We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”
Review of Vintner

Vintner
Reserve with OpenTable
Vintner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Midlander (UK)
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good service”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went with no 1 daughter for an early lunch-she forgot her breakfast. The place is usually packed so I never visited. There are 3 good restaurants on Sheep Street so never felt the urge to wait but as it was soo early, we got a table easily. Loved the decor and the seating was comfortable.

The service was efficient and friendly, if a little blonde! Waitress asked if we wanted garlic bread with our foccia, realised what she'd said and giggled -very endearing.

The menu was just right for both of us, with some tempting starters (I love moules, daughter loves chicken) and a nice selection of mains. I had Goan style salmon with mussels- the salmon and mussels were perfectly cooked but I found the sauce lacked a bit of clarity-tasted slightly bland. The foccia was a meal in itself, by the way. The prices were about average for Sheep Street, lunch for 2 and 2 cokes and 1 glass of wine £32.

House white was a perfectly acceptable and quite cold pinot grigio.

All in all, a good place to go if you get there early-by the time we left, the place was heaving again but glad we have tried it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank achilles1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    354
    81
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent- make a reservation!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited here as part of our bank holiday weekend getaway and had a lovely meal. We visited on the Sunday evening but actually tried to eat here on the Saturday pre-theatre but they were completely booked up at 5:30pm! If you are planning to go pre-theatre on a weekend remember to book.
I'm so pleased that we decided to return the following day (having made a booking!) The food was delicious and good value for money (I had a twice baked cheese souffle to start which was divine and smelt so good the people at the table next to us also ordered it!). My husband ate from the set menu and had courses for £13.50 which was a bargain for the quality of the food. The ambiance of the restaurant was lovely and it felt light and airy whilst retaining the features of the original building. The service was also excellent and our waitress friendly and informative. There are lots of restaurants in Stratford but Vinter's deserves a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlinthebigcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food & atmosphere”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently visit the Vintner for a family members birthday and the food was the best i have had for a while in Stratford. I had king prawns to start in garlic butter & the cajan chicken salad with soured cream for main. It was simple fresh flavours really well cooked. Its a lovely little building & the staff are all v friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funkyfish5867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent value”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is one the vast array of little restaurants you'll find in Stratford but well worth a look. My wife and I had lunch here and it was absolutely lovely. There isn't a vast variety but what they do is absolutely delicious and the service is spot on. Add to that the lovely rickety surroundings from a building hundreds of years old and a very reasonable bill and you're in for a treat. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irvingogringo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Exclusive without being pretentious”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I love this wine bar. The only one I have been in where one can order Fleurie by the glass. There is a great atmosphere here, which is assisted by lots of Shakespeare posters from the theatre. We are invariably just coming back from a visit there - so for us - this really adds to our enjoyment!

We love this place so much - we went back the next morning for brunch! The bacon and eggs were heavenly! The prices are reasonable and an eating/drinking experience makes you feel like you have treated yourselves to something special, without it breaking your bank account.

I like it so much, I don't want anyone else to go there and ruin it for me, but we only visit Stratford once or twice a year and I guess the owner needs a bit more revenue than that to go on! And I want it to be there for me, next year!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyWrightofEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintner also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Vintner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing