We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and just as good service”
Review of Essence at Old Red Lion Court - CLOSED

Essence at Old Red Lion Court
Price range: $25 - $47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "Essence" is in the Old Red Lion Court, which connects Bridge Street to Sheep Street. Our team of chefs prepare all our dishes on the premises including our selection of breads, ice creams and sorbets.Essence is perfect for catching up with friends over coffee or a light lunch, business lunches, pre & post theatre meals, romantic dining, private parties in our upstairs dining room, traditional Sunday lunches and alfresco dining when the weather is suitable!Come and drop in to experience the fresh contemporary feel of our new dining and drinking environment. We look forward to welcoming you.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and just as good service”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

It's tricky with two young children - 1 and 3 - to get out for a nice meal at a nice restaurant.

We were on a short break in S.U.A and saw the good reviews for Essence so thought we would chance an early dinner. After a quick phone call we were reassured that we would be welcome.

Doors were opened to accomodate a double buggy and we were shown to our table in the corner. The bright blue wall glass was a bit hit with our 1-year-old. Instantly we were made to feel welcome with staff regularly interacting with our children.

We ordered scallops and lamb liver dishes for starters and cod seafood risotto and pork belly for mains. Our 3-year-old had prawns and pasta from the child's menu and 1-year-old scavenged from all dishes. The food was truly brilliant and so filling we were unable to manage sweets.

So while the meal was excellent, we were most impressed by how welcome we felt in what could be considered a 'posher' restaurant with two very young children. Our 1-year-old was a big fan of the staff. We would certainly go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    66
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We found this on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The manager Louis was very welcoming with a great sense of humour. Menu was very varied and it was difficult to find anything we didn't like. You can tell how good a place is by how busy it was and although it was busy the service was quick and efficient. Louis gave us some time before we had dessert
and was was very attentive. We would definitely go back here the next time we are in Stratford.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a nice dinner here while visiting Startford. I must say that service was excellent, attentive and friendly, a really nice team of people working there. The food was made with fresh products and it was of good without being anything special either. So a pleasant experience but I'm not sure I would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petitspieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little treasure worth seeking out”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I actually found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and it was really well reviewed so we booked a table as it gets very busy at the weekend.
What can I say, my fellow reviewers were spot on, the restaurant is modern and well decorated and the staff are very friendly and really helpful. The food was tremendous, I won't list exactly what had but I'd be confident to order anything off the menu, it really was that good. I was also pleasantly surprised with the price at @£45 for a two course meal with drinks (including a couple of glasses of really nice red wine).
There are lots of nice restaurants in Stratford but this one is worth looking up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a delicious meal with impecable service. Definitely worth a visit. We would definitely go back if we return to Stratford upon Avon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence at Old Red Lion Court also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing