We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value convenient modern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good value convenient modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our first stay in a Premier Inn. We chose the Stratford on Avon Waterways as we had booked to see the RSC at the Swan Theatre - 2 performances in one day, both outstanding. The hotel is convenient for car drivers as it has a large and affordable car park, and the hotel was good value for money as we only paid £19. It is modern and very clean. Minor issues were as follows; there is no shaver socket and no mini fridge; the lowest heating for the air con was 18 C, which is a bit too warm at night; the bathroom fan in room 332 was very noisy at 68 decibels, which was especially noticeable at night. We mentioned this on checking out and the Receptionist advised we could have removed the room keycard which works the lights, but I'm not sure this would work as some lighting is needed in order to use the w c . Unusually, we did not use Wifi and we couldn't find a price, but afterwards read in the customer survey that it is free for 30 mins and £3 for 24 hrs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonshiredave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Great news to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Premier Inn.
We are thrilled that your first experience was such a great one and hopefully, the first of many. We hope to see you here at Stratford Upon Avon Premier Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    741
    166
    37
    23
See reviews for
608
1,107
46
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wendover
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've stayed for 2 nights, 4 families , 4 adults and 10 children. The location is nice near the canal, rooms and public area are clean and efficient. The rooms were ready prepared with extra beds.I must say the hotel staff were excelent, always available to help and with a smile. We'll definately go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Premier Inn. I'm glad that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights a couple of weeks ago. Value for money, location (short walk to town centre), cleanliness and rooms were all very good. The staff were all very friendly, personable and helpful. Our request for a quiet room over looking the canal was met. Parking is only £1 for 24hours. Would certainly recommend the Meal Deal for £22.99 which included a 3 course dinner, a drink and as much as you could eat the following morning at breakfast. There were selected dishes on the menu in this deal but there were plenty to choose from including steak and the quality of the food was very good and the restaurant a very pleasant environment. The all you can eat breakfast was excellent, great choice.

The problem we experienced relates to the quality of sleep. The first night we lowered the temperature to 18, the lowest it would go. The windows cannot be opened although there does appear to be the facility, one assumes for maintenance/cleaning purposes. Restrictors are in place which we have experienced at other Premier Inns where you could open the window albeit a small distance, but which does allow some air in. Taking into account the warmth of the room the duvet was too heavy. As a result we had a very restless night tossing and turning and did not get much sleep. Both of us woke with headaches. It might have helped if a sheet had been available in the room to use instead of the duvet. The second night we turned the heating off but we suffered another restless night. On departure we commented on the problem and were told that in future we should contact reception and they could have turned the heating off in our room and put on air conditioning instead. We were told having the windows fixed was for H & S reasons but with restrictors in place we did not find that an acceptable explanation. This is helpful to know for future reference but would have been even more helpful if that had been given as an option when we checked in. They advertise rooms have air conditioning but it would appear to be turned off during what they consider to be the winter months. Contacting reception was also a problem which we found when trying to book a meal in the restaurant. We dialled 0 & 9 to contact reception but there were no clear instructions on how to contact them resulting in my partner going down to the restaurant to make the booking where he was told they (the restaurant) could not be contacted by phone. The printout we were given when checking in (automated/self serve) says you can contact reception any time on 0871 527 9316, a premium rate call. I have since spoken to the hotel and I am told there is a ‘Fix It’ button on the phone which connects you to reception. I have to say this was not obvious to either of us or we would have tried it.

On returning home I contacted Customer Services with regards to their ‘A Good Night Guaranteed’ promise as it is not clear exactly what that means and was not explained when checking in. They say it exists but not what it means. I am very pleased to say the hotel responded very quickly to my complaint and fully reimbursed the cost of the room booking. My partner and I have stayed at a number of Premier Inns and have always found them to be good value for money and to a high standard. Taking into account what we now know with regards to the heating/air conditioning we would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear aare quiet and overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fab1Copthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us.
I was glad to read that you found our location, rooms and cleanliness to be very good. I was however disappointed to read about your issues regarding the windows and air conditioning. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and I'm very sorry that on this occasion, we didn't meet your expectations. I am glad to read that your feedback to our contact centre has lead to a resolution for your issues and that you will return to us in the future. Please be assured that when staying at any of our Premier Inn's there is someone on site 24/7 to deal with any problems and that we aim to resolve all issues at a site level to ensure our guests leave with there expectations fully met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Took my daughter for a short break for her birthday prior to a spa day nearby. Lovely new hotel,friendly staff, comfortable rooms,great breakfast. Good location, within easy walking distance of the town centre. Parking only £1 for 24 hours for hotel guests.
Always impressed by the standards at Premier Inns, never been disappointed. Check on-line deals for best dates / prices,our break cost just £39 for the room :)
Found the room a bit warm even with air con due to windows not opening, but reception advised us next day,that we could request our room temperature to be over-ridden to get a cooler setting...

Room Tip: Request canal side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cakeladyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay here at Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Premier Inn.
It's great news to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed (3 couples all mid-late 30's) and we were all impressed. This is a new build, so that probably helped as it looked so fresh. Rooms were spotless and comfortable and the hotel is in great loaction for exploring the town/river by foot. Parking very reasonable at £1 for hotel guests, seen as it's just on the border of the town centre. We ate evening meal and breakfast as the hotel, we paid for the 'meal deal'. The evening meal wasn't fantastic, could tell some items were cheap and overcooked, plus the meal deal only gives a few choices, could do with more of a choice. Have to say though, the breakfast made up for it, FANTASTIC! On par with a 4 star hotel with variety and quantity and the costa coffee is a lovely touch. Only thing I would say is that it got very busy for breakfast, we had to wait for table and we were seated right by buffet so people at the hot items kept banging into us. The young lad on night duty was lovely, supplied us with forks for our kebabs after a night out! Would definately return here but eat evening meals out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us.
I was glad to read that you found our location, breakfast and cleanliness to be very good. I was however disappointed to read about your issues regarding the restaurant. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and I'm very sorry that on this occasion, we didn't meet your expectations.
Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by the Management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed the 10th March, staff very friendly and could not do enough to help, room very clean and modern could not fault, 5 minute walk to the shops and 10 minute walk to the river. The only down side was breakfast it is advertised as buffet but was advised due to quiet Sunday night then it was plated cooked breakfast, this would be fine but with only one staff member to deal with over 30 people who are having plated breakfast it's a problem, the waiter was very friendly and did his best, this would not put me off the hotel over all is good and I will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krasobtong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay here with us. I'm sorry to hear that on this particular morning, our breakfast standards did not meet your requirement.s. The team and I will take on your feedback to ensure that this does not happen again.
We hope to welcome you back at the Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot,South Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here once again for 3 nts and cannot fault it.At £19 per night you cannot go wrong,but will be well worth it at 3 times that amount.Bit warm in the room as there are no opening windows,but asked at reception and they turned the cooling up.........Bargain!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Premier Inn.
We pride ourselves on clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation and excellent service, so I am very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to having you stay with us next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Address: The Waterways Birmingham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon and just a short walk from the train station and the RSC Theatre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing