We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fox and Goose review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fox and Goose Inn
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fox and Goose review”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Bedrooms are nice and comfortable , light and not too hot . The star point had to be the bath: deep , lashings of hot water and overbath candles for added atmosphere. The restaurant had just been done out and the food was very high quality indeed. Not a huge menu, but what there was was very well presented and well cooked.
Breakfast was plentiful and again, very nicely presented and cooked.
As far as gluten free food went this venue scores `100% . Brilliant attention to detail and very friendly staff. I would thoroughly recommend this for anyone looking for a short break with good food in friendly surroundings.

Room Tip: Colonel mustard room is very nice and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justintimejacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
walsall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked on a Groupon offer Bed & breakfast with afternoon tea, we stayed in Mrs Peacocks room which was dark & compact to say the least. However the bed was very comfortable & also had a nice bath but the room could do with some T L C & this is the only downside of our stay.
The owner was away & staff levels were low however Martin & his wife did a great job & provided excellent service nothing was too much trouble. We arrived around half three in the afternoon where we was show to our room & offered our afternoon tea with a selection of sandwiches & cake & choice of teas. We booked a table for evening meal although unnecessary,meals seemed pricey - but credit to Martin well cooked & of good quality & worth it.
Breakfast was very relaxed not rushed & very plentiful with a choice of juices & cereal we had a Full English (one of the best I have tasted in a while) also toast a choice of preserves & offered both teas & coffee.
Would return again in better quality room, preferably not Mrs Peacock & only at the price we paid not full & would definitely return for a meal if Martin's cooking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Fox and Goose and think the 2 young ladies just got it wrong.
We were greeted on arrival and shown to our room, Prof. Plum! The door opened and wow the room is a glorious shade of plum with a plum coranet headboard picked out in gold, the bathroom had a huge lions foot bath also plum with matching loo seat. The towels were thick and fluffy and we had a good selection of teas, coffees and biscuits also Wenlock water both still and sparkling.
The breakfast was superb and we had the tasties sausages ever, so good we visited their butcher, Davies of Mickleton, and brought some home. The chef/ manager Martin is passionate about good food sourced locally were possible.
The staff were all chatty and interesting, quite a change from some places we've stayed and a rose was sourced from a pub regular to put on the table as a surprise for my husband Roger, now how good is that!!
The second day we had 2 sausages with our freshly cooked breakfast and waddled up to our room.
The only problem was the fact that I felt the menu was too expensive so we ate out which was a shame.
There are masses of places to visit, Stratford, Evesham, Broadway and little villages with lovely stone walls.
So thank you all, and good luck Martin with all your plans.
Just one thing never eat at the White Bear in Shipston absolutly awful.

Room Tip: Our room was delightful and I'm sure the others are too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea31020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Fox and Goose was perfect for exploring the fairly flat area up to Stratford, across to Leamington Spa and down to Hook Norton (not all on the same day). The route up to Stratford follows a national bike route for part of the way and takes in the off-road Greenway (with old carriage cafes). Followed route via Southam to Leamington - with some canal towpath near Leamington. The Benjamin Satchwell pub on the Parade produced good-value jacket potatoes and refreshing pints of real ale (very welcome 40 miles into the ride)! The food at the Fox and Goose was fine. The good value allowed a trip out to Good Pubs (listed in Guide).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolihullHazza52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I booked this with my wife on a groupon deal, last Thursday, as a rare night away to ourselves. We were unable to arrive until 8 pm and helpfully shown to our room straight away. The room itself was impressive(Scarlett) and the bathroom was a good size with an enormous bath. We then made our way to the bar area where we then stayed for the next few hours, enjoying the drinks(particulaly the Purity ale) in the company of the manager, barman, and a few others. We found the manager friendly, good company, more than happy to keep serving and having a drink with us until we were ready to go up to bed. After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a good quality breakfast which we could have had at any point until 11am (something some establishments who stop serving breakfast at dawn could learn from!) Despite never having been to Fox and Goose before we were treated like old friends who were regular visitors. We would certainly go back again and recommend people we know to see for themselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19ColR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I booked this deal with Groupon hoping for a relaxing treat with my friend. This was anything but!
We arrived on a Friday evening at 5pm, we were greeted by the manager serving behind the bar, although greeted is a generous use of words. There were no introductions, and not even so much as a smile! Our afternoon tea was a slice of cake and cup of tea, despite afternoon tea traditionally including at least a sandwich or two.

The atmosphere was frosty immediately and it felt as though we were in the way, the only encouraging part of the experience was the decor in the bar/restaurant, it is impressive.
We decided that we would take a trip into Stratford town as the details on the Groupon voucher promoted the local amenities, my friend enquired about booking a taxi, and when she informed the owner that we wouldn't be eating in his (over-priced) restaurant, he suddenly became very reluctant to help, and told my friend that the bar closes 'when I go to bed'.

I asked the one member of staff working behind the bar if there was a curfew and was told that there was not, so I handed in my room key as we were encouraged to do so by the manager.

When returning to the hotel at midnight, we discovered that the whole place was in darkness and the doors that we tried were all locked, we even walked up the fire escape in the hope that maybe he had left the door open for us.
I had ONE missed call from the hotel, but no voicemail, and as I was sat in a quiet pub for the evening and heard my message tone, I find it difficult to believe that the manager rang for any length of time, I think it was more to cover himself by saying he had at least tried to make contact.
After almost an hour of waiting, hoping and deciding what should be our next step, we had to drive for an hour back to my house and spend the night there. Luckily my friend had driven into Stratford so we at least had the option to drive back home, I dread to think what we would have done if we chose to take a taxi from the hotel into town!

The next morning the manager was aggressive immediately and offered no apology, informing us that the key was at the back door (he did not mention a back door until now) and that we were 'late' back (we were given no time to return, despite asking TWICE).
He accepted no responsibility for the lack of information, or forcing us to spend the night elsewhere, as he considered it to be my fault that I had not picked up the phone when he called ONCE.

The worrying aspect of this experience is the fact that the hotel has recently had a fire, yet there was no orientation to the building, fire exits or extinguishers were not pointed out. There is no information pack in the room, no informative signs displayed around the building, and certainly no mention of a back door on arrival!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colinabs, Manager at The Fox and Goose Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Two young girls who stayed out all night and tried to blame owner to get money back as they decided that the 7 miles back from stratford was a bit far to drive after spending the night drinking.

On arrival we have three rooms turn up at once so sorry we didnt deal with you first the owner showed you to your room and he as always show the guests keys to rear door for after hours so guests can get back in to the hotel, i also showed you the back door as this was the door you walked out to get into the garden.

You asked about afternoon tea and your or your friend decided to have a large wine instead with fudge cake and the other chocolate fudge cake and tea. No complaints when you were having this on the decking in the sun.

We rang the number we had for you ( which you answerd promtly early in the day when you were on the way to the hotel ) but the number just rang we tried on a few occasions no answer ,

I left the room key on the hook at the rear door so as you could get into your room.

Myself and others guests went up stairs at around 11.45pm and as im a light sleeper i never heard anything at all around the hotel. The carpark is gravelled and i here every car that drives in and also the security lights all come on none of this happened so i think you stayed out all night.

The pair of you then came back next morning and came up with this story of not getting in you also said you rang the hotel as the phone is in my bed room i would have heard it ring.

You even argued with the other guests who were havin breafast when they said they were awake till late and never heard a thing. MY CONCLUSION IS IF YOU WANT TO GO OUT ON THE TOWN ALL NIGHT BOOK A HOTEL IN THE TOWN AND NOT IN A QUIET HAMLET. PS YOU ALSO LEFT WITHOUT SETTLING YOUR BAR BILL .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friend booked a stay in this hotel using the Groupon offer and from the moment we arrived we felt like we were an inconvenience. The promised afternoon tea is just a slice of cake - take it or leave it. As we had been made to feel so unwelcome we decided to drive into Stratford for dinner. We came back to the hotel at midnight and found we had been locked out! We had no choice, but to make alternative arrangements and go back in the morning for our belongings. Needless to say we didn't have breakfast the next day.

When asked why we couldn't get into the hotel we were informed we were late, we had asked the bar staff what time we needed to be back before leaving and told there was no curfew. The key was left at the back door (not easy to find and we have no proof of this), but no one had told us this was what would happen. We had been told the pub shuts when the owner wants to go to bed so be warned this is before midnight!!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel or restruarant. The staff seem incapable or terrified of the manager, the manager is rude and unfriendly. Not sure why he is running a pub and hotel. If you have purchased the Groupon offer and not yet stayed I would ask for your money back now and save yourself a trip. The village it is located in is beautiful, but that's all this place has going for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairy_marlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
7.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Limes Country Lodge Hotel
7.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,486 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,479 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Blue Boar Inn
The Blue Boar Inn
#1 of 1 in Temple Grafton
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Goose Inn

Property: The Fox and Goose Inn
Address: Armscote, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Fox And Goose Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Fox And Goose Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing