We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal location and great facilities”
Luxury Shakespeare Lodge Exclusive Hot Tub, Sleeps up to 12, Total of 7 Bedrooms plus 4 Bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury Shakespeare Lodge Exclusive Hot Tub, Sleeps up to 12, Total of 7 Bedrooms plus 4 Bathrooms
Large Luxury Exclusive Hot Tub for your group Heated All Year Round, No Extra Charge, Relaxing & 3 x Separate Lounge Areas, 42in Plasma Tv, Plus additinal TV's, sofa's & occasional fu
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Luxury Shakespeare Lodge Exclusive Hot Tub, Sleeps up to 12, Total of 7 Bedrooms plus 4 Bathrooms
Large Luxury Exclusive Hot Tub for your group Heated All Year Round, No Extra Charge, Relaxing &
3 x Separate Lounge Areas, 42in Plasma Tv, Plus additinal TV's, sofa's & occasional fu
Outside patio area complete with quality garden furniture, seats 12, magnificent views, parking aval
Dining for any occasion, seating up to 12, self cater or outside catering available, well equipped.
Sleeps up to 12, 1 xBedroom Suite, 2 xDouble Bedrooms, 1 x Twin Room en-suite, 3x single bedrooms
Lovely Outside South Facing Terace, Garden Furniture seating up to 12 with table for alfesco dining
Kitchens are well equipped, including dishwashers, washing machines, tumble dryer, fridge, freezers
Quaint beamed features thoughout lodge with Beauiful views from terrace and double bedrooms
Country side location, yet only 5 minutes drive to main town of Stratford-upon-Avon, with easy acces
Quaint beamed features within spacious individually lovely designed cozy rooms of holiday lodge,
Many character features within this special country lodge.
Exra tables, chairs and occasional furniture within the lodge for alternative seating and
Lounge
Large LCD TV
Hot Tub
The Shakespeare Lodge, Stunning location, great for families and large groups and special events,
Large Dining Table, well equipped lodge for self catering or have the option of outside catering
Ground Floor Twin Room
4 x Bathroom facilities (3 x main bathrooms plus bonus of en-suite bedroom. Showers x 4, 1 x bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Walkers05
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Luxuary" or "It'll do" ?!”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Having just returned from 3 nights at The Shakespeare Lodge with a family group of 12 including 4 children - celebrating a big birthday, we were intrigued to read an up to date review. When we booked there were only 2 – a good one and a bad one. Now there is another bad one. All we can say is that we fully endorse the first and third and suggest that the second (from the Australian/Irish family) is unlikely and we will leave you to draw your own conclusions about that!

Our complaint was not so much the facilities (though all the faults mentioned are still there, including the taps, the small beds, the collapsed sofas, the two sided dining table, the TV with only 2 usable channels and the showers that barely drip water) but that it was described as “LUXURY!” The use of that word associated with these 3 cottages stretches the English language beyond belief in our opinion!! It made us feel 'conned' rather than satisfied as we would have been if it were described as “ADEQUATE” or “BASIC” or even REASONABLE VALUE for MONEY though that would be stretching it a bit!

There is a fence across the narrow patio which means the Tub can only be accessed via the gravel drive. The gravel is supposed to cover a sandy/gritty white clay base. Unfortunately it doesn’t quite do the job just where you have to walk on the drive to get into the tub. Consequently, because there is no foot bath provided, sand is transferred into the tub by the feet of every occupant – hence it gets gritty and dirty. Easy to fix, but apparently nobody can be bothered!
All in all, we would recommend you to find something better. If you’ve got to get into the car to go to Stratford on Avon (and it’s 15 minutes not 5) then an extra 5 or 10 minutes further out won’t make much difference. Personally, we would rather pay a bit more and get what we pay for, than buy cheap and feel cheated.

Good Luck.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLitDr...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, needs some attention.”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the three cottages for a few days around New Year. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed when we arrived to find Cottage 1 had a leak from the shower in the extension. The owners had managed to get a plumber out (which given it was New Years eve, we were grateful for). However the first fix didn't fix the problem and a few hours into our stay the electricity cut out. We found the fuse box and managed get the power working again. The second time it happened we called the owners and it took three attempts to fix the problem, which left us without showers for two days.

I would have put this down as simply being an unfortunate incident, however there where several other issues that we experienced including:

- Cold tap in Cottage 1 upstairs bathroom not fixed, the whole tap turns when you try to turn it on.

- Cold tap in Cottage 2 kitchen as previous.

- Squirrels or something similar living/scratching between the ground floor ceiling and the upstairs floorboards.

- TV aerial in Cottage 1 needs a boost, the reception was terrible.

- WiFi signal was poor.

- Cottage 1 double bed was lumpy.

- Showers upstairs in Cottages 1 and 2 had sloped ceilings, not ideal for anyone over 5ft 4

- Bins had the foot pedal missing leaving a spike of metal instead.

- Poor signage also meant that the turning for the cottages was hard to find, especially once it got dark.

The cottages were clean and are a short drive to the centre of town which is lovely. We also got a really good takeaway from an Indian restaurant recommended by the owners.

Put simply the cottages need some attention and maintenance, it feels like they haven't had enough for a few years.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairinIre...
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal location and great facilities”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were a group of 12 - 4 families and a granny- travelling from Australia and Ireland. The cottages were perfect for our needs in that we could all eat together in one, party in another and still have the third one for anyone preferring a quieter time. All the cottages were extremely well equipped and comfortable - very much home from home. The hot tub was clean and enjoyable. The location was ideal for visiting Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Oxford.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 3 cottage layout
Liked least: Wifi tended to come and go
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KB134
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mis-sold accommodation - this is not one lodge but three separate cottages”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
8
people found this review helpful

We booked this "lodge" (note singular) for four days last week as a family holiday celebrating a milestone birthday. There were nine of us in the party and we wanted to all stay together - as busy people, we don't get much opportunity to be together and his was the first time since having children that we had all managed to get together. Upon arrival, we were given the tour of the "lodge" (again, note the singular use of lodge) and were shown around three separate non interconnecting cottages, meaning that we all had to split up and stay in three separate houses. Each cottage had its own front and back door. We contacted the company who rented this three separate times over 48 hours and emailed our disappointment and expressed that we had been mis-sold the holiday. All of these phone calls, texts and emails went unanswered until we said we would contact Trading Standards unless a reply was gained by close of play on the second day of leaving messages. Of course the company who sold us the holiday denied any mis-advertising but everyone we have showed the description too, without exception, assumed this was one property. Granted the confirmation stated that there's were three "sections" in the lodge but the property (as stated here on TA) says The Shakespeare Lodge sleeps 12 guests - 7 bedrooms etc etc. Lodge not lodges - we felt totally mis leaded and gutted that we didn't get what we wanted. To prove a point, the young girl who showed us round as we arrived did state "I keep telling her not to sell it as one property" so clearly the poor girl has had more than one surprised guest turning up, expecting one large property and not three. We are so upset about the lack of customer service - not even a phone call to apologise or calm the waters, just a snotty email underlining that they are not misleading customers as it does state sections 1, 2 and 3. Interestingly enough, one of the party (who is a travel agent and has been selling holidays for over 20 years) pointed out that whether intentional or not, they were leaving themselves wide open to misinterpretation and surprise, surprise, there has been some text added to the website since we left to say that each "section" has a front and back door. It is three separate cottages - each with its own lounge, dining room and kitchen. Do not expect one large property if there are a lot of you. Even the biggest lounge (in section 1/ cottage 1) can only comfortably seat 7 people and although the dining area in section 2 (Middle cottage) looks like it seats a boat load of people, you can't get your legs under comfortably on two ends because they are trestle style tables.

Whilst the lodges themselves were quaint and clean, there were a few problems. In section 3 (cottage 3!) , one of the sofas is broken, there was a light hanging down from the ceiling in the bathroom (which we pointed out upon checking , asking for this to be repaired as it was dangerous), nothing was done whilst we stayed for the four days. Oh, and the shower door didn't close either! Last but not least, the hot tub was not clean - my hubby wouldn't go in it after day one as there was actual scum floating on the top of the bubbles. We saw someone on day three who added chemicals as we had complained but it was still murky. When we have stayed places before with hot tubs, there has been someone around every day cleaning it.

The beds were clean and comfy which is probably the best thing I can say. If you want a cosy large property where you can all stay together, this is not the property (or should I say properties) for you. It was ok - nothing exceptional to write home about and in definite need of a little TLC.

I hope that the management can take this as constructive criticism and correct this for future guests. Certainly taught us a lesson in checking and double checking where we go next time.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing