We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A can't miss B&B”
Review of Monk's Barn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monk's Barn Farm
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A can't miss B&B”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This farmhouse B&B was absolutely charming! The scenery is fantastic and is a perfect romantic setting as well as a great place to bring the family. The breakfast was excellent and the host was very accommodating and talented in the kitchen. I can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I stay at this marvellous B&B annually. I was really surprised by the 'average' review. Yes the rooms aren't palatial but perfectly adequate. Rita is most welcoming, the breakfast are excellent, the farm is gorgeous, especially the lovingly restored Elizabethan barn and the pet sheep. And so near Stratford on Avon - the rates are very competitive.

Room Tip: We like the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at Monks Barn Farm for 5 nights. Great welcome, comfortable bed and excellent Breakfast. We had a very pleasant room in the annex. Very quiet apart from the bleating sheep every now and then and no noise could be heard from the other rooms.
Only 10 minutes drive from Stratford on Avon. As it was easy to visit my family in Dudley (an hour away) from there we'll certainly go back.
Well done Rita and the team - you couldn't do it any better!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed in this B&B last Friday for one night only, and my only regret was not being able to stay longer!

We arrived on a horrid rainy night, and the house was really warm and welcoming, friendly welcome. The house is delighful, very tastfully decorated. Rooms are small but super comfortable and cosy. The bed was very comfortable, beautiful details- such as the sheets, the pillos wtc.. of high quality. The breakast was delightful too, local honey, fruits, yogurt... a lot of attention to details...

I would highly recommend a stay there and personally cannot wait to go back!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie_barca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed two nights in this splendidly appointed B&B just outside Stratford. Nothing was too much trouble, everything spotless and great value for money. Comfortable room with a great lounge downstairs - not always available in a B&B.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnb6451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed at the B&B MANKS FARM during a fly and drive tour of England. The B&B is 10 minutes (maybe evens something less) form the beautiful of Stradford-upon-Avon. The city of Stradford-upon-Avon is very nice and the main attraction of this city are the 5 houses related to William Shakespeare’s life. I suggest you visit all the 5 houses as they are really nice. The B&B, as you may understand form the name, is part of a farm with lovely sheep! The owner is Mrs. Rita a very friendly person that will take care of every guests desire. In front of the B&B house you have free parking. There is a lounge where guests have breakfast: Rita will offer you a continental or a English breakfast. The house and the rooms are very clean and well kept. The rooms was ok, with complimentary tea/coffee maker. Rita was friendly and showed us two rooms and asked us what we preferred (really appreciated!). The bathroom was small but in a B&B is common. A small drawback is that the B&B is close to a main road so there could be some noise from that road.
Overall a great stay at the B&B Monks Farm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athens85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed two nights and had two rooms--was completely satisfied with Monk's Barn! An idyllic rural setting, very quiet, beautiful countryside views, and the rooms were roomy and spotless as were the ensuite bathrooms. Our hostess, Rita, supplied a hearty English breakfast each morning with a nice variety of choices, and gave us tips on local hiking as well as things to see and do in Stratford. This is a great location for exploring the Cotswolds as well as for sightseeing in Stratford. On Rita's suggestion, we had fun parking about a mile from town and walking on a hiking path along the River Avon into Stratford--a walk that I imagine Shakespeare must have also taken at times. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend this for families or for couples. As an added amenity, reasonably priced laundry service is available if you are running short of clean clothes. You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the back which has wonderful countryside views out of two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
2.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,679 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,479 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,913 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
875 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bell
The Bell
#1 of 2 in Alderminster
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monk's Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monk's Barn Farm

Property: Monk's Barn Farm
Address: Monks Barn Farm Shipston Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Stratford-upon-Avon
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Monk's Barn Farm Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing