We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find ! great fish and chips”
Review of The Big Fish

The Big Fish
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A Fish & Chip shop with Restaurant area offering both takeaway & eat in but at takeaway prices. Our aim is to offer the best quality in Stratford at competitive prices (if not cheaper) than our competitors, with no extra charge to eat in our comfortable and casual diner, where everyone is welcome. We can cater for groups of up to 40 people and we can deliver large party orders locally too. Also an award winning fish & chip shop, winning Midlands No1 in 2012 and in UKs Top 10, and in Top 3 for Small Business of the year two years running. Also voted in CNNs top Ten Best Chip Shops. The owner was voted Entrepreneur of the year 2012 for creating The Big Fish and taking fish & chips in a new and innovative direction. We pride ourselves on ethically sourcing our raw materials, Sustainably sourced fish and using thick cuts of cod from the Icelandic waters and Fresh Haddock from the North Sea. Our Palm oil also is sourced from sustainable regions and bears the Green Palm logo, it is also non Hydrogenated and non GMO (so healthier). We filter our oils every single day and replenish them with new oil every single day, without fail. Our Potatoes are locally grown and fresh and the chips are thick cut. We also offer Gluten Free fish and chips, all day, every day. We can offer this service for all types of fish, including, Cod, Haddock, Plaice, Sea Bass & Lemon Sole. We look forward to serving you & hope you enjoy your visit to THE big FISH
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a find ! great fish and chips”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were out Christmas shopping and missed lunch so we popped in as a last resort for something hot. We ordered a mini fish and chips with some chicken .It was piping hot, was made to order and was not greasy at all. The staff were friendly and well presented.We ordered coffee expecting something warm and awful but in fairness the coffee was strong and good quality. The food was very well presented and was tasty.Fish was firm and cooked to perfection and the chicken was as tasty as KFC but no wear near as greasy.
Good value with a much more varied menu than most chippies.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    44
    23
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
852 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Gluten free – a bit bland”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I read an article that named this place as one of the top 10 fish and chips restaurants in the UK and for me the big kicker was that it provided gluten free. I was so excited to come here because it was going to be my only opportunity to eat fish and chips during my stay. Traffic to get here was a pain in the butt. FYI, they charge an extra pound for GF. We placed our order and sat down and after about 5 minutes the lady behind the counter came over and notified me that it takes 15-20 minutes for GF orders (which I should have been notified when I placed the order, but whatever!). She was really nice about it though. About 10 minutes later, our food later finally arrived. The portion sizes are huge (both fish and chips)!!! Everything was cooked well but the batter on the fish we just a bit bland so it left me disappointed since I had been looking forward to this for so long. The décor is really cute; lots of Union Jacks and UK stuff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great fish and chip restaurant with novel wire basket instead of plates. Possibly the best chippy chips we have had in a long time. Fish equally good and a good size.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nickola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“DON'T BOTHER !”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Total waste of time. Walked from the town centre which took us 25 mins was so not worth it. After hearing about this place and the awards they had won we decided to give it a try. Total disappointment, staff were rude and couldn't care less and the food was rubbish. The chips were hard and the fish was stone cold the batter was rock hard. Do not go here your better off at barnabys by the riverside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackb0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I visited The Big Fish last night with my family.
The staff were rude and couldn't care less.
The food was so cold that the cheese on my chips didn't melt.
All the way through our meal the staff were shouting swear words at each other and the cleaner spent the whole time we were eating complaining she wanted to go home very loudly!!
The table was being moved whilst we were sat there eating because she wanted to get home.
Then to top it the staff decided to put rap music on so loud we couldn't hear each other.
Bad cold food and worst service I have ever experienced!
Avoid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Meat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Fish also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Big Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing