We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn does it again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Premier Inn does it again.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Whist they're never going to win awards for originality, you do at least know what to expect with a Premier Inn and this one did not disappoint. A very nice location next to the canal and the usual P.I efficiency when checking in. Our family room was a little small and the car park leaves you with a bit of a trek back to reception if you're at the other end of it. The restaurant could do with being a bit bigger given the amount of rooms in the hotel but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Premier Inn and found your accommodation to be of a high standard and of excellent value. I'm sorry to hear you found our car park beeing too far from the main entrance; unfortunately we have used all the land available around the building to create as many parking spaces as possible. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    777
    171
    42
    25
See reviews for
633
1,166
48
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We could not have asked for a better hotel for Stratford-upon-Avon. This hotel is located less than a 10 minute walk from the centre of town.

We had quite a small family room compared to other Premier Inns we have visited. As a result the beds were VERY closely packed together. But since we were only sleeping there, it didn't really matter so much. The room and bathroom were very clean. The towels were clean and fluffy. And the beds were comfortable. We did not use the restaurant, so cannot comment on the food. But we had a drink in the bar one night and the staff were brill. You do have to pay for parking, but since this was £1 a day, we definately didn't complain. Cheaper than parking in town.

The hotel lost a point because we, unfortunately, had some extremely inconsiderate guests above us, whose children were trying to jump through the ceiling. Despite the concrete floors, the noise was awful. However, when we complained to reception, they contacted them immediately and the noise abated. Until 7am the next morning when they woke us up - despite all of us wearing earplugs :-( So my only suggestion / comment would be that families with younger children get put on the ground floor.

Otherwise, great hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, ask for a room on the top floor so you don't get get the stomping, jumping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilly0111beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, regarding your stay & the team here at Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Premier Inn.
We pride ourselves on delivering world class service to all our guests.
I 'm sorry to hear you had problems with some noisy neighbours. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously.
I hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Really comfortable and well situated hotel. Nicely situated by canal and only 10 minutes walk into Stratford with excellent parking facilities. Children loved 30 mins free Wi-Fi.

Hotel as advertised by Premiere Inn, very comfortable with childrens beds made up for us on arrival. Friendly, helpful staff and great breakfast with children eating free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Premier Inn.
Its wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic stay and your kind comments will be passed onto the whole team. Also, I'm happy to read that your children enjoyed our 30 minutes free Wi-Fi
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This recently opened Premier Inn is probably the best.We were lucky to have a room over looking the canal,the the view was excellent.The bar staff and reception excellent,breakfast was not quite upto standard we have been used to with Premier inns as it was luke warm,we have put that down to them being very busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us.
I was glad to read that you found our location, rooms and staff to be very good. I was however disappointed to read about the issues you have encountered at breakfast.
Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by the Management team. I hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great location for the town centre, quite easily within walking distance of RSC. The staff are friendly but are not intrusive. We travelled as a family with children and would recommend this hotel and intend to use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a positive review following your recent stay at our hotel.
Our aim is to provide excellent service, food and accommodation yet remain price fair so I am glad you felt our restaurant and hotel provided good value for money.
I will be sharing your comments with the whole team.
We hope to welcome you back at the Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I definitely recommend this Premier Inn. It's pretty new, very clean, and in a great location on the canal. It takes about 10 minutes to walk into the town and parking costs £1 overnight so you can leave your car there and do the rest on foot. The staff are lovely and the family room was a pretty generous size. That's not to say we got a great night's sleep but I don't think their guarantee extends to sharing the room with a child who talks almost as much in their sleep as they do when they are awake.

I rang in advance and requested a canal facing room and the view was nice. The kids enjoyed watching the boats and ducks from their bed. It's a quiet location and we heard no noise from the hallway or other rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stratford Upon Avon Waterways. I am pleased to read that you found our Premier Inn to be in an ideal location for your visit and that your request for a canal view room was honoured. Premier Inn pride ourselves on clean & comfortable accomodation and I will pass on your comments to our staff her at Waterways. We look forard to seeing you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from March 24th for 3 nights. We got a good deal in a Premier Inn sale.
I am so glad we didn't pick the Premier Inn in the town, as the parking etc there looked hopeless.
At the Premier Inn Waterways, the parking was spot-on, plenty of parking spaces and for a £1 a night there was nothing to complain about. If you didn't want to walk from your space with luggage you could drop it off at the door before parking.
We timed the walk from the hotel into the town and it is exactly 5 minutes! and that was at a normal strolling pace. Walk 5 minutes the other way from the hotel and you are at a retail mall with supermarket and fish and chip restaurant, pizza hut and subway.
We rang the hotel directly, two weeks before arriving with request for rooms overlooking the canal and we got exactly what we asked for.
Check-in staff where most helpful and friendly, as where restaurant staff.
We always stay whenever we can in a Premier Inn as find them extremely comfortable and clean. Best value for money around. Travelodge can and usually are cheaper but there is no camparison with the quality you get at Premier.
This hotel lived up to our expectations of Premier Inns and I would recommend it to anyone and would definitely stay here again.
We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel but went to the Weatherspoons in the town for a great deal.
We had dinner in the hotel one night which is good value if you have two courses or more. The only downside of it for me was that the chips looked like frozen. I believe guests do really appreciate fresh veg wherever possible.
Thankyou Premier Inn for a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Request a room on 3rd floor overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways. We aim to provide clean, comfortable and affordable accomodation to all our guests along with excellent customer service so am pleased to hear that this is exactly what you got here at Waterways. We look forward to seeing you again in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#9 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Address: The Waterways Birmingham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon and just a short walk from the train station and the RSC Theatre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing