The Pen and Parchment pub also serves good food. We will stay again at the Holiday Inn but eat out.

Room Tip: If you have problems walking ask for a room near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMWARWICK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, however having read the comment and the description I do believe that this comment is meant for the Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon, which I have brought to the attention of Trip Advisor.

I would however like to make you aware, that here at the Holiday Inn Express Warwick-Stratford-Upon-Avon we have just recently installed 32” LCD TV’s with built in Freeview in all our bedrooms. I hope that should you come to the Warwick/Stratford area again, this new feature will enhance your experience should you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

in picking a good hotel, and although it was with a group of girlfriends for the weekend, I knew as soon as i walked through the door that it would be better than the Premier Inn, and it was.Free tea and coffee as soon as we walked through the door.

Bedroom immaculate, sheets crisp and white - actually thought we had no tea and coffee but found it in the cupboard under the t.v.

Had breakfast which was continental, the variety would and could cater for anyone. Staff helpful could not do enough.

Go ahead folks and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpool065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here on my very first visit to UK recently and it turned out to be a true value for money! Sufficient parking space, clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff and reasonably priced with breakfast inclusive. I got 6 hours of free WiFi Internet per day and that was sufficient for me. The restaurant looked good and was always packed in the evenings, though I never got the opportunity to eat there. Morning breakfast is typical of any Holiday Inn and sufficient enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for one night over a weekend to visit nearby Stratford Upon Avon and Leamington Spa. We paid 52 gbp for a twin room which was very comfotable and spotlessly clean. Booking in was very efficient and whilst we did not eat in the restaurant breakfast was included in the price and this was more a mix of breads, cereal, fruit and hot plate. There is also a restaurant pub attached and this was fine for a drink in a pub atmospere.

The hotel is right by the M40 but not noticeably noisy and meant it was very quick and easy to get to nearby attractions. One note of caution. If you park near the river in Stratford make sure you check the car park out carefully. The Council run part of the site but a company called LPS also operate and if you use the wrong machine they are waiting to give you a ticket -as we found out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Holiday Inn Express is a mile or so out of town and a typical example of the brand - you know what you're going to get.

Warwick itself has nothing particularly compelling about it about from the obvious which is mostly excellent apart from most of the food outlets which are decidely average and it might be a good tip to break your visit and go out of the castle (get your hand stamped!) to get some decent food. There are several possible eateries.

The only odd thing about the HI Express is the weird car park system and charge - which all seems a bit unnecessary and clumbersome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suff0lk_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
0.1 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
2.1 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
573 reviews
6.4 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwi...
#10 of 16 in Leamington Spa
439 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
1.7 mi away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Address: Stratford Road | M40 Jct.15, Warwick CV34 6TW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Warwick Stratford-upon-Avon is 1.5 Miles from central Warwick. Holiday Inn Express is a mile from Warwick Castle and 6 from Stratford-upon-Avon. We're a 45-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the Birmingham N.E.C. A buffet breakfast with hot and cold options is included in the price of your room. It's just 1.5 Miles to Warwick-based companies including IBM and Ford, and a 10-minute walk to Tournament Fields business park. Warwick Parkway train station is 2 miles away. Highlights of Warwick town centre include Warwick Racecourse and shops and restaurants. Nearby Stratford is Shakespeare's birthplace and home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and many historic attractions. Holiday Inn Express Warwick's bar is a relaxed spot to mingle over drinks, watch live sport on the large TV screens and enjoy free WiFi. Our comfortable Guest rooms are non-smoking and have a 32-inch flat screen TV, free WiFi and double or triple-glazed windows and a choice of pillows. Car parking is available for £3.50 Per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon Hotel Warwick
Holiday Inn Warwick
Warwick Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing