We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Compton Verney Art Gallery and Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This award winning art gallery near Stratford-upon-Avon offers enjoyable ways to experience art and natural beauty of it's stunning landscape. Housed in a Grade I listed Robert Adam mansion set in Capability Brown landscaped parkland, Compton Verney is home to a growing collection of works of art from around the world including Naples 1600-1800, Germanic art 1450-1650, British portraits including Reynolds, exceptional collection of Chinese bronzes, unique collection of British Folk Art, the Marx-Lambert collection, plus an exciting program of changing exhibitions.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
831 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,700 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Especially the British folk art and Neapolitan collections, which must be the best in the country.

And don't miss the famous portrait of Cromwell with the wart, or the bust of Charles the First.

Good lift, decent cafe and shop, and the grounds are gorgeous, with flat, well-maintained paths.

There's a car that runs every few minutes between the car-park and the house, for visitors that don't feel like walking. (It's about 500 yards.) Very handy if the weather's looking dodgy!

The only problem is how to get there by public transport. There's a bus stop just outside the gates (on both sides of the road, so it's OK for both directions), but the bus only stops there twice a day and if you miss the last one you can have problems. For the timetable, ring Johnson's (01564 797070), the operators. The bus runs from Banbury to Stratford and back. Compton Verney is about halfway, a mile or two on the Stratford side of Kineton.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    126
    37
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb location, lovely food.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We became members earlier this year so that we could visit the splendid galleries and exhibitions, but we enjoyed eating there too. The location, in a restored Georgian country house, is just stunning and the buildings added for the restaurant fit in well with their surroundings. The food was very good from a varied and interesting menu and the service was, generally, friendly. Only drawback was the long wait, which, we were told, was because they were busy. Unfortunately it took up time from seeing the galleries.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMoore43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful and brilliant”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The house and grounds are beautiful and extremely photogenic. Inside the galleries have very diverse exhibitions: we concentrated on the Constable and Turner sketching from nature plus the associated 'Landscape Reviewed' exhibition by current artists. I was also fascinated by the 'Outside In' exhibition of artworks by individuals 'outside mainstream art'. Clearly for some art is therapeutic so the artworks are very personal which I found intriguing. We had a very enjoyable lunch too (the blad of beef was especially good) so it was a great day out. It is a bit of a walk from the car park to the house but for anyone with mobility problems, they run a free shuttle bus.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Art and Play”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I always enjoy visiting this gallery, when they have interesting exhibitions such as the current examples shown below.

The 'sketches' have apparently never been on exhibition before and usually reside at Tate Britain. It was interesting to see some of the preclusions to more familiar works and also to find that, according to their interesting guide, that it is still possible to identify where some of the works were created.

Although in such a grand old country house and beautiful grounds, you would expect to see more traditional work, there are also sometimes some very good exhibitions of contemporary art or a mix of both. On some occasions a guided tour is now possible, however in the main exhibiting gallery the accoustics are so bad, that the guide would benefit from a throat mike.

There are lifts. There also portable stools, which are very useful.

Payment is now at the gate rather than at the house, so to access the grounds only would be rather expensive for a family. There is a shuttle people carrier which takes people to and from the car park, which I think is a very nice touch, as there is a distance from the parking to the gallery. We found all the staff, many of them volunteers, to be courteous and friendly.

There is a snack bar and a cafe restaurant. The restaurant became rather busy, so it may be advisable to book if there is a popular exhibition on show. There is also a small outside seating area and picnic tables scattered throughout the grounds.

The shop, on this visit, I found to be not as good in stock as in the past, when they carried fewer novelty items and more art items like pencils and sketch books. The selection of exhibition postcards was also limited.

There are teaching packs for children and the education department appears to be aware of what will appeal to young children.

Not the fault of the gallery I know, but the signposting for the M40 Junction 12 is non existent at the roundabout, so if wishing to head south be aware of which exit you should take.


Exhibition
Turner and Constable: Sketching from Nature. Works from the Tate collection
13 July 2013 to 22 September 2013
Compton Verney premieres this major exhibition which includes approximately 60 works by Turner, Constable and their contemporaries. Exhibition
Re-Viewing the Landscape: A Contemporary Response
13 July 2013 to 22 September 2013
Using the accompanying exhibition Turner and Constable: Sketching from Nature as a catalyst, this exhibition provides a contemporary response.

There were also other permanent exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very attractive for all ages”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was recommended to me by several friends, as a day out with the grandchildren(7 and 9). We had a wonderful day, and I was able to view the Constable and Turner drawings after the children had made kaleidoscopes and painted colourful squares in the teaching centre.We picnicked in the grounds and lots of time was spent at the adventure playground.,The house is a long way from the car park but there are loyalty minibuses running frequently.Avery successful day and 2 very tired, but contented children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiddleEnglandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compton Verney Art Gallery and Park also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Compton Verney Art Gallery and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing