We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My partners birthday drinks”
Review of Dirty Duck

Dirty Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $71
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was a beautiful day. We ordered Peronis and sat outside. The glasses ( not proper Peroni glasses) were filthy. The beer was flat. When I complained the barmaid changed the glasses but still flat beer. The toilets were smelly the gents filthy. We realised why it is called the Dirty Duck. Our visit was on a Friday so not as busy as it would have been at the weekend when they may have been some excuse for being short staffed. But is there really ever any cause for being short staffed? We were appalled when considering that people come here from all over the world. What an embarrassment. It was lovely to go to another venue, be served a good pint of Peroni in clean glasses by excellent staff and sit in a garden with a better view. This is not a Croatian of the bar staff at the Duck but of management.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 3Angie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Front Office Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very sorry that you had this on your visit we try to do our best to please the customer but was not at our best on this occasion but thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Dirty Duck decided to instigate their own rules as to when the Stratford Food Festival Ale Trail should end, it should have been 8.00pm, we went in shortly after 5.00pm, planned so we could then go to the theatre, to be told they had finished serving, they gave no explanation and where very unforgiving, we were upset by this, and complained to the organiser's, after which the pub agreed to carry on serving till 7.00pm, too late for us as we had left under a cloud and were in the theatre.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank johnnywilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are extremely sorry regarding the time we finished the Ale Trail but we stopped this at 5pm which in the confusion that is what time we were stopping we did then carry on until 7pm if you pop into the pub and explain that you missed out on the tasting we will give you two pints of Ale on us Thanks Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The front porch area has a view of the River Avon and there is a nice conservatory in the back. A tasty menu. We really enjoyed the Scottish salmon. Friendly thoughtful service and reasonably priced beverages.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thank you for the lovely review and very pleased you enjoyed your visit sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic food and very friendly staff very good prices and amazing location ;) we definitely come back soon...

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Marlena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review and pleased you enjoyed your visit sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited 15/09/2019
Wife ,daughter-law ,& granddaughter had roast beef,I had gammon,the meat on each plate was ridiculously tough you had to have razor blades for teeth to chew it
The vegetables were boiled to the same quantity I used to get at school dinners
My son chose the fish &chips I reckon he knew what the rest of the menu was like
WE will not be returning

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 471lesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

so sorry to hear your food was not up to the standard we normally serve can you contact us so we can offer you to visit us again and we will truly look after you and give you the service you deserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Duck also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Dirty Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing