We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“homely welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of One Elm

One Elm
Reserve with OpenTable
One Elm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Two minutes walk from Shakespeare's Birthplace, The One Elm is a Victorian pub with a bustling bar, a pretty sheltered courtyard & a relaxed but high quality restaurant.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“homely welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

barstaff have a vibrance and an eagerness to be helpful, tastey food at fair prices, venue well presented

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Kerry

Thanks for the positive review, I’m glad you like our work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    130
    63
    36
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good food would eat there again , one or two niggles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Food was good and nice interior , we had pasta and a nice veggie option . The food order got confused for our party and one of the party was blamed , which was taken in good humour but I put this down to a very party and pressure on the kitchen at Christmas . What was a little strange was not enough bread for the tables and then again for the soup because it takes 15 mins to cook . Its great to have home made bread but please consider More bread! The new pc system for payment also was a problem when we needed 3 people and 10 minutes to pay for the meal .
Minor details but is why it is 3 star not 4 stars . As I said in the title would try it again as I guess there are hopefully just one off's .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the Manager at One Elm, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi

Thanks for your review. We’re normally the first to hold our hands up when we’ve not quite hit the standards we aspire to as you can see from our responses below, but on this occasion we’d like to clarify a few things.

We’re very proud to offer complimentary fresh from the oven bread as part of our service. We had five loafs ready and waiting which is normally adequate for an entire evening, not just for one group. However I admit your party’s love of bread caught us off guard, and whilst you are welcome to ask for more, as we cook everything fresh on the premises, it sometimes takes a little longer.

As can sometimes be a problem when there is a large booking – somebody claimed a meal they did not order, unintentionally I’m sure. We got a new steak out as quickly as it takes to cook from scratch at no additional cost.

Unfortunately, it will take slightly longer to settle a bill for a table of thirty, when it needs to be split over twenty different cards, but we did go as fast as we possibly could. I agree that in this day and age, a quicker card payment system should be in operation, and we will endeavour to utilise that as soon as it is made available.

We really enjoyed having your table, and hope several of you with visit us again.

Thanks

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
1 review
“Great friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I work for a local business in Stratford on Avon and we like to have regular social nights. We recently asked The One Elm to allow us to host a quiz night in the pub, but they were very keen to run the quiz for us. Alistair did a fantastic job on the quiz with some unusual rounds such as wine tasting to name but a few and their monthly quizzes are definitely worth trying.

From the initial discussions about food, dates, etc to the actual event, they were so helpful and did their utmost to go that extra mile with all our requests. Nathan, the kitchen staff and the waitresses did an amazing job ensuring that all 40 of us were able to sit down together to enjoy a great meal prior to the quiz.

If you’re looking for somewhere to host a social event or just enjoy a drink and dinner after work, then look no further than The One Elm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better after the 2012 re-vamp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Always good value. The new (Summer 2012) menu is exciting and fresh. For me this is a summer pub and the courtyard at the back has a great atmosphere

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JezzieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most welcoming with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The welcome was great, giving us a wide choice of where we'd like to sit. The food was well presented and tasted great. The manager spent time chatting through some options for a private function we are looking to hold next year. Nothing was too much trouble. We went on a recommendation and certainly pass that recommendation on :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJones66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Elm also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to One Elm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing