We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not meet expectations”

Hobsons Patisseries
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Coventry
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“did not meet expectations”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

myself and my friend have open peered through the windows of hobsons, their displays are lovely, but as the place is often so busy we struggled to find the time to wait.
We went on the weekend however and decided we had time and so struggled and found a table, which was dirty from at least 2 previous occupants dirty plates.
You have to order at the counter, which was fine, and we chase the cream tea, which has little sandwiches, a piece of cake and a scone as well as a pot of tea for £9.99. We both had the vegetarian option.
It arrived 15 mins later, and when it was dropped off we had to ask the waitress to clear the other things away, as she tried to just move a bit of space for the fresh plates!
We then looked at the sadwiches and there were, on each plate 6 or 8 ( i cant remember ) quarter sandwiches with the crusts off - yummy , we thought, until we bit into them and realised it was curry - yes CURRY sandwiches on a cream tea...and this wasn't a mild curry, it was pretty spicy and make our eyes water. we looked and it appeared that ALL the sandwiches were curry!
We asked the waitress if it was normal that the vegetarian sandwiches were all supposed to be curry, or if they would normally have a selection.....she returned to say that it was normal for the vegetarian option to be all vegetable curry!

so, we gave up on that one and moved on to the cake - we bit in and found that the middle was cold - clearly a frozen cake that had not thawed properly.

We tried to move on to the scone....but found we had no cutlery and had to wait a further 10 minutes for the waitress to bring us some.

the scone was also cold in the middle, but the jam and cream were nice. By this time i was grateful to get anything into my belly though!

overall....we shan't bother again :(

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aph83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    230
    65
    23
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very busy”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely choice of food, with mouth watering cakes on display. There was waiting staff but it was not made clear how the system worked. We had to ask and it turned out that you must queue at the counter.To be fair it was a busy Saturday afternoon but it was very chaotic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynniepest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Incredibly huge savoury pies and amazing cakes and pastries”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After enjoying a river cruise and a mooch around the sights and shops in Stratford upon Avon, we realised that, with a three hour drive home, we needed some sustenance before leaving.
So many places to eat but the eye-catching cakes and pastries on show at Hobsons proved to be irresistible. At a busy time, a table for a party of five was hard to find, but we persevered and our patience was duly rewarded. Some opted for the generous 15" long open sandwiches but I had seen the pork pies! OK, there were some 'normal' size ones but there were also some that must have measured 12" across by 5" deep! Although one could actually buy one of these, I settled for a generous slice accompanied by a small salad with ramekins of mustard and pickles. Washed down with a small glass of 'Le Sanglier' red wine, this proved to be one of the most enjoyable lunches ever. Unfortunately, the sheer size of the portion of pork pie meant that I had no room left to sample one of the many tempting pastries and cakes. Ah well, there's always another day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halfviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have no idea what the food or coffee is like.. On a recent visit we were ignored the three guys standing talking around the counter never for one moment acknowledge our presence. It wasn't as if it was busy. After a few uncomfortable minutes we turned and left. Only one female waitress smiled to us and that was when we were leaving.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wink49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yumm”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing selection of cakes, patisseries, cheesecakes. Prices are decent. £3.50 for a slice. The giant scone is £3.50. The interior is quaint, with a Tudor feel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tendulkarlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobsons Patisseries also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Hobsons Patisseries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing