We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good apartment, great location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Montague House

MAIN GATED ENTRANCE FROM GUILD STREET
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
MAIN GATED ENTRANCE FROM GUILD STREET
MODERN AND COMFORTABLE LOUNGE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
MAIN GATED ENTRANCE FROM GUILD STREET
MODERN AND COMFORTABLE LOUNGE
FULLY FITTED AND EQUIPPED LARGE KITCHEN
DINING AREA  ACCOMMODATING SIX PEOPLE
ENTRANCE HALL
MASTER EN SUITE BEDROOM
SECOND DOUBLE BEDROOM
MASTER ENSUITE BATHROOM WITH  POWER SHOWER
SECOND BATHROOM WITH BATH  TUB AND SHOWER
ONE ALLOCATED PRIVATE CAR SPACE IMMEDIATELY OUTSIDE NO 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
harwoodr
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good apartment, great location.”
Reviewed June 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A really good sized apartment. Close to the RSC and most central attractions.
Really convenient being on the ground floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2018
Dear Mr Haywood
Thank you for your kind comments in our visitor book and on trip advisor.
Much appreciated.
Look forward to your possible return.

Best regards
Val Mellini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANDE55
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Apartment in Perfect Position”
Reviewed May 27, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is our second stay in Stratford and the city is beautiful and easy to walk around. If you stay here it you couldn't be better placed. The town, restaurants and bars literally start on the road opposite.
Now the tricky bit is getting in for the first time what with the gate key instructions and the key to get past the lobby door then an electronic keypad to the Apartment. took me 10 minutes to work it all out but then again it could be me!
The Apartment is lovely and very well appointed. We only stayed 3 nights but we could easily have spent longer and be perfectly comfortable. It is furnished and finished to a high standard.
The owner phoned Saturday to make sure everything was ok. Now the important bit - something went wrong and to me this is when an owner steps up or lets you down. on the Sunday morning there was no hot water, I phoned the owner who said he would be straight over, we went out for the morning and when we got back it was all sorted. The batteries in the control had died - something unlucky and something unforeseen. So top marks to Val for sorting it all out with out any fuss.
And yes the wi-fi dropped out a couple of time as others have mentioned (I does in most homes) so guess what I read a book!
Perfect three days away in a beautiful apartment in a beautiful town.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalC757
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Central position for most attractions and restaurants”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at this flat. They keys were not where they should have been so we had to wait for the owner. He eventually arrived, let us in and showed us around. The flat was clean, tidy and very spacious. He asked us if we wanted the central heating on, but as the weather was quite warm we declined. The flat is in a very central position and only five minutes walk to some of the Shakespeare attractions and many restaurants. However, we soon discovered why we were asked about the central heating. The flat gets no sunlight at all. You need the lights on all the time, as it is very dark, and by evening it was very chilly. Several nights when we left to go to a restaurant it was warmer out than in! We did not need to drive for the whole of our stay, because of it's central location. If you need a flat purely as a base, I would certainly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central position
Liked least: Needing the lights on all day and no sunlight entering the flat.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thanks for your comments , I wish to apologise again for our housekeeper forgetting to place the keys in the safe box,I I accept this to be my resposability nevertheless.
The central heating is on at all times, the thermostat is in the hall and can be set to your liking, in addition the lounge fireplace has an electric fire that could have been used.
It is a pity that you did not phone me as I did invite you to so for any assistance you may have required.
I am grateful for your generous comments and fot your height rating you have awarded Montague House
Warmest regards
Val Mellini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
benandmit...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in an excellent location”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent accommodation in an excellent location. Parked the car and didn't have to move it until our return. A short walk to the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon: Shakespeare's house only a short walk away, and lots of shops.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam M
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation and owners”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

On arriving unfortunately the cleaner did not leave key so had an issue in getting into the apartment. Left numerous messages and ended up getting in after couple of hours. Owner called to apologise and brought around a bottle of proseco to compensate for inconvenience. The cleaner also then knocked with a bottle of wine to also apologise.

The apartment is spotlessly clean, spacious and very modern.

Issue with heating as it centrally controlled but could not get to work. The owner came around within the hour to look into and it was fuse. Owner said he would get electrician to look into it.

Owner was very apologetic.

Apartment is right beside the town centre.

Lovely accommodation and owners.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Surely one of the best apartments in Stratford”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We viewed both apartments owned by Val and Irene (the other is Lysander Court) and thought they were both excellent. We chose Montague House for its location (about 50 yards from the entrance to M&S food hall!)
The specification and amenities are superb with tremendous attention to detail and we cannot add much more the other good reviews. Val was able to show us the properties at very short notice after we decided that house we had previously booked in the Old Town was below the standard we expected. However all was well in the end and we stayed for several very enjoyable days.
We visit Stratford quite often - usually staying in cottages or hotels. When planning future trips, we shall always contact Val and Irene first.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer quality (and the charm of the owner)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing