We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great”

Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family run,independent, Award winning Italian Restaurant est1984 -33yrs! Open Tues - Sat Lunch and Dinner. Lunch & Pre theatre Menu 2/3 course £14.90/ £18.90 TUES to SAT.Offering a taste of Italy to the historic town of Stratford-upon-Avon, the Sorrento Restaurant open Pre Theatre from 5.00Pm Tues-Sat, with a tempting 2/3 courses for £14.90/£18.90 Respectively. Wine from £2.90 Per 125ml glass/ £4.30-175ml./£5.70-250ml per glass, House wine £16.90. Sorrento is a family-run Italian restaurant, est 1894, that offers high-class dishes, using the finest and freshest ingredients. The interior is elegant yet unimposing, with classic Neapolitan decor and stylish seating. The menu is hearty and flavoursome, including deep fried squid, pasta with garlic, chilli, olive oil, rocket leaves and parsley, salmon and lemon sole with capers and garlic, and veal flamed in brandy with mushrooms and cream sauce. On average, a sumptuous 3 course meal costs an affordable £35 per person. The 2/3 course set menu available from Tuesday to Saturday, as well as daily chef's specials. Examples a lobster tail, with king prawns, mussels, and clams, served with linguiniin a white wine, tomato, garlic and chilli sauce. Calves Liver, Fillet and Sirloin Steak, Escallops of Veal, Seafood Platter, Just 4 minutes from the Royal Shakespeare Company Theatre, peaceful al fresco dining is available on the terrace.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Always great”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our first trip out as a couple, following the birth of our first child; Sorrento's did us proud, once again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank DickieSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    184
    39
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding food charming atmosphere”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have visited twice, both times for birthday special occasions. Food was excellent, especially the fish, wait staff friendly and helpful, atmosphere convivial. Wine selection lovely. A most attractive restaurant, small and intimate, but tables are well spaced for privacy, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank saskia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect pre-theatre”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We made an early reservation and let them know we had theatre tickets. Everything was served promptly, but we didn't feel rushed or short-changed in the quality of our meal. The food was lovely, with truly different sauces on different entrees. The soup was particularly good. We were too full for desssert, which I think was our loss. This review would have gotten one more star if we had not been so cold. There was a portable heater at another table, but they would not move us to another table or closer to the heater. I was really cold and our food got cold too quickly. The decor is dated, but almost in a quaint way. Can't wait to be back in Stratford in warmer weather to really enjoy the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank PhillySandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A genuine excellent Italian restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When visiting Stratford for the Royal Shakespeare Theatre or its Farmers' Produce Market this genuine Italian restaurant is where my wife and I choose to eat. Both the food, service and staff are excellent.
It offers a comprehensive Itallian menu at reasonable prices.

A thoroughly recommended venue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianA613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Pre-Theatre Treat.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A lovely meal, cooked to perfection, served by friendly and efficient staff. It was good to eat in an independent restaurant with such a strong Italian menu mixed with more traditional English fayre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing