We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just drinks!”
Review of Rose & Crown

Rose & Crown
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Greene King pub in the heart of Shakespeare's Stratford-Upon-Avon. Located on Sheep street we are a dog friendly pub showing live sports. we have Sky & Bt sport with 7 TV's inside and a big screen and TV in our outside room for summer use. EHO rating of 5 Cask Marque rating of 5
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited quite a few times over the weekend we were there. We were there for drinks a good choice of gins and ales. However we decided to eat dinner there and we were quite disappointed. Not what we expected. The staff were very helpful, just a shame the food wasnt better.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samderbshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear samderbshire,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your drinks with us and atmosphere in the pub. Sorry that we didn’t reach your expectations about the food but we are hoping that you will give us a second chance as we just lunch a new menu!

Hope to see you soon,
Rose and Crown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this pub while the food festival was on, it was lovely to be made welcome even though we had our small dog with us. This pub has an amazing beer garden, and we were further impressed that our pooch was allowed inside as well.

The pub had a good selection of drinks available, the food looked really good as well from what we saw. Unfortunately there was an hrs wait so we gave it a miss.

The only negative from our visit was their didn’t seem enough bar staff on for the amount of customers in the pub, although the staff on were amazing and kept apologising.

Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JToppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JToppo,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
We do love all kinds of animals (as long they are well behaved).
We are currently recruiting more staff so hopefully in your next visit we won’t be that busy and you will get a chance to try out food :)

Hope to see you soon,
Rose and Crown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice traditional pub in town. Old building, full of character. Had a good range of ales and wine. Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Only thing we didn’t like was the tv on all the time. But that is a personal thing, we know others enjoy it, didn’t annoy or detract from visit. It was very nice, enjoyed the evening.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jaytee347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jaytee347,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us.

Hope to see you soon,
Rose and Crown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Simply enjoyed the ambiance the beer and staff who despite having worked long hours that day were still in high spirits.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Paul for your lovely review! We do indeed work long hours but with the nice team and brilliant customers our job is so much easier :)

Hope to see you soon,
Rose and Crown Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Excellent service from the manageress Dora,unfortunately greene king let her and the establishment down by scrimping on staff which does no favours whatsoever for the pub,if greene king wasnt so money orientated it would be a lovely place to be

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank martinskipc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2019

Thank you for your Feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our pub. As you may know, unfortunately we have little control over certain issues. However, we hope to see you again soon for another enjoyable experience.
Rose and Crown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing