We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quiet but excellent service and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Essence at Old Red Lion Court - CLOSED

Essence at Old Red Lion Court
Price range: $25 - $47
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: "Essence" is in the Old Red Lion Court, which connects Bridge Street to Sheep Street. Our team of chefs prepare all our dishes on the premises including our selection of breads, ice creams and sorbets.Essence is perfect for catching up with friends over coffee or a light lunch, business lunches, pre & post theatre meals, romantic dining, private parties in our upstairs dining room, traditional Sunday lunches and alfresco dining when the weather is suitable!Come and drop in to experience the fresh contemporary feel of our new dining and drinking environment. We look forward to welcoming you.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very quiet but excellent service and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

A second visit in just over a year. We booked for 7.30 but were running late and re-booked for 8.30. We were a bit surprised to be the only diners, possibly their main business is pre-theatre meals, but then it was cold Wednesday in November.

However, both the restaurant and the welcome was warm. We started with soup (leek & potato) and a smoked haddock risotto - both were excellent. For main course, I had the frittata (with mushrooms, walnuts & blue cheese). If I had a complaint I would have liked more blue cheese but it is a minor point. Mrs Scott enjoyed a vegetarian pasta. Despite a lack of activity, the service was very professional. At no point did we feel that the staff were just waiting for us to leave.

I continue to rate this restaurant as excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnScott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    66
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just had a meal for two on a friday evening and I must say we were not impresed, there were only 2 tables occupied, ours and one other so atmosphere was poor. We ordered a bottle of wine which was nice but not what was on the menu. Starters were ordered one was lamb kidney's with yorkshire pudding which was very nice and tasty, I Ordered king scallops with pork and the scallops were raw and bland no flavour and I couldn't eat them. Mains were just ok, my pork was very fatty but added a bit of seasoning to a otherwise bland plate, the duck was good but again the vegetables were lacking in any kind of seasoning.We had pudding, the cheeses were very tasty and the sticky toffee pudding was gorgeous. The staff were really nice but I fear this place will be let down with inconsistent food

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deano12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We ate from the pre-theatre menu and the portions were more than enough. Food was delicious and the service friendly and relaxed. Will again on a future visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had eaten at Essence when it first opened in Stratford and had enjoyed an excellent meal. We returned last night with friends and were very disappointed. Firstly, the service from the waitress was poor - we waited over 15 minutes for drinks and then they were not all brought at the same time! The starters were generally good- kidney in Yorkshire pudding, goats cheese tart and scallops (which were a bit bland). The main courses were very average - I ordered baked lamb and received a lamb casserole / tagine - not what I had imagined from the description on the menu. The flavour was reasonable but there was quite a few pieces of fat on the meat and nowhere near the standard of the meal we had received when Essence first opened. My friend had the haddock which was exceedingly average. The men had belly pork which was lean and reasonably well cooked although the crackling was more rubbery than crispy. All in all, not a great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great place to eat in Stratford so worth going off the main streets to find it! We ate early on a Thursday evening and the place was very quiet but the food was all freshly prepared , nicely presented and delicious (great chips!), We had the pre-theatre deal which was excellent value and the chef was very accommodating and prepared a pasta dish which was usually only on the lunch menu (We appreciate that this may not have been possible at a busier time). The waiter was very friendly, attentive and very professional. We couldn't fault the place! We will definitely return. Thanks to the staff

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 27JS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence at Old Red Lion Court also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Long Marston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing