We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good alternative”
Review of The Golden Bee

The Golden Bee
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It is a pub too. One of the JD Wetherspoons company growing portfolio of hotels and dining pubs. Only a minute walk from the river and RSC.
Hollywood UK
Level Contributor
194 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A good alternative”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had planned to have lunch at The Dirty Duck, but having lingered at the at the bar for about fifteen minutes,waiting to be served a drink, decided it might be sensible to find somewhere else to eat.

Fortuitously happened across The Golden Bee in Sheep Street which was very lucky. The staff were welcoming and efficient, the menu comprehensive and well priced and like all Weatherspoon’s establishments a wide range of real ales was on offer.

A good option in Stratford for a reasonably priced meal in pleasant surroundings.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WhitlocksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, Manager at The Golden Bee, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks for the review and nice comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    250
    122
    47
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap, you get what you pay for I suppose!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Came in with my partner. The drinks are nice and cheap but you need to watch the measures, the bar staff don't mind giving you less than you are paying for. The food is what you would expect from a pub, cheap and cheap. Would return if I had to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, Manager at The Golden Bee, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I am sorry you feel you were short measured but this feedback is vital to me as manager because it is also my job to ensure staff's training is ongoing and we meet all legal requirements. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention all staff have been retrained on the free pour process. I hope you return soon and your experience is a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place shame about the food!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Now I usually love good old wetherspoons for quality food and have visited ones all over the country. However this one has certainly missed the spot. Ordered a salad...however the best part of it were the tomatoes. The lettuce was drenched in an bitter vinergrette and didn't look entirely appertising. Although I cannot fault the interior it has a lovely friendly atmosphere! Maybe as we visited on a Sunday when thy do roasts they took their eyes of the ball. I think I will stick to my local JD's from now on!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Em201212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, Manager at The Golden Bee, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We are sorry we did not come up to scratch on this visit, we strive to give 110% to everyone and on this occasion we fell well short. I have spoken to my kitchen team about their presentation of this dish as the dressing should come seperate, it is feedback like this that is important to us as we want to get it right every time. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention and we hope you give us another chance to prove we do care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply good value for money”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ended up eating here twice during a weekend to Stratford.

Don't expect anything mega from the menu. It is a basic burger, pie, hotdog, etc establishment. The menu is child friendly - especially with a picky eater. There is seating at the back. for families, however you do have to walk a little way through the pub to get to the toilets - which can be rowdy on a Saturday evening. And one particular table is right next to the door that the smokers go through. Expect traffic and smoke.

The meals were hot, tasty and delivered quickly. The staff were all friendly and helpful. And it cost about £30 for 4 meals plus drinks. So no complaints.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilly0111beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate here for breakfast on an overnight stay in Stratford-upon-Avon. As a family with children (6 and 10) we were ushered through to the very back of the restaurant, which is fair enough as we appreciate not everyone wants to eat to the sound of chattering kids. Service was fast and friendly.

It's the usual Wetherspoon's fare. Only one of us likes a cooked breakfast. I had porridge which was really filling and great value. Drinks are generous sizes and it's a great alternative to eating in a hotel.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Bee also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Golden Bee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing