We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New Inn
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy and worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our first night and start of our nearly 3 weeks of tour across UK and Ireland... 50€ incl. breakfast is a more than reasanoble price; nice and warm welcome, restaurant OK for dinner; the rooms are really small but equipped with traditional furniture - perfect fit for a couple like us...

TIP: If you are around, dont miss the ingleton waterfalls, great waterfalls and long walks give a good insight....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koray_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    115
    44
    10
    10
See reviews for
46
173
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

£5 for wifi that only works in the bar. And I mean ONLY IN THE BAR not even in the garden outside. I was able to receive my emails but not reply to them. Very disappointed. This wasn't meant to be a business trip but I received an email that I absolutely had to reply to. I would hate to be booked in here when there was more than one campervan on the field as there is only one shower and one toilet all in the same room and as a previous reviewer said you have to walk over a scrubby yard to get to it. I feel the description could have been more precise. The cycle path is supposed to be very close by - we'll see in the morning.

Room Tip: Don't know about the rooms. Stayed on the campsite. Let's just say that wifi should have b...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The New Inn (my wife and I couldn't agree whether a hotel or a pub) is about 2 miles outside the town, and at the edge of the village of Clifford Chambers. At less than £40 via a special offer, this was really good value so near a major tourist attraction. The room was small, but had everything you wanted. An annoying feature was the bathroom light/fan, which seemed to leave one in complete darkness without warning; and meant you couldn't visit the loo or sink in the night without setting up a whirlwind.
Excellent carvery on Sunday (but the restaurant closes by 7 on Sundays, later other days). Breakfast very good and freshly cooked. Friendly local staff and ample parking. An odd quirk seems to be that you settle your bill the night before leaving!
The village of Clifford Chambers (which doesn't seem to rate a mention in the guidebooks) is well worth a visit - the main street is about half a mile long leading to the sumptuous manor house and a charming old mill with waterlilies growing thickly.
You are close enough to Stratford-o-a (an hourly bus from opposite the inn if you don't want to have to park there) but can get away from the noisy international crowds at the New Inn.

Room Tip: Probably quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel but were on the attached campsite in a campervan and ate at the pub so this review is based on the campsite, pub and restaurant.

This campsite is a field next to the pub, 10 pitches with hook up and possibly more without hook up. Each of the 10 pitches has plenty of room and there is a light to each pitch. There is just 1 room with 1 toilet, 1 shower and 1 wash basin, shared by men and women so if someone is having a shower you have to wait to use the toilet! Also to get to this room you have to walk past all the rubbish and bins from the pub and left over building materials. The campsite is right next to a main road so if you are sitting outside you may get some road noise. However at £12 per night for 2 adults and 2 dogs including electric I still thought this was good value.

The pub is pleasant and it has a dining area attached that served a carvery (however this had ended by 8:30 when we came to eat) and a full menu. Many of the main courses included a visit to the salad bar, which I enjoyed. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and I enjoyed the food.

Because the pub includes a hotel it felt a bit like the campsite was just an extra side line and it felt like we were treated differently to other guests.

The centre of Stratford is about 3 miles away and there is a bus stop right outside the pub. However a man in the next caravan gave us a lift into Stratford and we intended to get the last bus back (7:20pm) but this bus never came so the bus service doesn't seem very reliable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbytnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a lovely two night stay at this hotel with my wife. We had a ground floor room which was of a fair size and very neat and tidy. The dining areas were very pleasant and we thought the food was of a very good standard. The bar area was that of an old fashioned pub which we thought was great but a little quiet during our stay.
The hotel is in a peaceful village just a few minutes drive from the centre of stratford.
Finally the staff are very hard working and attentive and go about their work efficiently but with a smile on their faces.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms that are seperate though attached to the main building might obviously be quieter th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Wonderful hotel with really friendly staff, we stayed for 2 nights 9th March and nothing was too much trouble for them, Resturant was really good too we had dinner in there Friday and Saturday nights and being vegetarian and fussy the guys could not do enough to help me find what I wanted to eat even though it was not one the menu.
A bus stop outside the hotel takes you to Stratford in about 20 mins and goes about every hour.
On the Saturday lunch trip we went on the Contessa of Evesham dining experience boat trip along the river and although it sounds a little expensive @ £26.00 each you get a 3 course meal and a wonderfulexperience again with the guys on the boat nothing was too much trouble for you. Would recomend everyone to do this trip was wonderfull 3 hours of bliss.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed for one Saturday night in January and thought the New Inn was excellent value and we had a very enjoyable stay. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. We would have liked to have eaten a evening meal in the restaurant as the menu looked great but unfortunately we had a table booked at another restaurant. If I was being picky I would say the décor in the rooms was a little drab. Great location, excellent value and great staff, will go back, next time having a evening meal!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.0 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Clifford Chambers, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The New Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing