We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed on our return”

Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family run,independent, Award winning Italian Restaurant est1984 -33yrs! Open Tues - Sat Lunch and Dinner. Lunch & Pre theatre Menu 2/3 course £14.90/ £18.90 TUES to SAT.Offering a taste of Italy to the historic town of Stratford-upon-Avon, the Sorrento Restaurant open Pre Theatre from 5.00Pm Tues-Sat, with a tempting 2/3 courses for £14.90/£18.90 Respectively. Wine from £2.90 Per 125ml glass/ £4.30-175ml./£5.70-250ml per glass, House wine £16.90. Sorrento is a family-run Italian restaurant, est 1894, that offers high-class dishes, using the finest and freshest ingredients. The interior is elegant yet unimposing, with classic Neapolitan decor and stylish seating. The menu is hearty and flavoursome, including deep fried squid, pasta with garlic, chilli, olive oil, rocket leaves and parsley, salmon and lemon sole with capers and garlic, and veal flamed in brandy with mushrooms and cream sauce. On average, a sumptuous 3 course meal costs an affordable £35 per person. The 2/3 course set menu available from Tuesday to Saturday, as well as daily chef's specials. Examples a lobster tail, with king prawns, mussels, and clams, served with linguiniin a white wine, tomato, garlic and chilli sauce. Calves Liver, Fillet and Sirloin Steak, Escallops of Veal, Seafood Platter, Just 4 minutes from the Royal Shakespeare Company Theatre, peaceful al fresco dining is available on the terrace.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A little disappointed on our return”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We decided to re visit Sorrento after having a fantastic meal there a few months back. The food & the value for money is without a doubt brilliant but the service really let it down this time. No one asked us how our food was & all staff apart from the manager ( lovely lady) were a bit miserable & clearly just very stressed out. I had king prawns to start & they were fantastic & Tuna to follow which was just gorgeous. My husband had mussels & seabream for main, again very good. We shared a pudding, a bottle of wine, 2 bread baskets, olives & 2 expressos & it came to £67!!!! Amazing value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank funkyfish5867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    184
    39
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

All the eating places were packed in Stratford but this little place said we could eat as long as we were done by 8pm - it was only 5.30pm so loads of time. Great starters, great service and atmosphere just doesn't get top ratings because the meatballs were not so great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tripped over this one”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were stopping overnight and wandered in to town and found this restaurant the food was very good and good value for money the staff where attentive to our needs.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilipGManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food, good atmosphere, good staff.”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Stratford for our Anniversary. We looked round the local restaurants and liked Sorrento's menu. We did not book but luckily they did have a table available when we returned that night...the place was almost full. The atmosphere was great and the staff and Jacqui were very attentive, helpful and very pleasant. We ate well and the portions were great £70 - 3 courses and drinks and we were quite full. Really enjoyed our meal here. There is a large menu and lots of choice!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely get together with daughter and son in-law.”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We all had the set menu options and thoroughly enjoyed our choices. From prawns to mozzarella to hake, mussels and lasagne, all delicious. Waitresses were very attentive and chirpy, welcoming and friendly. To be honest, far too much food to have a desert so declined, ultimately very good value for money.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chickadee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing