We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poplars Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$109
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$199
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stratford Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
$69
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$94
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$127
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$94
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$127
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
18
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 20 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the b&b with our 14 month daughter and had a lovely stay. We only stayed the one night but it went so well we would definitely consider staying for longer next time!

Judith gave us a very warm welcome and served us tea and cake - yum!

As we couldn't go out for dinner my husband and I had a picnic dinner downstairs while our daughter slept upstairs (we had a baby monitor) which was a perfect arrangement. Breakfast was very nice with a choice of cereals, a fruit salad, yogurts and then an English breakfast (but there were other options).

Our daughter loved the cows and seeing all the birds, so the b&b was a good choice for us. There isn't much in Newbold-on-Stour, one pub which looked decent (but we didn't try) but the other one seems to have closed, and a newsagent type shop. But it is a very pretty place for a walk and very quaint.

The b&b is close to many other areas and villages and towns so a good base. We highly recommend Ilmington and walking around there for example.

The room we stayed in was clean, tidy, and had everything we may have needed. There is also a fridge in the hallway for guests to use which was handy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilia79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, along with my elderly sister. The rooms were well-appointed and comfortable, with lovely views. The welcome (along with tea and cake!) was good, as were the breakfasts and the friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts. A lovely quiet area to stay in, but with delicious evening meals available at pubs within walking distance.
We'll certainly stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: My sister, who has limited mobility, managed very well in room 2 with a walk-in shower ensuite. We had one night in room 1 and one in room 3. The private bathroom to room 3 was just that; we could go to & fro in complete privacy as there was a door between us and the rest of the house. Lovely views from all rooms; all good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gllskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed 3nights early April 2012 booked two rooms one for hubby and I and the other for his elderly mother. The rooms were spacious, clean and well equiped we also had access to the guests lounge with TV and cosy fire which was fantastic because the weather was not good. Isabelle and her partner looked after us with a welcoming cup of tea and cake and delicious full breakfasts which we shared with Crumbles the little resident terrier. I'd never stayed on a farm before so patted my first cow! The White Hart Pub was obliging and prepared some takeaway food one night for us which we took back to the Poplars and enjoyed it and the cosy fire on a cold and wet night. Another night we had dinner at the White Hart which has good value pub food. We would definitely stay again if ever in this neck of the woods!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Spent just one night at the Poplars. On arrival we were met by Judith ( lovely hostess ) who showed us to our room ( room 3 ) .Judith then took us to the guest lounge which was a lovely room with a log burner (very cosy) and she then bought us teas and cakes. Our room was a good size with lovely view over the fields, large comfortable bed, good size modern bathroom. Everthing was spotlessly clean. Breakfast taken in the conservatory overlooking the fields was very substantial. The village is very quiet with a couple of pubs and a local store/post office within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytrips4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Wanted to experience the English Farms - and got a very good feeling at Poplars. The village is tiny and quiet. The farm was full of animals - horses, pigs,dogs,cows. The gardens were full of lovely peonies. Judith had a warm cup of tea and cakes ready for us when we arrived in the afternoon and thoughtfully provided milk for our boys. The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast was very wholesome - with fresh honey and preserves. Got helpful tips about places to visit. Nearby White Hart served a fantastic dinner!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safar1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews