We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service and food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar

Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: European, British, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Loxley’s Restaurant & Wine Bar is an independently owned, family run business based in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went here for our anniversary. The service was attentive and we even got complimentary bubbly. All the meals were served promptly and the quality of the food could not be faulted. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 314Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear 314 Paul.

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Loxley's recently.

I am pleased that you had a lovely time with us,enjoying your chosen dishes and service.

As you are a Local,we hope that we may see you again soon and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Can I take this opportunity to wish you both many more years of good health & happiness together.

Kind Regards.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,877
    513
    129
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely dinner here. Service was efficient and friendly and both courses tasted good. We liked the fact that the restaurant was separated into a number of small rooms. This provide a much more intimate atmosphere than one large room.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Liz G.

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Loxley's during your recent visit to Stratford.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed not only your chosen dishes but also that of the atmosphere and layout of Loxley's.

Please consider us again when you are next in the area,you would be most welcome.

Kind Regards.

John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place, Fantastic Food, Fantastic Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had been recommended to visit when in Stratford and as it was our wedding anniversary I booked for a special meal for the 2 of us. What a delight it was, the food was amazing, the tapas sharer to start with. My wife then had the liver whilst I had the rump steak. Again absolutely superb. Pudding was squeezed in as I needed to try the Mango Cheesecake, my wife the Eton Mess, yummy!! All washed down with a lovely bottle of Prosecco. We were also given an anniversary card from the staff, a really nice touch.
All through the evening we were looked after by Simona who was excellent, thank you.
The meal was so good that we popped back for breakfast a couple of days later, again the food was amazing and excellent value
Thank you for making our visit so special, we will be visiting again very soon and will without doubt recommend to anyone who is visiting the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jingler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Jingler 24.

Thank you for such a lovely review of your time at Loxley's.

Please pass on my thanks to whoever recommended that you visit us whilst in the area.

I am very pleased that on such a special occasion you chose Loxley's and enjoyed your time with us.You have been very complimentary and Simona sends her thanks to you.

That leaves me only to wish you both many more years of good health & happiness together.

Kind Regards.

John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I'd booked a 2 night stay in Stratford - upon - Avon for my boyfriends birthday. As I have never visited before, I trusted Tripadvisors reviews and booked a table at Loxleys. Neither of us were disappointed. The food was delicious - we both had scallops with a pea puree and black pudding for our starters, fillet steak for main and a sharing platter of desserts. I cannot fault any course, it was all cooked to perfection.
The staff were friendly and attentive. My only criticism is, when I booked, I made it clear that it was my boyfriends birthday and was told that they would make a note of this. I'd hoped that they might have made a bit of a fuss of him, but it wasn't mentioned once. Something as simple as a candle in his dessert would have made his birthday that little bit more special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear S Dorset.

Thank you for taking the time to let us have this lovely review.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your chosen dishes from starters,mains through to dessert and thank you for your compliments on our food and service.

However ,we did slip up a little in the communication department which I would like to say sorry for, even though you enjoyed your food and service ,we will have taken some of the enjoyment off the occasion due to a simple mis communication issue ( no note on your booking ) informing us it was your boy friends Birthday .Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I hope that It did not spoil your evening and perhaps when you are next in the area you would like to call back in to Loxley's and mention this review.

Kind Regards.

John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can't wait for a dinner visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Have only popped in here for a morning coffee but it's lovely. Great staff, lovely atmosphere and decor and two very well made coffees served in the window for people watching galore. The food menu looks amazing and we will definitely be heading there for a meal very soon. Check it out!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LottieFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Lottie Fox.

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your valued feedback.

I am pleased that you feel comfortable when you join us for Morning Coffee and that you enjoy sitting, relaxing, and watching the world go by.

Whenever you wish to dine at Loxley's , we will be delighted for you to join us.

Until then,please keep enjoying your mornings with us.

Kind Regards.

John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing