We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will visit regularly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HR Coffee Bar

HR Coffee Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: HR Coffee bar an Independent Coffee outlet and catering company based in Stratford upon Avon. We take our food and coffee very seriously and are fully committed to ensuring everything we serve is fresh, home made and offers value for money to our customers. All our foods are produced fresh, daily from our kitchen. We are committed to using only the freshest, locally sourced ingredients which are seasonal. We alter our menu to suit our seasonal produce but retain our classic dishes such as our fresh selection of Homity pies, quiches and salads. We have a large selection of fresh coffees and we use Limini as our house coffee - a blend of Brazilian, El Salvador and Indian beans giving a rich, full bodied, brew which is low in acidity. We have a fantastic selection of cakes, pastries and fresh snacks which are all homemade. In addition to our coffee bar we provide a wide range of corporate and private catering services across Warwickshire.
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will visit regularly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Have been in twice so far. Bit hesitant about adding another positive review as don't want to make it too popular- it is quite small and I want to be able to get a seat! Highly recommend the 'cupcake of the day' I have had banana and raspberry so far. They look good, taste fresh and better than any I have tasted in other coffee shops. Staff very friendly and the coffee guy certainly appears to know his stuff (I don't drink it but my husband was impressed). Not the most picturesque setting but the service and quality means that this will now be my first choice of coffee shop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Jon L, Manager at HR Coffee Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear SydneyC101,

Thank you for your review, it really is great to hear that our cupcakes are so well received! The banana and raspberry ones certainly went quickly, too.

We are ever-so pleased to hear that you've made us your new first-stop, it certainly means that we are going in the right direction.

Thanks again.

Scott (the coffee guy), via David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    34
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent lunchbreak in a feel-good coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

As locals we popped into this coffee shop for a lunch break. It is very cosy and there was only us and one other person in there. The barista was very friendly and attentive. I was surprised that he asked me what kind of coffee I liked and suggested the 'house bean' for my taste which I loved. I also had the millionaire shortbread which was as good as I've tasted anywhere. Prices were not expensive which is a nice surprise based on the quality of product. I also had a taster of the hot chocolate which is based on the barista's own chocolate recipe which I also enjoyed. We certainly plan to visit more often.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Jon L, Manager at HR Coffee Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you David C for your fantastic review.

We certainly are very proud of our house coffee and also strive to ensure the best possible fit for each person as we understand that all tastes are different. Scott, our barista works very hard to ensure that every cup is made to the same high standard that he has set.

Thanks, again, for your great review. Always great to meet new locals.

Scott via David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Closed on Sundays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Unable to comment on the quality of the establishment, but thought it would be useful to know it appears to be closed on Sundays - we walked across town to find out this weekend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Colndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Jon L, Owner at HR Coffee Bar, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Dave, so sorry to read your review but thanks for not dropping the standards for us. We decided to close 2 weeks ago but I have been really lazy and not changed my Trip Advisor page. I will do it today and if you are ever in SOA again please do come in and have coffee and cake on me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Best coffee and snacks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Tripadvisor was correct, best coffee in town. Just don't ask for instant coffee as it's a £50 fine for uttering such an obscenity!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bluenose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Jon L, Manager at HR Coffee Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi bluenose7,

Thanks for the compliment on the coffee, our barista has worked very hard to maintain a very high quality on it. His sense of humor when it comes to coffee does go over some heads, but he wants to pass on thanks for seeing the funny side of it!

Pop in again next time you are in town, I'm sure our coffee guy will have more of his special brand of humor for you!

Regards,

Scott via David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant for lunch and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Decided to go for lunch with a work colleague and she'd recommended HR as a great spot for lunch! Their club sandwich is amazing both in size and taste! I'm not a coffee fan but the guy who served us brought us some new coffee that they had in and now i'm a convert! Really lovely atmosphere, great service and lovely to see a fantastic independent coffee shop in Stratford upon Avon! Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HR Coffee Bar also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to HR Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing