We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely magical day out”

Stratford-upon-Avon Butterfly Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The UK's largest tropical butterfly paradise!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely magical day out”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I went because my other half is both a photography and nature fan, and to be honest, wasn't sure how interesting it would be, but really enjoyed it!
Makes you feel like a kid again. A modest building, not gigantic, but so many butterflies you can just sit and watch them for hours. They have a couple of small insects and amphibian rooms too and as all indoors perfect for a rainy day too (and a very modest entrance fee - cir £6 for adults). Two tips - one, go earlier in the day in winter so that you catch the natural light for photos, and two, if you are taking photos, don't forget your macro lens!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amali_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    457
    135
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've always loved this place, my first visit was when i was about 6 and i still have the same amount of fun now years later! It's definitely a must when visiting Stratford. You can take your time and sit and watch all the activity, or get right in there and have butterflies landing all over you! Definitely would recommend, suitable for all ages - don't forget the camera!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jayyzee754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

strange as this may sound there was a huge amount of butterflies to see ,[have been to other places and they have been
a bit sparce] .easy walking so every one can visit ,the only negative was the hatchery lots of dead butterflies in the cages what a shame ,other things to see are frogs and insects ,very worth while.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Could do with a tidy up”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For what it is, it is quite expensive I feel.
There is basically one big Butterfly dome with a couple of rooms off of it with a snake, some ants, a couple of fish and not much else. The first room you come to had some interesting caterpillar cocoons but also lots of cages with absolutely nothing in.. broken boxes and hanging off the shelves.
The butterflies in the main dome were all very similar. There was a big iguana (?) in there as well that was interesting.

The room of insects was ok but not much in there.. and the spider room.. well I know tarantulas and scorpions hide etc.. but out of about 12 boxes we saw 1 leg of a tarantula poking out and that was it - some of the boxes really didn't have anything in.. well I hope so as they didn't have any tops on.

It was all a bit messy - even the front garden was messy, unweeded, trodden down grass etc etc

It was okay to get out of the rain for an hour but at £12 (2 adults and free child) it was a bit much.

I wouldn't go back

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank clarems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Get up close to butterfly's and bugs”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It's nice to be able to see butterfly's flying around you. Kids will love it, the boys particularly like the spiders and ants.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stratford-upon-Avon Butterfly Farm also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Stratford-upon-Avon Butterfly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing